ENGLISH WINDMILLS: A PHOTOGRAPHIC REGISTER PART 1 - INTRODUCTION AND BERKSHIRE TO ESSEX
ENGLISH WINDMILLS

A PHOTOGRAPHIC REGISTER

Guy Blythman
Copyright © Guy Blythman 2002, 2009


INTRODUCTION

This Register, compiled over the six years from 1996 to 2002, arose out of a belief in the need for a survey of existing photographs of English windmills, both for research purposes and because mills are beautiful structures whose images ought to be seen and enjoyed. It covers all photographic illustrations including postcards, slides and negatives.

Although it is not quite true that the camera never lies (and photos can for one reason or another be retouched, although it is usually apparent where this has been done), photographs are nevertheless generally regarded as a more reliable indication of what a mill looked like in its working days than paintings or sketches, which are more subject to artistic licence.

The first photograph was taken in 1826, but appears to have been a one-off; it was not until 1834, when William Fox Talbot produced the first ever paper photographs, that the process really got under way. For the purposes of this survey I have regarded the "photographic age" as starting c1840, but one should not expect to find many windmill photographs dating from before the 1870s. By then, as well as being a relatively new and exciting thing, cameras were becoming much more available to the general population, and anyone who could afford one tended to go around photographing just about everything in sight.

There are over two thousand windmills of which photographs survive. The majority are held by record offices, libraries and museums or are to be found in printed works on mills; but in addition there has taken place in recent years a considerable increase in the number of books published by individuals or local history societies on particular villages or parishes, and many of them contain photographs of the local windmill which had not previously been seen. It is possible that much material is still lying about in domestic attics, to be unearthed in future "clear-outs". Photographs in the possession of private individuals may be bequeathed to public bodies on the death of their owners – though sadly, this does not always happen.

Although a project like this can never be fully complete, I decided to call it a day in 2002 and have since then been exploring ways of publishing the register, whether on paper or in cyberspace. In the intervening years the number of images available on the Internet has vastly increased. I haven’t attempted to list them all because it is not practical and because in most cases they are also consultable in “paper” form. Rather more of them are included in the addenda to the register which will shortly be added to my website. Many collections are gradually becoming available on the site of the Mills Archive Trust but the Trust will not necessarily have an arrangement with a particular museum, record office etc., nor that organisation have put its holdings on line, so there is still every purpose in confining the register to paper records. Where the records have been added to computer a trawl through the Net will usually enable one to locate them.

Tracking down windmill photographs can be a fascinating and rewarding pastime. It may also be frustrating; there are quite a few late surviving mills of which no photograph has been located, despite strenuous efforts. The reasons for this are varied, with bad chance playing an important part. There must have been a great many photos which were destroyed through carelessness, ignorance or misunderstanding; one of the best known examples of this concerns the annular-sailed post mill at Roxwell in Essex. And of course few people until the 1920s and 30s were specifically concerned to record windmills, in one way or another, for posterity.

Even official collections have been lost through fire or theft, though such occurrences are fortunately rare.

In the course of my research I have endeavoured to use nearly all possible sources of information. The exception has been private owners of photographs, who it has been assumed will not wish to have their possessions listed in the survey in case they are inundated with requests for copies, and so they have not as a rule been approached, although I have solicited help from other students of windmills in tracking down particular images. I have included some items from my own collection; I will undertake to supply copies on request, as and when money and other circumstances permit, but cannot always guarantee to do so.

A paper copy of the manuscript, now out of date, has been deposited with the Science Museum Library at South Kensington.

My main sources of information have been record offices, museums, libraries and local history societies. I have not consulted dealers in old postcards and photographs, since to produce an inventory of their stock is beyond my brief, and have not yet made a fully comprehensive search through local newspapers or county magazines. There is a wealth of photographs on display at preserved mills, showing them during their working lives and decline, and in various stages of restoration, but checking all these would be a considerable task. Where there was not time to note down certain information, and no opportunity to do so has yet arisen, this has been indicated.

Some material has yet to be consulted by myself:

1. Canterbury Library has some negatives not yet seen.
2. Boston Guildhall Museum (c/o Boston Municipal Buildings, West Street, Boston, PE21 8QR) have a small number of windmill photographs.
3. The Norfolk Windmills Trust has substantial files containing mainly photographs of restoration work at the county's restored mills, in addition to the material already listed here.
4. The University Of Kent at Canterbury holds an album of old windmill photographs by E Lancaster Burne dating from the early twentieth century. In poor condition, it is at present undergoing conservation at Canterbury Cathedral and is not yet available for public inspection.
5. The Suffolk Record Office has recently acquired several items relating in part at least to windmills which are still being catalogued and incorporated into the collection, and so cannot be consulted at present: a further batch of material from the late Canon Lummis and an album of photographs, including some of windmills, taken by Cleer Alger.
6. wigan Leisure Services Department have numerous photographs of Haigh windpump.
7. Northumberland Record Office has a fairly extensive
collection which needs to be inspected at some stage.
8. Beamish North of England Open Air Museum, County Durham,
likewise.
9. South Shields Central Library, Tyne and Wear, likewise.
10. Various photographs at the Norfolk Rural Life Museum,
Gressenhall.
11. Various photographs at Thorney Heritage Museum, c/o The
Thorney Society, Peterborough PE6 0SE.
12. A number of slides in the Museum of Lincolnshire Life have not yet been seen.
13. The John Rylands Library at the University of Manchester has one photograph each, in negative form of windmills at Ripon (said to be a bone mill) and Old Malton in Yorkshire.

The Frank Gregory collection at the Weald and Downland Open Air Museum, Singleton, Sussex is currently being catalogued and added to the computer database of the Mills Archive at Reading (a mammoth task). Many of the images are already available on the Internet through the Archive’s website, and more will follow. Those images considered to be of less historic or aesthetic value will be returned to Singleton.

Experience tells me that some researchers will take me roundly to task for things I have left out. I can suggest several reasons for these omissions. Firstly it is not uncommon to be told that there is material at a certain place only for the staff there to deny it! The author cannot of course be held responsible for misinformation (usually not deliberate) by others. Most record offices are efficiently run, but misunderstandings can still occur. For example there seems to be some confusion as to what was destroyed in the 1994 fire at Norwich Central Library and what wasn't, and what has happened to the Rex Wailes collection (as will be seen I have come across some of it in various places, but have heard remarks suggesting there is more lying around somewhere). Some photographs in museums etc. might have been removed from public access for research or conservation purposes when I called. Finally, there were some individuals and organisations who unfortunately did not respond to appeals for help.

In any case the very nature of a project like this means it will never be entirely complete; new photographs are being taken, and old ones turning up, all the time. In addition the sheer size of the task makes it impossible to avoid a certain degree of error and omission. Therefore I would advise the mill researcher still to browse.

I will of course welcome any new information if it comes to light, and where mistakes have, without my realising it, been made would be grateful to have them pointed out. It is expected that the survey will be periodically updated.
It has not been attempted to record every single photograph, as opposed to just a representative sample, of the best-known (and thus most frequently photographed) mills, such as "Jack and Jill" at Clayton in Sussex, since apart from taking up too much time this would be repetitive and of lesser value to the researcher. Photographs which offer an unfamiliar image of a familiar mill - for example, it a mill had six sails for a brief period of its life and the photo is the only one to depict it with them - are however listed.

I have not attempted to record who took a photograph, and generally have not distinguished between photographs of the same mill taken from different angles, where the mill's condition and appearance are the same. Nor have I attempted to state where exactly in a collection a photograph is to be found. The Mitford Abraham collection at the John Rylands Library in Manchester, for example, is divided between albums, boxes and envelopes. If there are, say, three photos of the same mill they will not necessarily be found together, in the same part of the collection.

Not all collections will have been indexed by their owners, but there will usually be a note on or with each photograph stating where the mill is.

Some views will have been copied from one collection to another. I have not attempted to record where this has happened; my aim has not been to establish the exact provenance of a photo but rather to record where there is an image of a particular mill and its condition, plus the date the photo was taken, if known. To go beyond that brief would have been time-consuming and costly, and must I am afraid be left to others. There are a number of "mystery" photographs where the mill depicted has not so far been identified, and those I know about are listed at the end of the booklet, or in the Addenda.

For the layout of the survey, I decided upon a county-by-county gazetteer with the mills listed alphabetically within each county section. The source from which the photograph(s) has been obtained is given first, then all other information of note (see below). If a mill appears complete and in good repair it is regarded as being in working order. Even if it is in other respects intact, it has been deemed safest to classify it as disused if the fan has gone and the shutters are missing; it should be borne in mind however that they may have been removed for repairs. A mill with common sails which appears complete is regarded as being in working order, unless it had a fantail and this appears to be missing, even if there is no sign of furled canvas on the sails. A derelict mill is one which exhibits no visible proof of maintenance; it could be in any condition from a little dishevelled, with shutters falling out (rather than uniformly missing) to a complete ruin, with only the barest skeleton of the main structure remaining in the case of post and smock mills.

It is possible that a mill described as disused could be at work using another source of power, e.g. steam.

If a photograph has been taken at a different date from another, it is treated as a separate entry even though it may show the mill in exactly the same condition. Basically, photographs are grouped according to what they show, then the date, then any other information that may be noted about them.
Example:
CAMBERWICK GREEN, Colley's Mill, tower mill; (1) Trumptonshire County Museum (a-b) w/o, c1920 (c) w/o, 1924 (d) w/o, 1924 (distant view) (e-g) under restoration, 1987, with boards in process of being fitted to new cap (h) under restoration, 1987, with cap fully boarded (i) w/o, 1989, with Windy Miller standing in doorway (j) w/o, 1989, with Windy Miller standing in doorway (partly retouched)

NOTE (a-b) w/o means that there are two photos of a mill in this condition, (a-c) three and so on.

FURTHER NOTES
1. The abbreviation w/o = working order. Acc. No = Accession Number.
2. Photos which show mills as small details can be blown up, and of course negatives can be printed, although there will usually be a charge.
3. Bear in mind some dates can be wrong; where this is obviously so I have drawn attention to the fact. Those for items in the Simmons Collection at the NMR and the Wellholme Galleries are particularly suspect; in the latter case so much so that I gave up noting them down eventually (and sometimes WG also enter the same mill more than once under different names). These errors are the fault of otherwise diligent past researchers and not, of course, the staff presently working at the establishment.

My heartfelt thanks to all the institutions mentioned in the text for dealing so patiently and helpfully with my queries.

Guy Blythman
November 2009


KEY

Adams
J W R Adams, Windmills In Kent (Kent County Council Planning Department 1955)

AEM
Article on windmills in journal Architecture East Midlands (1973)

Alderton and Booker
David Alderton and John Booker, The Batsford Guide to the Industrial Archaeology of East Anglia (Batsford 1980)

Allen Clarke (WL)
J Allen Clarke, Windmill Land (J M Dent 1916, reprinted 1932, 1933 and by George Kelsall 1986)

Apling
Harry Apling, Norfolk Corn Windmills (Norfolk Windmills Trust 1984)

Arnold & Ambleton
J Arnold & J Amberton, Old Sandwich (Meresborough Books 1983)

Ashmore
O Ashmore, The Industrial Archaeology of North-West England (Manchester University Press 1982)

Baker & Wailes
Paul Baker & Rex Wailes, The Windmills of Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Nottinghamshire, Part 1: Post Mills (Transactions of the Newcomen Society vol 33 1960-61), and Part 2: Tower Mills (Transactions of the Newcomen Society vol 34 1961-2)

Batten
M I Batten, English Windmills Vol 1 (Architectural Press 1930)

BCL
Birmingham Central Library, Chamberlain Square, Birmingham B3 3HQ

BCRALSS
Buckinghamshire County Library (full title Buckinghamshire County Records and Local Studies Service, County Hall, Aylesbury, Bucks)

BDHS
Beaconsfield and District Historical Society, c/o 96 Gregories Road, Beaconsfield, Bucks, HP9 1HL

Beedell
Suzanne Beedell, Windmills (David and Charles 1975)

Be.M
Bexhill Museum, Egerton Road, Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex TN39 3HL

Bennett & Elton
R Bennett & J Elton, History of Corn Milling vol 2: Watermills and Windmills (Simpkin 1899, reprinted EP Publishing 1973)

Beswick
M Beswick, Cornmills In and Around Warbleton (Warbleton and District History Group 1997)

Blythman
The compiler

BM
Bedfordshire Magazine

Branch Johnson
W Branch Johnson, The Industrial Archaeology of Hertfordshire (Augustus Kelley 1970)

BRL
Brighton Reference Library, Brighton and Hove Libraries, Vantage Point, New England Street Brighton BN1 4GW

Brom.CL
Bromley Central Library, High Street Bromley BR1 1EX

Brunnarius
Martin Brunnarius, The Windmills of Sussex (Phillimore 1979)

BSM
Bishop’s Stortford Museum, now amalgamated with Rhodes Museum, Commonwealth Centre, South Road, Bishop’s Stortford, Herts

Buchanan
C A Buchanan, The Batsford Guide to the Industrial Archaeology of Central Southern England (Batsford 1980)

BRO
Buckinghamshire Record Office, as BCRALSS

Buckland
Stephen Buckland, Lee’s Patent Windmill 1744-1747 (SPAB 1987)

Bunn
Rhoda Bunn, Holt and District: A Portrait In Old Picture Postcards (SB Publications 1990)

Cannell
D M Cannell, George Green, Miller and Mathematician, 1793-1841 (City of Nottingham 1988)

Carley
John Carley, The Story of Meopham Mill (Meopham Publications Committee, 2nd edition, undated)

Carpenter
E Carpenter, Old Romney Marsh In Camera (Birlings Ltd., n.d.)

Carpenter 2
E Carpenter, Romney Marsh In Old Photographs (Alan Sutton 1994)

CCL
Room B104, Cambridge Central Library, Castle Court, Shire Hall, Cambridge CB3 0AP. The photos are not all in one place though all are listed in a card index. Some are in books and magazines etc and some are in a folder of photos taken by the Cambridgeshire Antiquarian Society. The same mill may be represented in two different parts of the collection and the register may not specify which. The collection includes a scrapbook of photos and press cuttings on windmills in the Isle of Ely by J Dunn.

Ches. RO
Cheshire Record Office, Duke Street, Chester CH1 1RL

CKS
Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent

CL
Canterbury Library, High Street, Canterbury, Kent CT1 2JF

Clements
Margate In Old Photographs, collected by Richard Clements (Alan Sutton 1992)

Col.l
Colchester Library, Trinity Square, Colchester CO1 1JB (many photographs held at Colchester Museum, Museum Resource Centre, 14 Ryegate Road, Colchester CO1 YG)

Cole
Charsfield And Surrounding District In Pictures, produced by Peggy Cole (The Five Castles Press Ltd, n.d. but post-1997)

Coles Finch
W Coles Finch, Watermills And Windmills (C W Daniel 1933, reprinted Cassell 1976)

Cook
Thesis on rise and decline of windmills by T Cook, early 1990s, unpublished (copy deposited with SPAB Mills Section)

Coomber
G H W Coomber, Bygone Mills in the Horsham Area (Horsham Museum Society 1996)

Coulthard & Watts
A J Coulthard and M Watts, The Windmills of Somerset and the Men Who Worked Them (Research Publishing Company 1978)

Crane
M A Crane, Wingham, Adisham and Littlebourne In Old Photographs (Alan Sutton 1993)

CRO
Cambridgeshire Record Office, Shire Hall, Cambridge CB3 0AP. Collection is mainly lantern slides.

Croft
Eric Croft, Lincolnshire Windmills In Old Picture Postcards, Reflections of a Bygone Age (1996)

Cross
Dennis Cross, Diss And District: A Portrait In Old Picture Postcards (SB Publications 1991)

Cross 2
Dennis Cross, Memories of Diss and Its Surrounding Villages: An Old Picture Postcard Album (Dennis Cross 1994)

DALHS
Dudley Archives and Local History Service, Mount Pleasant Street, Coseley, Dudley WV14 9JR

Davies
Ken Davies, Windmill Trails of the Fylde (Scott Willen Publications 1985)

Dawes
H T Dawes, The Windmills And Millers Of Brighton (Sussex Industrial History (Journal of the Sussex Industrial Archaeology Society) no 18 1988)

DL
Deal Library, Broad Street, Deal CT14 6ER

DM
Diss Museum, 11 Market Hill, Diss, Norfolk IP22

Dolman (WIS)
Peter Dolman, Windmills In Suffolk (Suffolk Mills Group 1978)

Dolman (LW)
Peter Dolman, Lincolnshire Windmills (Lincolnshire County Council 1986)

Donnan
History of Eriswell by William H Donnan, 1956. Appears to have been published privately; copy in Suffolk Record Office, Ipswich Branch

Douch
H L Douch, Cornish Windmills (Oscar Blackford 1964)

ECC (DEW)
Essex County Council, Discover Essex Windmills (ECC 1980)

EDP
Eastern Daily Press

EEN
Eastern Evening News

EKMG
East Kent Mills Group

Elliott
J Steele Elliott, The Windmills of Bedfordshire Past and Present (Bedfordshire Historical Society Publications vol 14 1931)

ElliottB
Aspects of Doncaster: Discovering Local History, ed. by Brian Elliott (Wharncliffe Publishing 1997)

Ellis
Monica Ellis (Ed.), Water and Windmills In Hampshire And The Isle of Wight (Southampton University Industrial Archaeology Group 1978)

ERO
Essex Record Office, Wharf Road, Chelmsford, Essex

ERO (FC)
Essex Record Office (Farries Collection)

ERYC
East Riding of Yorkshire Council, Church Street, Goole, DN14 5BG

ESRO
East Sussex Record Office, The Maltings, Castle Precinct, Lewes BN7 1YT

Farries
K G Farries, Essex Windmills, Millers And Millwrights (5 volumes, Charles Skilton 1981 (vol 1), 1982 (vol 2), 1984 (vol 3), 1985 (vol 4), 1988 (vol 5))

Farries and Mason
K G Farries & M T Mason, Windmills In Surrey And London (Charles Skilton 1966)

FL
Folkestone Library, Grace Hill, Folkestone CT20 1HD

Flint
Brian Flint, Suffolk Windmills (Boydell Press 1979)

Foreman
Wilfred Foreman, Oxfordshire Mills (Phillimore 1983)

Freese
Stanley Freese, Windmills And Millwrighting (David & Charles 1971, first published Cambridge University Press 1957)

GCL
Gateshead Central Library, Prince Consort Road, Gateshead NE8 4LN

A Gifford
Alan Gifford, Derbyshire Windmills (Midland Wind- and Watermills Group 1995)

P Gifford
P R Gifford, The Maize, The Wheat and the Rye: A Nostalgic Look at Essex Windmills (Essex County Library 1979)

GL
Gravesend Library, Windmill Street, Gravesend, Kent

GLHL
Greenwich Local History Library, Woodlands, 390 Mycenae Road, London SE3 7SE

GMM
Green’s Mill Museum, Windmill Lane, Sneinton, Nottingham NG2 4QB. Collection consists of photos and slides

Goodger & Spooner
R Goodger and A Spooner, The Archive Photograph Series: Chatteris (Chalford Publishing 1997)

Gray
L G Gray, From Wind To Power (Braemal Printing Co 1986)

Gregory
Roy Gregory, East Yorkshire Windmills (Charles Skilton 1985)

Gregory & Wright
F Gregory & S Wright, Nutley Windmill, A Short History and Guide (Uckfield & District Preservation Society, n.d.)

GYL
Great Yarmouth Library, Tollhouse Street, Great Yarmouth NR30 2SH

HADLHG
Haverhill and District Local History Group, c/o 11 Chainery Pieces, Haverhill, Sufolk CB9 8BG

HALS
Hertford Archives and Local Studies, County Hall, Hertford SG13 8EJ

Harding 1
Dorking and District in Old Photographs, published by Keith Harding (Sutton Publishing 1993)

Harding 2
Keith Harding, Britain in Old Photographs: Dorking Revisited (Sutton Publishing 1997)

Harrison TW, ABFB
H C Harrison, The Windmill, A Book For BoYs (H C Harrison 1947)

Haselfoot
A J Haselfoot, The Batsford Guide to the Industrial Archaeology of South-East England (Batsford 1978)

Hasm
Hastings Museum, Johns Place, Cambridge Road, Hastings, East Sussex TN34 1EJ

Hemming
Peter Hemming, Windmills In Sussex (C W Daniel 936)

Henry
D Henry & A Traylen, Windmills and Watermills of Rutland (Spiegl Press 1986)

HESS
H E S Simmons Collection of notes on English Windmills, Science Museum Library, South Kensington

Hills
Revd Richard Hills, Power From The Wind (Cambridge University Press 1994)

Hiscock & Grierson
Robert Hiscock and Douglas W Grierson, Around Gravesham In Old Photographs (the authors, n.d.)

HLAAG
Huddersfield Library and Art Gallery, Princess Alexandra Walk, Huddersfield HD1 2SU

HM
Hitchin Museum, Paynes Park, Hitchin SG5 1EQ

Hopkins/R T Hopkins
R Thurston Hopkins, Old Watermills and Windmills (Philip Allan 1929, reprinted 1976)

Hopkins (W)
R Thurston Hopkins, Windmills (Charles Clarke 1931)

Horn. M
Hornsea Museum, Burn’s Farm, 11 Newbegin, Hornsea HU18 1AB

Howes
Hugh Howes, Bedfordshire Mills (Bedfordshire County Planning Department 1983)

HRL
Hastings Reference Library, 13 Claremont, Hastings TN34 1HF

Hughes
J Hughes, Cumberland Windmills (Cumberland and Westmorland Antiquarian Society Transactions vol 72 1972 p112-141)

Huy.L
Huyton Library, Civic Way, Huyton, Knowsley L3 9GD


HWL
High Wycombe Library, Queen Victoria Road, High Wycombe, Bucks

Janaway
John Janaway, Surrey: A Photographic Record 1850-1920 (Countryside Books 1984)

Job
Barry Job, Staffordshire Windmills, Midland Wind- and Watermills Group 1985

Johnson
C J Johnson, The Holberrow Green Windmill: An Attempt at the Interpretation of Visible Evidence (Industrial Archaeology vol 1 no 1 autumn 1976 p73-80)

Kelly
Nick Kelly, South Winds (“Old Glory” magazine, October and November 1993)

Kelly (MRG)
Nick Kelly, Windmills of the Isle of Man (Proceedings of the 12th Mills Research Conference 1995)

KLL
Kings Lynn Library, London Road, Kings Lynn PE30 SE2

KLM
Kings Lynn Museum, Old Market Street, King’s Lynn PE30 5DQ

LCC (LSL)
Leeds City Council (Local Studies Library), Central Library, Municipal Buildings, Calverley Street, Leeds LS1 3AB

Leveritt & Elsden
Norman Leveritt and Michael J Elsden, Aspects of Spalding (Chameleon International Ltd 1989)

LHAS
Litcham Historical and Amenity Society, c/o Village Museum, “Fourways”, Litcham, Norfolk PE32 2NZ

LM
Littlehampton Museum, The Manor House, Church Street, Littlehampton BN17 5EP

Long
George Long, The Mills of Man (Herbert Joseph 1931)

LRO
Liverpool Record Office, Central Library, William Brown Street, Liverpool L3 8EW

Major
J K Major, The Mills of the Isle of Wight (Charles Skilton 1970)

Major 2
J K Major, An Inventory of Windmills in Durham and Northumberland (Industrial Archaeology vol 4 no 4 November 1967)

Major and Watts
J K Major & M Watts, Victorian Windmills and Watermills From Old Photographs (Batsford 1977)

Malster
Robert Malster, Lowestoft, East Coast Port (Terence Dalton Ltd 1982)

McDermott (SWOWS)
R & R McDermott, The Standing Windmills of West Sussex (Betford Publications 1978)

McDermott (SWOES)
R & R McDermott, The Standing Windmills of East Sussex (Betford Publications 1978)

McKenna
J McKenna, Windmills of Birmingham and the Black Country (K A F Brewin Books 1986)

MHM
Moyse Hall Museum, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, c/o Museums Service, The Manor House Museum, Honey Hill, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk IP33 1HF

Miller
The Archive Photographs Series: Cranleigh, compiled by Michael Miller (Chalford Publishing Co 1995)

Mills
C J Mills, Windmills of Thanet (Thanet District Council Community Programme 1986)

Minchinton
W E Minchinton, Windmills In Devon (University of Devon and Exeter Archaeology Group 1977)

ML
Minet Library, 52 Knatchbull Road, London SE5 9QY

MLL
Museum of Lincolnshire Life, Burton Road, Lincoln LN1 3LY

MM
Maidstone Museum and Art Gallery, St Faith’s Street, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1LH

MMRHLC
Macclesfield Museums Research Library, Heritage Centre, Roe Street, Macclesfield, Cheshire 6UT SK11

Moon
Nigel Moon, Windmills of Leicestershire and Rutland (Sycamore Press 1981)

Moore
Cyril Moore, Hertfordshire Windmills and Windmillers (Winsup Publishing 1999)

MOTHOS (UC)
Museum of the History of Science, Broad Street, Oxford (Underhill Collection). Photocopies of the Collection are held by Oxford Central Library and the SPAB Mills Section, and it is duplicated at the Bodleian Library, also in Broad Street

MWSLD
Metropolitan Borough of Wigan Leisure Services Department, Market Suite, The Galleries, Wigan WN1 1PX

MWM
Much Wenlock Museum, High Street, Much Wenlock Shropshire TF13 6HR

NCL
Norwich Central Library (Reference Library and Norfolk Studies), Gildengate House, Anglia Square, Upper Green Lane, Norwich NR3 1AX (temporary site in 1999)

NCL (RW)
Norwich Central Library, collection of photos inherited from Rex Wailes

Neave
Saxmundham, Leiston and Aldeburgh Remembered In Old Postcards, from the collection of Derrick Neave (Image Publications 1990)

Neave 2
A Second Look at Saxmundham and Area Remembered In Old Postcards, from the collection of Derrick Neave (publisher?)

NewCL
Newcastle City Library, Princess Square, Newcastle-upon-Tyne NE99 1DX

NM
Newhaven Museum, Garden Paradise, Avis Way, Newhaven, East Sussex

NMR
National Monuments Record, Royal Commission on Historic Monuments, Kemble Drive, Swindon

NMR (WC)
National Monuments Record (Wailes Collection). Consists mostly of slides, but a few photographs in articles (eg Yelling, Cambs)

No.M
Norris Museum, The Broadway, St Ives PE27 5BX

Nott.CL
Nottingham Central Library, Angel Row, Nottingham NG1 6HP

NRLM
Norfolk Rural Life Museum, Beech House, Gressenhall, Dereham, Norfolk, NR20 4DR

NWT
Norfolk Windmills Trust, County Hall, Martineau Lane, Norwich

NWT (ROWAWIN)
The Restoration of Windmills and Windpumps In Norfolk (Norfolk Windmills Trust 1977)

O’Brien
Pat O’Brien, Around Bebington (Chalford Publishing Co 1995)

OCL
Oxford Central Library, Westgate, Oxford OX1 1DJ

OLSL
Oldham Local Studies Library, 84 Union Street, Oldham OL1 1DN

OMS
Old Mansfield Society, c/o Nottingham Central Library, Angel Row, Nottingham NG1 6HP

Perkins
D R J Perkins, Ramsgate and Thanet In Old Photographs (Alan Sutton 1989)

Phelps
Southwold to Aldeburgh In Old Photographs, compiled by Humphrey Phelps (Alan Sutton 1991)

Pinney
R C Pinney, Sussex Windmills And Their Restoration: A 1970s Perspective (pamphlet published 1999 by Sussex Industrial Archaeology Society)

PM
Pontefract Museum, 5 Salter Row, Pontefract, West Yorkshire, WF8 1BA

RCL
Rotherham Central Library and Arts Centre, Walker Place, Rotherham S65 1JH

Rose
Romford Library, St Edward’s Way, Romford RM1 3AR

RW (LW)
Rex Wailes, Lincolnshire Windmills (TNS, reprinted Friends of Heckington Windmill 1991)

RW (NW1) Rex Wailes, Norfolk Windmills Part 1: Corn Mills (TNS vol 26 1947-49)

RW (NW2) Rex Wailes, Norfolk Windmills Part : Drainage and Pumping Windmills including those of Suffolk (TNS vol 30 1955-7)

RW (SWF)
Rex Wailes, Some Windmill Fallacies (TNS vol 32 1961)

RW (USIW)
Rex Wailes, Upright Shafts In Windmills (TNS vol 30 1955-7)

RW (WIC)
Rex Wailes, The Windmills of Cambridgeshire including those of the Isle of Ely, the Soke of Peterborough and Hunts (TNS vol 27 1949-51, p97-119)

RW (WIK)
Rex Wailes and John Russell, Windmills In Kent (TNS vol 29 1953-5)

RW (BWAW)
Rex Wailes and H O Clark, Brake Wheels And Wallowers (TNS vol 26 1947-9)

RW (BAASHIW)
Rex Wailes and H O Clark, Bell Alarms and Sack Hoists in Windmills(TNS vol 45 1972-3)

RWS
Roland W Smith (mill researcher)

SCL
Sheffield Central Library, Surrey Street, Sheffield S1 1XZ

SCM
Sussex County Magazine

SH (MBC, CELSD)
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council, Community, Education and Leisure Services Department, The Gamble Building, Victoria Square, St Helens, Merseyside WA10 1DY

SHC
Surrey History Centre, Goldsworth Road, Woking, Surrey

SML (SC)
Science Museum Library (Simmons Collection), South Kensington, London

S & S (WIW)
W A Seaby & A C Smith, Windmills In Warwickshire (Warwickshire Museum 1977)

S & S (WIS)
W A Seaby & A C Smith, Windmills In Staffordshire (Stafford County Museum Service 1980)

S & S (WISHAW)
A C Smith & W A Seaby, Windmills In Shropshire, Hereford & Worcester (Stevenage Museum 1984)

Shann
G W Shann, Windmills In The Neighbourhood of Rugby: those which remain or have recently stood within a 25-mile radius (annual report of Rugby School Natural History Society 1937)

Shaw
T Shaw, Windmills of Nottinghamshire (Nottinghamshire County Council 1995)

Shillingford
A E P Shillingford, England’s Vanishing Windmills (Godfrey Cave Associates 1979)

Short
M Short, Windmills In Lambeth: An Historical Survey (London Borough of Lambeth 1971)

SIH no 18 1988
See Dawes

SMA
Suffolk Mills Archive c/o SMS (see below), Mills Archive Trust, Reading, or The Secretary, 42 High Road West, Felixstowe, Suffolk

A C Smith (WIBAO)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire (Stevenage Museum 1976)

A C Smith (WIH)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Hertfordshire (Stevenage Museum 1974, revised edition 1986)

A C Smith (WIHAP)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Huntingdon and Peterborough (Stevenage Museum Publications 1977)

A C Smith (DWOTNM)
Arthur C Smith, Drainage Windmills Of The Norfolk Marshes (Stevenage Museum 1979 (DWNM1), revised edition 1990 (DWNM2)

A C Smith (WISAGL)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Surrey and Greater London
(Stevenage Museum 1980)

A C Smith (WIS)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Sussex (Stevenage Museum 1980)

A C Smith (CWON)
Arthur C Smith Corn Windmills In Norfolk (Stevenage Museum 1982)

A C Smith (WIB)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Bedfordshire (Stevenage Museum 1975)

A C Smith (WIC)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Cambrideshire (Stevenage Museum 1975)

A Smith
Aldeburgh In Photographs, from Dick Smith’s collection, compiled by Andrew Smith (Aldeburgh Publishing 1996)

D W Smith
Donald W Smith, English Windmills vol 2 (Architectural Press 1932)

SML (SC)
Science Museum Library (Simmons Collection)

SMS
SPAB Mills Section, 37 Spital Square, London E1 6DY

SMS (HC)
SPAB Mills Section (Hoather Collection)

Snelling
Joan Snelling, Ludham: A Norfolk Village 1800-1900 (E Mumby 1999)

SOTBC (ECLS)
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council (Education, Leisure and Cultural Services), Wynyard House, Town Centre, Billingham TS23 2LN

SRO/I
Suffolk Record Office (Ipswich Branch), Gatacre Road, Ipswich IP1 2LQ

SRO/I (LC)
Suffolk Record Office Ipswich Branch, Lummis Collection

SRO/L
Suffolk Record Office (Lowestoft Branch), Central Library Clapham Road South, Lowestoft NR23 1DR

SRO/BSE
Suffolk Record Office (Bury St Edmunds Branch), 77 Raingate Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 2AR

SRRC
Shropshire Records and Research Centre, Castle Gates, Shrewsbury SY1 2AQ

Stainwright
Trevor Stainwright, Windmills of Northamptonshire and the Soke of Peterborough (W D Wharton 1992)

Stevens
R Stevens, Cambridgeshire Windmills and Watermills (Cambridgeshire Windmill and Watermill Society 1985)

Stevens (SWSIFAE)
L Stevens, Some Windmill Sites In Friston and Eastbourne (reprinted from Sussex Archaeological Collections vol 120, 1982)

Swain
Sittingbourne In Old Photographs, collected by Eric Swain (Alan Sutton 1989)

SWL
Saffron Walden Library, 2 King Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1ES

SWM
Saffron Walden Museum, Museum Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1JL

TC
Turner Collection, held at Beechcroft Art Gallery, Southend-on-Sea, c/o Southend Museums Service Central Museum, Victoria Avenue, Southend-on-Sea, SS2 6EW

Tebbutt
C F Tebbutt, Huntingdonshire Windmills (Mason and Dorman 1942, reprinted from Transactions of the Cambs and Hunts Archaeological Society vol 5 433 and vol 6 p29, 63, 96 and 103)

THMAG
Towner Hall Museum and Art Gallery, High Street, Old Town, Eastbourne BN20 8BB

THOC (OHADSLHG)
The Holmans of Canterbury (Oaten Hill and District Society Local History Group 1992)

TIMS
Transactions of the International Molinological Society

TM
Thurrock Museum, Thameside Complex, Orsett Road, Grays, Essex

TOMS
The Old Mansfield Society, Mansfield In Old Photographs (Alan Sutton 1993)

Triggs
Anthony Triggs, The Windmills of Hampshire (Milestone Publications 1982)

TRL
Trowbridge Reference Library, Bythesea Road, Trowbridge Wiltshire BA14 8BS

Turpin (WIE)
B J & J M Turpin, Windmills In Essex (Windmill Publications 1977)

Turpin (WIK)
B J & J M Turpin, Windmills In Kent (Windmill Publications 1979)

UOK (DC)
University of Kent(Davies Collection), Templeman Library, UOK

UOK (MC)
University of Kent (Muggeridge Collection), Templeman Library, UOK

UOM (JRL)
University of Manchester (John Rylands Library). This is the Abraham Mitford Collection, also held at the Mills Archive, Reading

Unwin
Philip Unwin, South Norfolk Windmills, article in unidenti-fied magazine (copy at Diss Museum, 11 Market Hill, Diss, Norfolk IP22)

VHM
Valence House Museum, Becontree Avenue, Dagenham, Essex

Vince
John Vince, Discovering Windmills (Shire Books 1968, 1969, 1973, 1977, 1981, 1984, 1987, 1993)

Vince (WIBATC)
John Vince, Windmills In Buckinghamshire and the Chilterns (Format Publishing 1976)

Vince (MAM)
John Vince, Mills And Millwrighting (Shire Books c1979)

Viner
John Viner, Lost Windmills of Faversham (The Faversham Society 1982)

WAWM, MWWG
Wind and Watermills, Journal of Midland Wind- and Watermills Group

W & W S
Wind- and Watermill Section (previous name of SPAB Mills Section)

Wailes (TEW)
Rex Wailes, The English Windmill (Routledge & Kegan Paul 1954, reprinted 1971)

Wailes (WIE)
Rex Wailes, Windmills In England (The Architectural Press 1947)

Wailes (DSW)
Rex Wailes, The Drive To The Stones In Windmills (Transactions of the Newcomen Society (hereafter TNS) vol 3 1957-9)

Wailes (EW)
Rex Wailes, Essex Windmills (TNS vol 31 1957-9)

Wailes, ASBOWAW
Rex Wailes, A Source Book of Windmills and Watermills (Ward Lock 1979)

WALS
Wolverhampton Archives and Local Studies, 42-50 Snow Hill, Wolverhampton WV2 4AG

Walsall MBC
Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council, Essex Street, Walsall WS2 7AS

Warner
Malcolm Warner, Long Crendon In Camera (Quotes Ltd 1990)

Warner, T
Tim Warner, Around Newark In Old Photographs (Alan Sutton 1991)

Watts (CM)
Martin Watts, Corn Milling (Shire Publications Ltd 1983)

Watts (SW)
Martin Watts, Somerset Windmills (Agraphicus 1975)

Watts (WW)
Martin Watts, Wiltshire Windmills (Wiltshire Library and Museum Service 1980)

WCL
Warrington Central Library, Museum Street, Warrington, Cheshire, WA1 1JB

WCM
Warwickshire County Museum, Market Place, Warwick CV34 4SA OR The Butts, Warwick, CV34 4SS

West
Jenny West, The Windmills Of Kent (Charles Skilton 1972 (2nd edition 1979))

WG
Wellholme Galleries, Wellholme Road, Grimsby DN32 9LP. There is a Notts file and a Foreign (i.e. not in Lincs) file. Some mills are in the catalogue but not the files, and vice versa.

Whit.M
Whitby Museum, Pannett Park, Whitby, Yorkshire YO21 1RE

Whitney
Michael Whitney, Haddenham In Camera (Quotes Ltd)

A Whitworth
Alan Whitworth, Yorkshire Windmills (M T D Rigg 1992)

A Whitworth2
Alan Whitworth, Tyke Towers: Yorkshire Windmills (Landy Publishing 2002)

D Whitworth
Douglas Whitworth, Nottinghamshire Memories (Sutton Publishing 1999)

Williams and Crompton
Hazel Williams and John Crompton, The Windmills Of Wirral (Journal of the North-Western Society of Industrial Archaeology 1974)

WFM
Wisbech and Fenland Museum, Museum Square, Wisbech, Cambs

WMM
West Mersea Museum, c/o 7 Estuary Park Road, West Mersea, Essex CO5 8BZ

WM
Wycombe Museum, Priory Avenue, High Wycombe, Bucks HP11 6PX

WRL
Worthing Reference Library, Richmond Road, Worthing, Sussex

WRO
Warwickshire Record Office, Priory Park, Cape Road, Warwick CV34 4JS

YCA
York City Archives, Art Gallery Building, Exhibition Square, York Yo1 7EW

Young
Derek Young (author or publisher?), Picture From The Past no.3, 1985

Ches.RO
Cheshire Record Office, Duke Street, Chester CH1 1RL

CKS Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent

CL Canterbury Library, High Street, Canterbury, Kent CT1 2JF

Clements Margate In Old Photographs, collected by Richard Clements (Alan Sutton 1992)

Col.l Colchester Library, Trinity Square, Colchester CO1 1JB (many photographs held at Colchester Museum, Museum Resource Centre, 14 Ryegate Road, Colchester CO1 1YG)

Cole Charsfield And Surrounding District In Pictures, produced by Peggy Cole (The Five Castles Press Ltd, n.d. but post-1997)

Coles Finch W Coles Finch, Watermills and Windmills (C W Daniel 1933, reprinted Cassell 1976)

Cook Thesis on rise and decline of windmills by T Cook, early 1990s, unpublished (copy deposited with SPAB Mills Section)



Coomber G H W Coomber, Bygone Mills in the Horsham Area (Horsham Museum Society 1996)

Coulthard and Watts A J Coulthard & M Watts, The Windmills Of Somerset And The Men Who Worked Them (Research Publishing Company 1978)

Crane M A Crane, Wingham, Adisham and Littlebourne In Old Photographs (Alan Sutton 1993)

CRO Cambridgeshire Record Office, Shire Hall, Cambridge CB3 0AP. Collection is mainly lantern slides

Croft Eric Croft, Lincolnshire Windmills In Old Picture Postcards, Reflections Of A Bygone Age (1996)

Cross Dennis Cross, Diss And District: A Portrait In Old Picture Postcards (SB Publications 1991)

Cross 2 Dennis Cross, Memories Of Diss And Its Surrounding Villages: An Old Picture Postcard Album (Dennis Cross 1994)

DALHS Dudley Archives and Local History Service, Mount Pleasant Street, Coseley, Dudley WV14 9JR

Davies Ken Davies, Windmill Trails Of The Fylde (Scott Willen Publications 1985)

Dawes H T Dawes, The Windmills And Millers of Brighton (Sussex Industrial History (Journal of the Sussex Industrial Archaeology Society) no 18 1988)

DL Deal Library, Broad Street, Deal CT14 6ER

DM Diss Museum, 11 Market Hill, Diss, Norfolk IP22

Dolman (WIS) Peter Dolman, Windmills in Suffolk (Suffolk Mills Group 1978)

Dolman (LW) Peter Dolman, Lincolnshire Windmills (Lincolnshire County Council 1986)



Donnan History of Eriswell by William H Donnan, 1956. Appears to have been published privately; copy in Suffolk Record Office, Ipswich Branch

Douch H L Douch, Cornish Windmills (Oscar Blackford 1964)

ECC (DEW) Essex County Council, Discover Essex Windmills (ECC 1990)

EDP Eastern Daily Press

EEN Eastern Evening News

EKMG East Kent Mills Group

Elliott J Steele Elliott, The Windmills of Bedfordshire Past and Present (Bedfordshire Historical Society Publications vol 14 1931)

ElliottB Aspects of Doncaster: Discovering Local History, ed. by Brian Elliott (Wharncliffe Publishing 1997)

Ellis Monica Ellis (Ed.), Water and Windmills in Hampshire and the Isle of Wight (Southampton University Industrial Archaeology Group 1978)

ERO Essex Record Office, Wharf Road, Chelmsford,Essex

ERO (FC) Essex Record Office (Farries Collection)

ERYC East Riding of Yorkshire Council, Church Street, Goole, DN14 5BG

ESRO East Sussex Record Office, The Maltings, Castle Precinct, Lewes BN7 1YT

Farries K G Farries, Essex Windmills Millers And Millwrights (5 volumes, Charles Skilton 1981 (vol 1), 1982 (vol 2), 1984 (vol 3), 1985 (vol 4), 1988 (vol 5))

Farries and Mason K G Farries & M T Mason, Windmills In Surrey And Inner London (Charles Skilton 1966)

FL Folkestone Library, Grace Hill, Folkestone CT20 1HD



Flint Brian Flint, Suffolk Windmills (Boydell Press 1979)

Foreman Wilfred Foreman, Oxfordshire Mills (Phillimore 1983)

Freese Stanley Freese, Windmills And Millwrighting (David & Charles 1971 (1st published Cambridge University Press 1957))

GCL Gateshead Central Library, Prince Consort Road, Gateshead NE8 4LN

A Gifford Alan Gifford, Derbyshire Windmills (Midland Wind and Watermills Group 1995)

P Gifford P R Gifford, The Maize, The Wheat And The Rye: A Nostalgic Look At Essex Windmills (Essex County Library 1979

GL Gravesend Library, Windmill Street, Gravesend, Kent

GLHL Greenwich Local History Library, Woodlands, 90 Mycenae Road, London SE3 7SE

GMM Green's Mill Museum, Windmill Lane, Sneinton, Nottingham, NG2 4QB. Collection consists of photos and slides

Goodger and Spooner R Goodger and A Spooner, The Archive Photograph Series: Chatteris (Chalford Publishing 1997)

Gray L G Gray, From Wind To Power (Braemal Printing Co 1986)

Gregory Roy Gregory, East Yorkshire Windmills (Charles Skilton 1985)

Gregory & Wright F Gregory & S Wright, Nutley Windmill, a Short History and Guide (Uckfield and District Preservation Society, n.d.)

GYL Great Yarmouth Library, Tolhouse Street, Great Yarmouth NR30 2SH. Collection consists mainly of newspaper cuttings

HADLHG Haverhill and District Local History Group, c/o 11 Chainery Pieces, Haverhill Suffolk CB9 8BG

HALS
Hertford Archives and Local Studies, County Hall, Hertford SG13 8EJ

Harding 1 Dorking and District in Old Photographs, compiled by Keith Harding (Sutton Publishing Ltd 1993)

Harding 2 Keith Harding, Britain in Old Photographs: Dorking Revisited (Sutton Publishing 1997)

Harrison TW, ABFB H C Harrison, The Windmill, A Book For Boys (H C Harrison 1947)

Haselfoot A J Haselfoot, The Batsford Guide to the Industrial Archaeology of South-East England(Batsford 1978)

Hasm Hastings Museum, Johns Place, Cambridge Road, Hastings, East Sussex TN34 1EJ

Hemming Peter Hemming, Windmills In Sussex (C W Daniel 1936)

Henry D Henry & A Traylen, Windmills and Watermills of Rutland (Spiegl Press 1986)

HESS H E S Simmons Collection of notes on English Windmills, Science Museum Library, South Kensington

Hills Revd Richard Hills, Power From The Wind (Cambridge University Press 1994)

Hiscock and Grierson Robert Hiscock and Douglas W Grierson, Around Gravesham In Old Photographs (Robert Hiscock and Douglas W Grierson) (a) w/o, c1880

HLAAG Huddersfield Library and Art Gallery, Princess Alexandra Walk, Huddersfield HD1 2SU

HM Hitchin Museum, Paynes Park, Hitchin SG5 1EQ

Hopkins/R T Hopkins R Thurston Hopkins, Old Watermills And Windmills (Philip Allan 1929, reprinted 1976)

Hopkins (W) R Thurston Hopkins, Windmills (Charles Clarke 1931)



Horn. M Hornsea Museum, Burn's Farm, 11 Newbegin,
Hornsea HU18 1AB

Howes Hugh Howes, Bedfordshire Mills (Bedfordshire County Planning Department 1983)

HRL Hastings Reference Library, 13 Claremont, Hastings TN34 1HE

Hughes J Hughes, Cumberland Windmills (Cumberland and Westmorland Antiquarian Society Transactions vol 72 1972 p112-141)

Huy.L Huyton Library, Civic Way, Huyton, Knowsley, L36 9GD

HWL High Wycombe Library, Queen Victoria Road, High Wycombe, Bucks

Janaway John Janaway, Surrey: A Photographic Record 1850-1920 (Countryside Books 1984)

Job Staffordshire Windmills, Midland Wind- and Watermills Group 1985

Johnson C J Johnson, The Holberrow Green Windmill: An Attempt at the Interpretation of Visible Evidence (Industrial Archaeology vol 1 no 1 autumn 1976 p73-80)

Kelly Nick Kelly, South Winds (“Old Glory” magazine, October and November 1993)

Kelly (MRG) Nick Kelly, Windmills of the Isle Of Man
(Proceedings of the 12th Mills Research Group Conference 1995)

KLL Kings Lynn Library, London Road, Kings Lynn, PE30 SE2

KLM Kings Lynn Museum, Old Market Street, King's Lynn, PE30 5DQ

LCC (LSL) Leeds City Council (Local Studies Library),
Central Library, Municipal Buildings, Calverley Street, Leeds LS1 3AB



Leveritt & Elsden Norman Leveritt and Michael J Elsden, Aspects Of Spalding (Chameleon International Ltd 1989

LHAS Litcham Historical and Amenity Society,
c/o Village Museum, "Fourways", Litcham, Norfolk PE32 2NZ

LM Littlehampton Museum, The Manor House, Church Street, Littlehampton BN17 5EP

Long George Long, The Mills Of Man (Herbert Joseph 1931)

LRO Liverpool Record Office, Central Library, William Brown Street, Liverpool L3 8EW

Major J K Major, The Mills of the Isle of Wight
(Charles Skilton 1970)

Major 2 J K Major, An Inventory of Windmills in Durham and Northumberland (Industrial Archaeology vol 4 no 4 November 1967)

Major and Watts J K Major & M Watts, Victorian Windmills And Watermills From Old Photographs (Batsford 1977)

Malster Robert Malster, Lowestoft, East Coast Port
(Terence Dalton Ltd 1982)

McDermott (SWOWS) R & R McDermott, The Standing Windmills of West Sussex (Betford Publications 1978)

McDermott (SWOES) R & R McDermott, The Standing Windmills Of East Sussex (Betford Publications 1978)

McKenna J McKenna, Windmills of Birmingham and the Black Country (K A F Brewin Books 1986)

MHM Moyse Hall Museum, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, c/o Museums Service, The Manor House Museum, Honey Hill, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk IP33 1HF



Miller The Archive Photographs Series: Cranleigh, compiled by Michael Miller (Chalford Publishing Company 1995)

Mills C J Mills, Windmills of Thanet (Thanet District Council Community Programme 1986)

Minchinton W E Minchinton, Windmills In Devon (University Of Devon and Exeter Industrial Archaeology Group 1977)

ML Minet Library, 52 Knatchbull Road, London SE5 9QY

MLL Museum of Lincolnshire Life, Burton Road, Lincoln, LN1 3LY

MM Maidstone Museum and Art Gallery, St Faith's Street, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1LH

MMRLHC Macclesfield Museums Research Library, Heritage Centre, Roe Street, Macclesfield Cheshire 6UT SK11

Moon Nigel Moon, Windmills Of Leicestershire and Rutland (Sycamore Press 1981)

Moore Cyril Moore, Hertfordshire Windmills and Windmillers (Windsup Publishing 1999)

MOTHOS (UC) Museum of the History of Science, Broad Street, Oxford (Underhill Collection). Photocopies of the Collection are held by Oxford Central Library and the SPAB Mills Section, and it is duplicated at the Bodleian Library, also in Broad Street Oxford

MWLSD Metropolitan Borough of Wigan Leisure Services Department, Market Suite, The Galleries, Wigan WN1 1PX

MWM Much Wenlock Museum, High Street, Much Wenlock, Shropshire TF13 6HR

NCL Norwich Central Library (Reference Library and Norfolk Studies), Gildengate House, Anglia Square, Upper Green Lane, Norwich NR3 1AX (temporary site in 1999)



NCL (RW) Norwich Central Library, collection of photos inherited from Rex Wailes

Neave Saxmundham, Leiston and Aldeburgh remembered in old postcards, from the collection of Derrick Neave (Image Publications 1990)

Neave 2 A second look at Saxmundham and area remembered in old postcards, from the collection of Derrick Neave

NewCL Newcastle City Library, Princess Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE99 1DX

NM Newhaven Museum, Garden Paradise, Avis Way,
Newhaven, East Sussex

NMR National Monuments Record, Royal Commission on Historic Monuments, Kemble Drive, Swindon

NMR (WC) National Monuments Record (Wailes Collection).
Consists mostly of slides, but a few photographs in articles (eg Yelling, Cambs)

No.M Norris Museum, The Broadway, St Ives PE27 5BX

Nott.CL Nottingham Central Library, Angel Row, Nottingham NG1 6HP

NRLM Norfolk Rural Life Museum, Beech House, Gressenhall, Dereham, Norfolk, NR20 4DR

NWT Norfolk Windmills Trust, County Hall, Martineau Lane, Norwich

NWT (ROWAWIN) The Restoration of Windmills and Windpumps in Norfolk (Norfolk Windmills Trust 1977)

O'Brien Pat O'Brien, Around Bebington (Chalford
Publishing Co 1995)

OCL Oxford Central Library, Westgate, Oxford, OX1 1DJ



OLSL Oldham Local Studies Library, 84 Union Street, Oldham OL1 1DN

OMS Old Mansfield Society, c/o Nottingham Central Library, Angel Row, Nottingham NG1 6HP

Perkins D R J Perkins, Ramsgate And Thanet In Old Photographs (Alan Sutton 1989)

Phelps Southwold to Aldeburgh in Old Photographs, compiled by Humphrey Phelps (Alan Sutton 1991)

Pinney R C Pinney, Sussex Windmills And Their Restoration: A 1970s Perspective (pamphlet published 1999 by Sussex Industrial Archaeology Society)

PM Pontefract Museum, 5 Salter Row, Pontefract, West Yorkshire, WF8 1BA

RCL Rotherham Central Library and Arts Centre,
Walker Place, Rotherham S65 1JH

Reynolds John Reynolds, Windmills And Watermills (John Evelyn 1970 (reprinted 1974))

RL Romford Library, St Edward's Way, Romford, RM1 3AR

Rose M Rose, The Windmills of Whitstable (the author 1990)

RW (LW) Rex Wailes, Lincolnshire Windmills (TNS, reprinted Friends of Heckington Windmill 1991)

RW (NW1) Rex Wailes, Norfolk Windmills Part 1: Corn Mills (TNS vol 26 1947-49)

RW (NW2) Rex Wailes, Norfolk Windmills Part 2: Drainage and Pumping Windmills including those of Suffolk (TNS vol 30 1955-7)



RW (SWF) Rex Wailes, Some Windmill Fallacies (TNS vol 32 1961)

RW (USIW) Rex Wailes, Upright Shafts in Windmills (TNS vol 30 1955-7)

RW (WIC) Rex Wailes, The Windmills of Cambridgeshire including those of the Isle Of Ely, the Soke of Peterborough and Hunts (TNS vol 27 1949-51, p97-119)

RW (WIK) Rex Wailes and John Russell, Windmills in Kent (TNS vol 29 1953-5)

RW (BWAW) Rex Wailes and H O Clark, Brake Wheels and Wallowers (TNS vol 26 1947-49)

RW (BAASHIW) Rex Wailes and H O Clark, Bell Alarms and Sack Hoists in Windmills (TNS vol 45 1972-3)

RWS Roland W Smith (mill researcher)

SCL Sheffield Central Library, Surrey Street, Sheffield S1 1XZ


Sheffield Central Library, Surrey Street, Sheffield S1 1XZ

W A Seaby & A C Smith, Windmills In Staffordshire (Stafford County Museum Service 1980)

S & S (WISHAW)
A C Smith & W A Seaby, Windmills In Shropshire, Hereford & Worcester (Stevenage Museum 1984)

Shann
G W Shann, Windmills in the Neighbourhood of Rugby: those which remain or have recently stood within a 25-mile radius, (annual report of Rugby School Natural History Society 1937)

Shaw
T Shaw, Windmills Of Nottinghamshire (Nottinghamshire County Council 1995)

Shillingford
A E P Shillingford, England's Vanishing Windmills (Godfrey Cave Associates 1979)

Short
M Short, Windmills in Lambeth: An Historical Survey (London Borough of Lambeth 1971)

SIH no 18 1988 see Dawes

SL
Sevenoaks Library, Buckhurst Lane, Sevenoaks, Kent TN13 1LQ

SMA
Suffolk Mills Archive c/o SMS (see below), Mills Archive Trust, Reading, or The Secretary, 42 High Road West, Felixstowe, Suffolk

A C Smith (WIBAO)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Buckinghamshire And Oxfordshire (Stevenage Museum 1976)

A C Smith (WIH)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Hertfordshire (Stevenage Museum 1974, revised edition 1986)

A C Smith (WIHAP)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Huntingdon And Peterborough (Stevenage Museum Publications 1977)

A C Smith (DWOTNM)
Arthur C Smith, Drainage Windmills Of The Norfolk Marshes (Stevenage Museum 1979 (DWNM1), revised edition (DWNM2) 1990)

A C Smith (WISAGL)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Surrey And Greater London (Stevenage Museum 1976)

A C Smith (WIS)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Sussex (Stevenage Museum 1980)

A C Smith (CWON)
Arthur C Smith, Corn Windmills In Norfolk
(Stevenage Museum 1982)

A C Smith (WIB)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Bedfordshire (Stevenage Museum 1975)

A C Smith (WIC)
Arthur C Smith, Windmills In Cambridgeshire (Stevenage Museum Publications 1975)

A Smith
Aldeburgh In Photographs, from Dick Smith's collection, compiled by Andrew Smith (Aldeburgh Publishing 1996)

D W Smith
Donald W Smith, English Windmills vol 2 (Architectural Press 1932)

SML (SC)
Science Museum Library (Simmons Collection)

SMS
SPAB Mills Section, 37 Spital Square, London E1 6DY

SMS (HC)
SPAB Mills Section (Hoather Collection)

Snelling
Joan Snelling, Ludham: A Norfolk Village 1800-1900 (E Mumby 1999)

SOTBC (ECLS)
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council (Education, Leisure and Cultural Services), Wynyard House, Town Centre, Billingham TS23 2LN

SRO/I
Suffolk Record Office (Ipswich Branch), Gatacre Road, Ipswich IP1 2LQ

SRO/I (LC)
Suffolk Record Office Ipswich Branch), Lummis Collection

SRO/L
Suffolk Record Office (Lowestoft Branch),
Central Library, Clapham Road South, Lowestoft NR23 1DR

SRO/BSE
Suffolk Record Office (Bury St Edmunds Branch),
77 Raingate Street,Bury St Edmunds,IP33 2AR

SRRC
Shropshire Records and Research Centre, Castle Gates, Shrewsbury SY1 2AQ

Stainwright
Trevor Stainright, Windmills of Northamptonshire And The Soke Of Peterborough (W D Wharton 1992)

Stevens
R Stevens, Cambridgeshire Windmills and Watermills (Cambridgeshire Windmill and Watermill Society 1985)

Stevens (SWSIFAE)
L Stevens, Some Windmill Sites In Friston and Eastbourne (reprinted from Sussex Archaeological Collections vol 120, 1982)

Swain
Sittingbourne In Old Photographs, collected by Eric Swain (Alan Sutton 1989)

SWL
Saffron Walden Library, 2 King Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1ES

SWM Saffron Walden Museum, Museum Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1JL

TC Turner Collection, held at Beecroft Art Gallery, Southend-on-Sea, c/o Southend Museums Service,
Central Museum, Victoria Avenue, Southend-on-Sea, SS2 6EW

Tebbutt C F Tebbutt, Huntingdonshire Windmills (Mason and Dorman 1942, reprinted from Transactions of the Cambs and Hunts Archaeological Society vol 5 p433 and vol 6 p29, 63, 96 and 103)

THMAG Towner Hall Museum and Art Gallery, High Street, Old Town, Eastbourne BN20 8BB



THOC (OHADSLHG) The Holmans of Canterbury (Oaten Hill and District Society Local History Group, 1992)

TIMS Transactions of the International Molinological Society

TM Thurrock Museum, Thameside Complex, Orsett Road, Grays, Essex

TOMS The Old Mansfield Society, Mansfield In Old Photos (Alan Sutton 1993)

Triggs Anthony Triggs, The Windmills Of Hampshire (Milestone Publications 1982)

TRL Trowbridge Reference Library, Bythesea Road, Trowbridge Wiltshire BA14 8BS

Turpin (WIE) B J & M J Turpin, Windmills In Essex (Windmill Publications 1977)

Turpin (WIK) B J & M J Turpin, Windmills In Kent (Windmill Publications 1979)

UOK (DC) University of Kent (Davies Collection)
Templeman Library, UOK

UOK (MC) University of Kent (Muggeridge Collection)
Templeman Library, UOK

OM (JRL) University of Manchester (John Rylands Library). This is the Abraham Mitford Collection, also held at Mills Archive Reading

Unwin Philip Unwin, South Norfolk Windmills,
article in unidentified magazine (copy at Diss Museum, 11 Market Hill, Diss, Norfolk IP22)

VHM Valence House Museum, Becontree Avenue, Dagenham, Essex

Vince John Vince, Discovering Windmills (Shire Books 1968, 1969, 1973, 1977, 1981, 1984, 1987, 1993)

Vince (WIBATC) John Vince, Windmills In Buckinghamshire and the Chilterns (Format Publishing 1976)

Vince (MAM) John Vince, Mills And Millwrighting (Shire Books c1979)
Viner John Viner, Lost Windmills Of Faversham (The Faversham Society 1982)

WAWM, MWWG Wind and Watermills, Journal of Midland Wind and Watermills Group

W & W S Wind and Watermill Section (previous name of SPAB Mills Section)

Wailes (TEW) Rex Wailes, The English Windmill (Routledge and Kegan Paul 1954, reprinted 1971)

Wailes (WIE) Rex Wailes, Windmills In England (The Architectural Press 1947)

Wailes (DSW) Rex Wailes, The Drive To The Stones In Windmills (Transactions of the Newcomen Society (hereafter TNS) vol 31 1957-9

Wailes (EW) Rex Wailes, Essex Windmills (TNS vol 31 1957-9)

Wailes, ASBOWAW Rex Wailes, A Source Book of Windmills And Watermills (Ward Lock 1979)

WALS Wolverhampton Archives and Local Studies,
42-50 Snow Hill, Wolverhampton WV2 4AG

Walsall MBC Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council,
Essex Street, Walsall WS2 7AS

Warner Malcolm Warner, Long Crendon In Camera (Quotes Ltd 1990)

Warner T Tim Warner, Around Newark In Old Photographs (Alan Sutton 1991)

Watts (CM) Martin Watts, Corn Milling (Shire Publications Ltd 1983)

Watts (SW) Martin Watts, Somerset Windmills (Agraphicus 1975)

Watts (WW) Martin Watts, Wiltshire Windmills (Wiltshire Library and Museum Service 1980)

WCL Warrington Central Library, Museum Street, Warrington, Cheshire WA1 1JB

WCM Warwickshire County Museum, Market Place, Warwick CV34 4SA OR The Butts, Warwick, CV34 4SS

West Jenny West, The Windmills Of Kent (Charles Skilton 1972 (2nd edition 1979))

WG Wellholme Galleries, Wellholme Road, Grimsby DN32 9LP (There is a Notts file and a Foreign (i.e. not in Lincs) file. Some mills are in the catalogue but not the files, and vice versa.)

Whit.M Whitby Museum, Pannett Park, Whitby, Yorkshire YO21 1RE

Whitney Michael Whitney, Haddenham In Camera (Quotes Ltd 1995)

A Whitworth Alan Whitworth, Yorkshire Windmills (M T D Rigg 1992)

A Whitworth 2 Alan Whitworth, Tyke Towers: Yorkshire's Windmills (Landy Publishing 2002)

D Whitworth Douglas Whitworth, Nottinghamshire Memories (Sutton Publishing 1999)

Williams and Crompton Hazel Williams and R Crompton, The Windmills Of Wirral (Journal Of The North-Western Society Of Industrial Archaeology, 1974)

WFM Wisbech and Fenland Museum, Museum Square, Wisbech, Cambs

WMM West Mersea Museum, c/o 7 Estuary Park Road, West Mersea, Essex CO5 8BZ

WM Wycombe Museum, Priory Avenue, High Wycombe, Bucks, HP11 6PX

WRL Worthing Reference Library, Richmond Road, Worthing, Sussex

WRO Warwickshire Record Office, Priory Park, Cape Road, Warwick CV34 4JS

YCA York City Archives, Art Gallery Building, Exhibition Square, York YO1 7EW

Young "Picture From The Past" no.3, Derek Young (author or publisher?) 1985



BEDFORDSHIRE

ASPLEY GUISE, post mill; (1) Howes (a) disused with part of one sail missing, c1900 (2) MOTHOS (UC) (a) disused with damaged sail as Howes

BIGGLESWADE, tower mill; (1) Howes (a) brakewheel (b) disused with sails (2) photograph of mill derelict with cap exists somewhere, but author not sure where (3) CCL (a) w/o (b) view of fan (4) Elliott (a) w/o, c1919 (b) w/o, 1930 (5) CL (a) disused with fan and sail frames (6) "Old Biggleswade Volume 4", Biggleswade History Society 1992 (a) disused with sails, September 1950 (7) UOK (MC) (a) disused with fan and sails, August 1933

BOLNHURST, post mill; (1) Elliott (a) w/o, c1915 (not Bolnhurst according to Peter Dolman: letter to author 1st May 2001)

CRANFIELD, tower mill; (1) Howes (a) w/o (b) derelict with cap and one sail, shortly before demolition in 1966 (2) Elliott (a) w/o with 2 sails, 1930 (3) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with fan and 2 sails (one breaking away), July 1933

DUNSTABLE, tower mill; (1) Howes (a) w/o, c1900 (2) NMR (a-b) with original cap but no sails (c-g) preserved as store with new dome cap (3) A C Smith (WIB) (a) preserved as store with dome cap, May 1970 (4) Elliott (a) w/o, c1915 (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with cap, August 1937

EATON SOCON, Duloe Mill, tower mill; (1) Howes (a) prior to house conversion, with sails and original cap still on (2) NMR (a) as Howes (3) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) house-converted with no sails but dummy cap and windshaft, May 1971 (4) NMR (WC) (a) derelict with sails (5) Elliott (a) disused with sails, 1922 (6) CL (a) derelict with sails, January 1934 (b-e) derelict with four sails, January 1935 (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, June 1934 (c) derelict with 4 sails, August 1934 (d) as house-converted, August 1958

FLITWICK, smock mill; (1) Howes (a) w/o, c1900 (2) Ampthill and District Archaeological and Local History Society, "Flitwick: A Vanishing Village", 1992 (a) w/o

HENLOW, smock mill; (1) Howes (a) disused with cap, 1926 (2) de Little (a) derelict with cap (b) view of top of tower of derelict mill, showing curb, also winding gear and the dormer housing it (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap (4) A C Smith (WIB) (a) surviving base, July 1971 (5) Elliott (a) w/o, 1919 (b) disused with cap, 1931 (6) BM Vol 9 p69 (a) sack hoist (7) UOK (MC) (a) disused with no sails or poll end, July 1934

HOLCOT, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIB) (a) stump of tower, March 1973 (2) Elliott (a) stump of tower, 1931

HOUGHTON CONQUEST, tower mill; (1) de Little (a) derelict, showing poll end and collapsed cap roof (windshaft and brakewheel not visible) (2) Howes (a) derelict with cap, 1933 (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap but no sails (b-d) derelict with sails and most of cap gone (4) de Little 2 (a) great spur wheel (5) Elliott (a) derelict with cap, 1930 (6) A C Smith (WIB) (a) derelict, showing poll end and a few timbers of cap roof (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, July 1933

HOUGHTON REGIS, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIB) (a) surviving base with water tank on top, August 1970 (2) NMR (a-c) as Smith (3) Elliott (a) w/o, c1909 (4) UOK (MC) (a) stump with water tank, August 1936

KEYSOE, post mill, (1) Wailes, WIE (a) w/o (b-d) miller pushing on tailpole (e-l) miller setting sails (m) wire machine (2) Howes (a) w/o, 1928 (b) w/o, p50 also same photos as Wailes of sails being furled p43-5, 46 (3) NMR (a-c) w/o (d) w/o with 2 sails (e) disused, with sails damaged (from 1925 SPAB Annual Report) (4) Wailes & Clark (a) windshaft, brakewheel and sack hoist drive (5) NMR (WC) (a) w/o (b) tailpole (c) detail of spring sail (d) detail of common sail (e) windshaft, brakewheel and sackhoist (6) Elliott (a) view of trestle, 1931 (b) w/o, c1911 (c) w/o, 1931 (7) CL (a) w/o (8) Wailes, ASBOWAW (a) miller pushing on tailpole (b) miller reefing sails (c) brakewheel, windshaft and sack hoist (9) Wailes, TEW (a-d) miller furling common sails (10) UOK (MC) (a-c) w/o, August 1933 (d-f) w/o, August 1934 (g-h) wreckage on ground, September 1946

LOWER DEAN, composite mill; (1) Howes (a) w/o, c1905 (2) NMR (a-d) derelict with 4 sails (e-f) surviving roundhouse (g) interior of roundhouse with post, quarterbars and sheers (h-i) exterior view of roundhouse with some wreckage of mill body (j-n) wreckage of mill (o) ruined roundhouse with some wreckage on top, wrongly filed under Littledean, Glos (p) view inside ruined roundhouse looking up at wreckage on top, wrongly filed under Littledean, Glos (3) A C Smith (WIB) (a) surviving roundhouse, May 1971 (4) NMR (WC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (5) Elliott (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, 1936 (6) MOTHOS (UC) (not captioned) (a-b) w/o (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, August 1933 (b-c) derelict with 4 sails, July 1935 (d-e) derelict with 4 sails, September 1946

LUTON, Biscot, smock mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) w/o with 2 sails
(2) Howes (a) derelict with cap, 1935 (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap (4) Elliott (a) w/o, with 4 sails, c1912 (b) derelict with cap, 1931 (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1936 (b) derelict with cap, August 1937

POTTON, tower mill; (1) Howes (a) w/o, 1926 (2) NMR (a) derelict with stocks still in place (b-d) stump of tower (3) A C Smith (WIB) (a) stump of tower, May 1970 (4) BM Vol 9 p34 (a) brake wheel and wallower with friction ring (5) CL (a) derelict with stocks (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with stocks, August 1933

RISELEY, post mill; (1) Howes (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1936
(2) NMR (a-b) derelict with 2 sails (3) HM (a-b) derelict with 2 sails (4) UOK (MC) (a-c) derelict with 2 sails, August 1933 (d-e) derelict with 2 sails, August 1934 (f) derelict with 2 sails but roundhouse gone, September 1946

SHARNBROOK, tower mill; (1) Howes (a) derelict with cap and tailpole, 1937 (2) NMR (a-l) as Howes (3) A C Smith (WIB) (a) house converted tower with observatory on top, May 1971 (4) BM vol 3 p34 (a) interior view showing upright shaft and great spur wheel with parts of wallower and brakewheel visible (5) BM vol 18 p184 (a) derelict with 4 sails, cap and tailpole (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap and tailpole, July 1933 (b) derelict with cap and tailpole, August 1934 (c) winch on end of tailpole, August 1934

SHEFFORD, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIB) (a) tower with flat roof, October 1971 (2) Howes (a) distant view of derelict mill with cap and one sail visible, c1920 (3) NMR (a) derelict tower with cap frame (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict tower with cap frame, July 1934

STANBRIDGE, tower mill; (1) Howes (a) derelict with 2 sails and broken stocks (2) NMR (a-f) derelict with 2 sails and broken stocks (g-j) as house converted (3) A C Smith (WIB) (a) house-converted tower, May 1972 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails and half of stock of other pair, August 1936

STEVINGTON, post mill; (1) Howes (a) as preserved, 1936 (b) stone floor with windshaft, brakewheel and headstones (c) post and trestle (2) NMR (a) w/o, post-1921 (b-f) as preserved (g-i) as preserved, June 1932 (j-k) as preserved, July 1933 (l) as preserved, May 1940 (m) brakewheel, quant, stone nut and one pair of stones (n) hopper, shoe and part of brakewheel (o) steps, tailpole and talthur (p) steps, tailpole, talthur and yoke (q) close up of roof and sails (r) lower rear of mill showing roundhouse, steps, tailpole and talthur (3) Freese (a) as preserved (4) A C Smith (WIB) (a) as preserved, October 1972 (with one sail drooping) (b) as preserved, October 1972 (5) NMR (WC) (a-b) as preserved, distant view (6) Wailes (TEW) (a) preserved (7) Reynolds (a) post with strengthening bands around it (b) brakewheel, stone nut and quant (8) Vince 1981 (a) as preserved (9) Vince 1968 (a) as preserved (10) Vince 1973 (a) as preserved (11) UOK (MC) (a-c) as preserved, August 1933 (d-e) as preserved, September 1946 (f) lower roundhouse, lower buck, tailpole and ladder, March 1934 (12) 1951 Festival of Britain Restoration leaflet (copy in NMR Simmons Collection) (a) as preserved (b) view of part of body, roundhouse and steps of preserved mill with two men working on tailpole, one with the yoke around his shoulders

THURLEIGH, tower mill; (1) Howes (a) derelict with cap, 3 sails and fantail, 1935 (b) ditto, 1936 (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap, 3 sails and fantail (3) A C Smith (WIB) (a) derelict with brakewheel, windshaft and fan cradle, May 1971 (4) Blythman (a) derelict with cap frame and fan cradle only, August 1988 (b) derelict with cap frame and fan cradle only, December 1995 (5) Elliott (a) w/o, 1923 (6) BM vol 9 p156 (a) with derelict cap and no sails, middle distance (7) HM (a-b) derelict with 3 sails (8) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 3 sails, July 1933 (c) derelict with cap, poll end gone, September 1946

TODDINGTON, Westoning Road, post mill; (1) Elliott (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1858 (captioned Whipsnade, but this is incorrect according to molinologist Nicholas Bagshawe: Peter Dolman in letter to author, 1st May 2001)

TOTTERNHOE, Doolittle mill, tower mill (combined wind- and water-mill); (1) Howes (a) great spur wheel (b) auxiliary drive from steam engine (c) w/o, pre-1868 (d) the capless tower, c1983
(e) vat, horse, hopper and shoe (2) NMR (a-e) capless tower (f-g) upright shaft and wallower (h) great spur wheel (3) A C Smith (WIB)
(a) capless tower, May 1973 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) capless tower, May 1947

UPPER DEAN, tower mill; (1) Elliott (a) derelict with 2 sails, cap roof complete, and remains of fantail, 1931 (2) NMR (a-b) derelict with 2 sails and cap (c) derelict with 2 sails and cap, June 1932 (d-i) derelict with 2 sails but no cap (3) A C Smith (WIB) (a) derelict with brakewheel and 2 sails, May 1971 (4) Howes (a) derelict with 2 sails but no cap (5) Blythman (a) view of machinery, August 1988 (b) derelict with 2 sails but no cap, December 1995 (c) ditto, distant view, December 1995 (d) view of machinery, December 1995 (6) BM vol 13 p250-4 (a) spur gear (b) wire machine (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap and 2 sails, August 1933 (b) derelict with cap and 2 sails, July 1935

WOBURN, smock mill; (1) A C Smith (WIB) (a) house-converted base only, September 1973

BERKSHIRE

BINFIELD, Amen Corner, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) stump of tower with tank on top, 1932 (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) stump with water tank, November 1936

EAST ILSLEY, smock mill; (1) Susan Read, "Berkshire In Camera", Countryside Books, Reading Museum And Art Gallery (a) distant view, appears to show mill with 2 or 3 sails (2) MOTHOS (UC) (a) derelict with cap and fan but no sails, 5th September 1907 (b) close up of cap and fan, 5th September 1907



BUCKINGHAMSHIRE

BEACONSFIELD, tower/smock mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict, with wind-shaft and brakewheel spokes but no cap or sails; shows upper wooden section of tower (2) UOK (DWM) (a) as NMR (3) NMR (WC) (a) as NMR (and and derelict, as NMR and UOK (4) BCRALSS (a) derelict with cap and 2 sails, c1895 (b) derelict with cap and 2 sails, c1898 (5) UOK (MC) (a) tower part standing to
full height after removal of smock, May 1947 (6) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a-b) surviving wall of tower, May 1976 (7) BDHS (a) disused with cap and 4 sails, mid-late C19 (8) HWL (a) derelict with no cap or sails but upper smock section still on (9) WM (a) derelict, as HWL (10) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with upper wooden section, windshaft and brakewheel spokes, April 1932 (b) ditto, but brakewheel spokes not visible (c) derelict with upper wooden section, windshaft and brakewheel spokes, October 1934 (d) tower after removal of smock part, May 1947

BLEDLOW RIDGE, post mill; (1) D W Smith (a) derelict with no sails
(2) NMR (a) derelict, September 1932 (3) Wailes (DSW) (a) derelict with roof and most of breast missing (4) Freese (a) w/o (5) Vince (WIBATC) (a) w/o (6) NMR (WC) (a) w/o (b) derelict, 1924 (as D W Smith) (c) derelict, 1925 (as in Newcomen article) (7) Foreman (a) w/o, 1910 (8) BCRALSS (a) w/o, 1910 (b) w/o (c) very derelict with roof and breast missing (9) MOTHOS (UC) (a-b) w/o, 15th July 1907 (10) HWL (a) w/o, c1890 (b) derelict with half of one stock (c) derelict with half of one stock left and roof gone (d) junction of crosstree and quarterbar, with iron strap (e) appears to be sack hoist and chain (f) main post (g) junction of post and crosstrees (h) governors and tentering gear, with unidentified man standing below them (i) post and iron ring and rollers by means of which mill turned (j) view of interior of mill seen through open front (the unidentified man of the previous picture is seen standing on a millstone); visible are the brakewheel, upright shaft, great spur wheel, a stone nut, the sack hoist and the ring and rollers (k) view of substructure (11) WM (a) w/o, as HWL (12) UOK (MC) (a) very derelict with roof and breast gone, March 1932 (b) centre post and pintle on ground, December 1933 (c) canister of windshaft on ground, December 1933 (d) windshaft on ground, December 1933 (e) post on ground, December 1933 (f) crowntree on ground, December 1933 (g-h) stone nut on ground, January 1934 (i) bricks from piers on ground, January 1934

BRILL, Nixey's Mill, post mill; (1) D W Smith (a) close-up of substructure (b) as preserved, c1932 (2) NMR (a-r) preserved, before building of roundhouse (s) view of upper body and breast beam (t) view of trestle (3) Freese (a) Stanley Freese fitting dummy sail cloth (b-c) fitting dummy sail cloths, 1948 (d-g) fitting new sails, 1948 (4) Vince (WIBATC) (a) as preserved (5) NMR (WC) (a) w/o, in middle distance with other post mill in distance, n.d. (b) w/o, 1907 (c) as preserved, 1965 (d) substructure, 1929 (e) wallower and stones, September 1940 (f) post, September 1940 (g) w/o, 1907 (6) BCRALSS (a) w/o, c1905 (7) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o, 2nd August 1907 (b-d) w/o, 10th September 1907 (8) BRO (a) w/o with roundhouse, early-mid C20 (Acc. No. RCHM PHX 214/1 Box 1 title page-50) (9) HWL (a) derelict with 4 sails, roundhouse roof disintegrating (b) view of spout floor with post and tentering gear (c) brakewheel, windshaft, sack hoist and other gearing on bin floor (d) close-up of poll end, sails and breast beam (e) view of substructure (10) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o, early-mid C20 (11) Wailes (TEW) (a) derelict with 4 sails (12) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a-b) as preserved, May 1971 (13) Vince 1968 (a) as preserved (14) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) as preserved (15) Vince 1973 (a) as preserved (16) UOK (MC) (a) as preserved without roundhouse, March 1932 (b-d) as preserved without roundhouse, June 1934 (e-i) as preserved without roundhouse, September 1943 (j) view of post, quarterbars and collar, September 1943 (k) as preserved with roundhouse, June 1947

BRILL, Parson's Mill, post mill; (1) NMR (WC) (a) derelict with 4 sails (2) BCRALSS (a) derelict with 4 sails (3) MOTHOS (UC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, 15th August 1901 (4) HWL (a) derelict with
stocks and damaged sails (5) WM (a) derelict with 4 sails

CHOLESBURY, smock mill (later succeeded by tower mill); (1) Wailes, ASBOWAW (a) w/o (2) NMR (WC) (a) w/o, as (1) (3) BCRALSS (a) w/o, as Wailes ASBOWAW) (4) WM (a) w/o, as Wailes

CHOLESBURY, tower mill; (1) D W Smith (a) disused with sails prior to house conversion (2) NMR (a-b) disused with no sails (c) disused with no fan and damaged sails (d) as house-converted (3) NMR (WC) (a) w/o, c1904 (4) BCRALSS (a) w/o, 1904 (b) disused with 4 sails, 1910 (c) disused with 4 sails, 1938 (d) disused with 4 sails, 1940-44 (e) as house-converted, c1950 (f-h) as house-converted, mid-late C20 (i) as house-converted, August 1986 (5) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) as house-converted, May 1973 (b) as house-converted, distant view June 1975 (6) BRO (a) brakewheel (7) HWL (a) house-converted with cap, fanstage, fan spokes and sail frames (8) WM (a) house-converted with dummy sails, 1970s or 80s (9) UOK (MC) (a-b) disused with sail frames, October 1934

COLESHILL, tower mill; (1) D W Smith (a) disused with stocks and 3 sails (2) NMR (a-f) ditto (g) disused with no sails (3) NMR (WC) (a-b) disused as in 1930s (c) brakewheel, May 1972 (4) BCRALSS (a) disused with cap, stocks and 3 sails 1937 (b) house-converted with cap and fan spokes but no sails (c-e) with new cap, fan and sail frames, 1989 (f) w/o apart from some missing shutters, 1904 (5) J Venn has photo of mill in w/o c1890 (6) HWL (a) derelict with cap, stocks, 3 sail frames and damaged fan (7) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) house-converted with cap and spokes of fantail (8) UOK (MC) (a-b) disused with stocks and 3 sails, April 1932 (c) ditto (one sail hidden by tower) October 1934 (d) disused with cap, stocks and 3 sails, May 1947

CUDDINGTON, post mill; (1) Freese (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) as Freese Freese, WAM (3) BCRALSS (a) w/o, as Freese (4) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o, 15th July 1907

EDLESBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) D W Smith (a) tower with conical roof in place of original cap (2) NMR (a-b) as D W Smith (3) NMR (WC) (a) tower with conical roof (4) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) derelict tower with conical roof gone, May 1970 (5) BCRALSS (a) derelict tower with conical roof, 1936 (b) derelict tower with conical roof, 1939 (c) tower house-converted with new conical roof, late C20 (6) Mr James Venn says there is a photo of the mill with cap and sails in Beds Record Office - not found by author on visit in 1999 (7) WM (a) as house-converted, late 1970s or 1980s (8) UOK (MC) (a) tower with conical roof, May 1947

FULMER, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) stump of tower, June 1976 (2) NMR (a) stump of tower, 1940

GREAT HORWOOD, tower mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1910 (2) Vince (WIBATC) (a) derelict with 4 sails (3) NMR (a) as Major & Watts (b) derelict with cap but no sails, August 1934 (4) BCRALSS (a) w/o, as Vince, 1910s (5) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) stump of tower roofed over and used as shed, May 1976

HADDENHAM, post mill; (1) Vince (WIBATC) (a) disused with 4 sails
(2) NMR (WC) (a) disused with 4 sails (3) de Little 2 (a) derelict with 4 sails (4) Whitney (a) derelict with 4 sails (5) BCRALSS (a) derelict with 4 sails (6) MOTHOS (UC) (a-b) disused with sails, 15th July 1907

HADDENHAM, tower mill; (1) BCRALSS (a) derelict with cap, 2 sails and fan (2) Whitney (a) w/o, 4 sails (3) MOTHOS (UC) (a) with sails temporarily removed, 15th July 1907 (b) w/o with 2 sails, 4th June 1908

HILLESDEN, home-made "utility" windmill; (1) NMR (a) derelict (b) derelict with most of superstructure and sails gone (c-d) derelict with close-up of remaining sails and superstructure (2) NMR (WC) (a) 1925 as NMR main collection (3) BCRALSS (a) detail of machin-ery, 1936 (b) derelict with three sails and outer structure still in place, 1936 (c) derelict with outer structure gone but "hub" and fragments of sails still in place, 1939 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with hub and fragments of sails still in place, July 1939

HOLMER GREEN, tower mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) w/o (2) D W Smith
(a) after partial collapse of tower, with cap and sails still in place (3) NMR (a) as D W Smith (b) wreckage, February 1934 (4) NMR (WC) (a) w/o, pre-1914 view of winding gear, 1924 (b) derelict with 4 sails but part of tower collapsed, 1929 (c) wreckage on ground after collapse, 1930 (5) BCRALSS (under Little Missenden) (a) postcard, as Vince WIBATC (6) HWL (a) w/o with woman sitting on gate in front of mill, as Vince WIBATC (b) derelict with stocks and damaged sails; front of tower not visible, had it collapsed by then? (c) cap circle, windshaft, brakewheel and other wreckage lying on ground (d) derelict with cap, stocks, and damaged sails. Front of tower has collapsed into rubble exposing interior; visible are upright shaft, stones with vats etc., gearing and bins (e) close-up of interior of upper part of tower, exposed by the collapse (f) tower almost completely collapsed, standing almost to full height on one side only; heap of wreckage in foreground includes upright shaft, wallower and curb (g) upright shaft, great spur wheel, stone nuts and stones seen through partially collapsed tower (7) WM (a) derelict with cap and damaged sails; door open and man with dog beside it (8) Wailes, ASBOWAW (a) cap frame, windshaft and brakewheel on ground after collapse (9) UOK (MC) (a-d) wreckage on ground, March 1933 (e) ruins of tower, March 1940 (8) Vince (WOBATC) w/o with woman sitting on gate in front of mill

IBSTONE, smock mill; (1) Major and Watts (a) disused and becoming derelict, with 4 sails (2) NMR (a-j) disused and becoming derelict, with 4 sails (k) after house conversion, with sails and cap restored (3) Vince (MAM) (a) view of cap and fantail after restoration, 1977 (4) Vince (WIBATC) (a) house-converted, with sails missing (5) NMR (WC) (a) derelict with cap, stocks and one damaged sail visible, 1924 (6) BCRALSS (a) house-converted, with "chimney" on cap, stocks propped up and one sail frame, 1937 (b) house converted, 1941, with cap, 3 and a half stocks and parts of sails (c) house-converted with cap and sails, c1967 (d) as house-converted, 1982: looking up at restored cap, sails and fan (e-g) restored as house conversion, 1982 (7) HWL (a) rear view, early C20, with stocks, damaged sails and fanstage visible (b) early-mid C20 after house conversion with fan and fanstage removed, stocks and damaged sails still on (8) WM (a) disused before house-conversion, as HWL (b) house-converted, as HWL (9) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) surrounded by scaffolding for rep-airs, August 1975 (b) house-converted without sails, June 1976 (10) Vince 1968 (a) with sails and fantail added for film "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang" (11) UOK (MC) (a-b) house-converted with stocks and fragments of sails, August 1935 (12) MOTHOS (UC) (a-b) disused with stocks and two damaged sails, August 1912

IVINGHOE, Pitstone Green, post mill; (1) D W Smith (a) derelict with one stock and fragments of one sail (2) NMR (a) as derelict, 1936 (b) as derelict, Sept 1937 (c) derelict as above, n.d. (d-h) as preserved, with mock sails (i) after repairs, but with remains of original sails still on (j-n) as preserved (f) as preserved, with men working on sails (g) view of spout floor (h) brakewheel, windshaft and sack hoist (i) brakewheel, windshaft, wallower and stones (j) stone nut, great spur wheel and tentering gear (k) windshaft, wallower and stones (l) wire machine (m) governors, upper part of main post and tentering gear (n) wallower, brakewheel and exposed bedstone (3) Freese (a) 1627 date (4) Vince (WIBATC) (a-b) as preserved (5) NMR (WC) (a) view of post and spout floor, July 1971 (b-c) substructure, July 1971 (d) derelict, 1930s (e-f) as preserved, July 1971 (g) brakewheel, sackhoist and drive to stones, July 1971 (6) David Wray, Pitstone Windmill guide book c1970 (a) derelict with stock and fragments of one sail, 1935 (b) under restoration, Easter 1966: new sails being fitted (c) wind-shaft, brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft and two pairs of stones (d) spout floor with main post, great spur wheel and tentering gear (e) after restoration, with sails covered with canvas and being turned (7) Tring and District In Old Picture Postcards, David and Joan Hay, European Library 1983 (a) derelict with stocks and sail fragments, early to mid-C20 (8) HWL (a-b) derelict, 1930s (9) Reynolds (a) 1627 date (b) mill as preserved (c) moulded base of main post (d) as preserved, middle distance (e) brakewheel and windshaft (10) Vince 1981 (a) as preserved (11) Vince 1993 (a) as preserved (12) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) as preserved, May 1970 (13) Vince 1977 (a) as preserved (14) Vince 1984 (a) as preserved (15) Vince 1968 (a) nearing completion of repairs, 1960s, with small mock sails still on and some scaffolding still up (16) UOK (MC) (a) with boarding tidied up and one stock with fragments of sails, April 1931 (17) photo of mill in w/o early C20 exists somewhere according to J Venn - needs investigation

LACEY GREEN, smock mill; (1) D W Smith (a) w/o (2) Vince (WIBATC)
(a) great spur wheel (b) w/o (c-d) derelict, 1964 (3) NMR (a) windmill carvings on door (b) as D W Smith (c-e) derelict, 1934
following repairs, August 1935, 2 sails only (g) following repairs in 1930s, with 4 sails (h-k) derelict again, 1960s, with cap and one sail only (4) Shillingford (a) brakewheel and windshaft on ground during restoration, 1970s (b) view of poll end during restoration (5) Freese (a) governors and stone nut (6) Vince (MAM) (a) wallower (b) smock tower with cap and surviving sail removed and covered with sheeting and scaffolding during repairs (7) UOK (DWM) (a-c) after repairs, March 1940 (8) Wailes (SWF) (a) great spur wheel (9) NMR (WC) (a) preserved, 1925, as D W Smith (10) BCRALSS (a) w/o, 1904 (b) w/o, c1910, as Vince (c) w/o, August 1910 (d) w/o, late C19/early C20 (11) MOTHOS (UC) (captioned Loosley Row) (a) w/o (b-e) w/o, 20th August 1912 (12) HWL (a) disused with sails in poor condition, but with some evidence of repair, 1920s/30s? (b-c) derelict with 2 sails, 1920s/30s (d) with 4 sails (slightly damaged) and fan after restoration and conversion to cottage in 1930s (e) windmill carvings on walls (13) Reynolds (a) wallower (b) wallower and brake wheel (14) Vince 1993 (a) as restored, 1980s/90s (15) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) derelict with one sail, May 1971 (b) derelict with one sail, July 1971 (16) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter July 1991 (a) brakewheel and wallower (b) stone nut and lever for moving it into gear (c) sack hoist (17) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, March 1934 (c) derelict with 2 sails, October 1934 (d-e) with 2 sails and boarding patched, August 1935 (f-h) ditto, March 1940 (i) neck of windshaft, March 1940 (j) wallower, March 1940 (k) windshaft, March 1940 (l) great spur wheel, March 1940 (m) derelict with 2 sails, August 1946

LONG CRENDON, post mill; (1) D W Smith (a) derelict with stocks and remains of sails (2) BCRALSS (a) post and trestle of mill during demolition (b) derelict with stocks and remains of sails (c) ditto, at earlier date than (b) (d) ditto, mill in middle distance (3) NMR (WC) (a) derelict with stocks and remains of sails, 1927, as shown in D W Smith (4) Warner (a) derelict with stocks and remains of 3 sails (5) MOTHOS (UC) (a-b) derelict with stocks and fragments of 3 sails, 4th July 1903 (c) derelict with stocks and fragments of 3 sails, 4th July 1907 (6) WM (a) very derelict with stocks and damaged sails

LONG CRENDON, tower mill; (1) BCRALSS (a) w/o (2) Warner (a) w/o (3) MOTHOS (UC) (a-b) w/o except for missing fan, 4th July 1907

NEW BRADWELL, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) derelict with 2 sails, March 1973 (b) as preserved, May 1976 (2) Vince (MAM) (a) as preserved (3) Vince (WIBATC) (a) as preserved (b) A C Smith making notes outside mill (4) NMR (a) derelict with cap and remains of sails, April 1934 (b-c) ditto, July 1933 (d) after repairs, with mock sails fitted, 1939 (e-h) as preserved (5) NMR (WC) (a) as preserved with cap and 4 sails, 1965 (b) cullin and French runner stones, June 1970 (c) ditto, and stone nut, June 1970 (d) derelict with cap and 2 sails, June 1970 (e-g) detail of stonework, July 1971 (h) winding gear, June 1976 (i) governors, June 1976 (j) brakewheel and windshaft (k) winding gear, June 1970 (6) booklet on mill in its file at the National Monuments Record, with many photographs (7) BCRALSS (a-b) preserved with 4 sails (c) preserved with 4 sails, mid-C20 (d) preserved with cap and sails, mid-late C20 (e) preserved with cap and stocks (and 2 sails?), mid-late C20 (f-j) preserved with cap and sails, late C20 (k) preserved, late C20, mid-distance (l) preserved with cap and sails, but cap collap-sing, mid-C20 (m) view of mill and canal, with mill in middle distance, 1960s (n) distant view, with 4 sails (under STANTONBURY)

NORTH MARSTON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) preserved stump of tower
(2) BCRALSS (a) w/o, 1870s (b) preserved stump of tower (3) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) stump of tower with conical roof, June 1975 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) stump, September 1943

QUAINTON, tower mill; (1) Vince (WIBATC) (a) disused with cap and 4 sails but no fan, c1920 (2) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) derelict with cap and half of one stock, May 1972 (b) derelict with cap (stock not visible), May 1972 (3) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails (b) derel-ict with 3 sails (c) derelict with one sail, July 1934 (d-i) derel-ict with one sail (4) BCRALSS (a-b) derelict with cap and 4 sails, c1900 (b) derelict with 4 sails, April 1910 (a) derelict with cap and one sail, c1930 (e) derelict with cap and one sail, mid-distance (5) HWL (a) derelict with 3 sails (b) derelict with 3 sails (lower part of tower obscured by other building and angle from which photo taken) (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with one sail, March 1932 (b) derelict with one sail, July 1939

QUAINTON, Station Road post mill; (1) MOTHOS (UC) (a) disused with no sails, 22nd August 1907 (captioned Quainton Road)

STEWKLEY, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) base as store, August 1934 (2) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) surviving base, May 1976 (3) NMR (WC) (a) w/o with cap and sails (4) BCRALSS (a) w/o with sails, c1915 (b) miller holding up framed photo of mill in working order (c) roofed-over base (d) cap and sails peeping above head on left side of picture (5) book on old photos of Stewkley in BCRALSS (a) w/o with sails (6) HWL (a) w/o with sails

STOKENCHURCH, post mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) derelict with 4 sails (2) Foreman (a) with 2 sails (3) BCRALSS (a) with 2 sails, 1904 (b-c) wreckage after collapse, 1935 (4) MOTHOS (UC) (a) disused with 2 sails, 15th July 1907, as Foreman (5) HWL (a) w/o, with farm workers in field in foreground (6) WM (a) w/o, as HWL (7) UOK (MC) (a) post still standing but leaning, with other wreckage on ground, April 1932 (b-d) ditto, August 1935 (e-f) surviving piers, January 1949

STONE, post mill; (1) BCRALSS (a) without sails (these had been removed for repairs according to J Venn), c1900

THORNBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) stump of tower, June 1935 (2) A C Smith (WIBAO) (a) stump of tower with conical roof, June 1975

TWYFORD, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict, with cap frame and winding wheel, July 1934 (2) BCRALSS (a) derelict with cap frame and winding wheel (3) MOTHOS (UC) (a) disused with cap and sails, early C20 (4) UOK (MC) (a) tower with cap frame and winding wheel, July 1939 (b) tower with cap frame (winding wheel not visible), July 1939

WADDESDON, tower mill; (1) D W Smith (a) derelict with 4 sails
(2) NMR (a) w/o (3) BCRALSS (a) w/o, 1902 (4) Robert Cook, "Around Aylesbury", Alan Sutton 1995 (a) w/o (5) HWL (a) w/o (6) WM (a) as D W Smith (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with four sails

WENDOVER, tower mill; (1) de Little (a) with cap and cross but no sails (2) Vince (WIBATC) (a) house-converted without sails (3) BCRALSS (a) w/o (b) with cap and 4 sail frames, c1900 (3 men are shown in the photo, each standing in front of an open doorway (one on stage), suggesting the mill is still used in some capacity) (c) with cap and 4 sail frames, 1904 (d) internal view showing tail end of windshaft (e) distant view, w/o? (f) house-converted without or sails, distant view April 1917 (g) house-converted with cap, mid-late C20 (4) NMR (a) before house-conversion with no sails, December 1933 (b-c) as house-converted (5) A C Smith (a-b) as house-converted with cap, April 1976 (6) UOK (MC) (a) as house-converted, March 1932 (b) as house-converted, October 1934

CAMBRIDGESHIRE
(including former county of Huntingdonshire and the Soke of Peterborough)

ALCONBURY, post mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, May 1934 (2) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with stocks and 3 sails, May 1934 (b) derelict, May 1934, with one stock and one sail visible (c-d) wreckage on ground, including windshaft, brake- and tailwheels, August 1937 (3) Tebbutt (a) derelict with 4 sails

ARRINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) stump of tower, higher than in Smith and with domed roof (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) stump of tower, September 1971 (3) CCL (a-b) w/o, pre-1926 (4) UOK (MC) (a) stump, higher than in Smith), June 1934 (b) stump, higher than in Smith, July 1935 (5) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

ASHLEY, smock mill; (1) A C Smith (WIC) (a) foundations, October 1971 (2) NMR (under Dalham, Suffolk) (a) w/o, Sept 1932 (b) derel-ict with cap and fan, March 1934 (3) NMR (WC) (a) w/o (4) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with cap and fan, 1938 (under Dalham, Suffolk) (5) CCL (a-b) w/o (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with cap, June 1935

BALSHAM, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o, late C19/early C20 (b-c) disused with 2 sails (2) Blythman (a) derelict with 2 sails
(3) CCL (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1928 (4) CRO (a) w/o (5) SWM (a) w/o (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, August 1933 (b) derelict with 2 sails, June 1936 (c-d) derelict with 2 sails, June 1954

BARNACK, post mill; (1) Stainwright (a-b) w/o (2) WG (a) w/o, apart from some shutters missing or damaged (also shows tower mill)

BARNACK, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) disused 1935, with stocks and original cap (b) in similar condition to 1935 but with one whip broken, 1950 (c) preserved with stocks and replacement cap, 1972 (d) close-up view of cap, fan cradle and fantail mechanism (e) brake wheel (f) great spur wheel (g) great spur wheel and drive shafts (h) part of stone floor with spur wheel, stone nut, quant and one pair of stones (i) brake wheel (p17) (2) NMR (a) as Stainwright, Sept 1932 (b) as Stainwright but part of one stock missing (3) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) as preserved with no sail frames, September 1972 (4) Stevens (a) great spur wheel (b) preserved with stocks (5) WG (a) w/o, in background (post mill in foreground) (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with original cap and stocks, June 1935

BARRINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-e) derelict with 4 sails
(f) ditto, Sept 1947 (g) derelict with 4 sails but cap on point of collapse (h) brakewheel (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) the house-converted tower, June 1970 (3) CCL (a) derelict with 4 sails (4) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter October 1987 (a) derelict with 4 sails
(5) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter January 1987 (a) derelict with 4 sails (not then identified as Barrington) (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, April 1933 (b) derelict with 4 sails, July 1935 (c-d) derelict with 4 sails, July 1950

BARWAY, Harrimere Mill, smock windpump; (1) Proceedings of the 16th Mills Research Group Conference, March 2000 (a) w/o

BASSINGBOURN, post mill; (1) Bernard O'Connor, "The Dinosaurs Of Bassingbourn Fen: The Story Of The Coprolite Industry Around Bassingbourn", the author 1999 (a) w/o, c1880-90

BASSINGBOURN, tower (or smock?) mill (1); (1) O'Connor, as post mill (a) w/o, c1880-90

BASSINGBOURN, tower (or smock?) mill (2); (1) O'Connor, as post mill (a) w/o, with 2 sails (though one appears to be without shutters), c1880-90

BENWICK, Moore's Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails (2) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 2 sails, August 1934 (b) stump of tower, July 1950

BENWICK, Turf Fen smock windpump; (1) NMR (a-b) without cap but with sails, tailpole and scoop wheel, taken 1920-32

BENWICK, skeleton-type drainage mill; (1) Tebbutt (a) apparently intact with sails, windshaft and brakewheel, cap gone (if mill ever had one)

BENWICK, Whittlesey Dike, smock windpump; (1) UOK (MC) (a) base and truncated smock converted to house, August 1934

BLUNTISHAM, Wood End, tower mill; (1) Wailes (WIC) (a) w/o (2) CCL (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (3) C F Tebbutt, "The History Of Bluntisham and Earith", n.f.d. has a photograph of this mill. A copy of the book has not yet been located (4) Tebbutt (HW) (a) disused with 4 sails

BLUNTISHAM, Town Mill, post mill; (1) NMR (WC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, pre-1899 (when mill pulled down) (2) Tebbutt (HW) (a) derelict with four sails (3) Tebbutt (as Wood End) (a) derelict with 4 sails

BOROUGH GREEN, Six Mile Bottom post mill; (1) de Little (a) derelict with one sail, probably 1960s (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with one sail, May 1972 (3) Blythman (a) derelict with one sail, c1970 (b) as preserved, 1988 (4) NMR (a-d) disused, with stocks and one sail (5) Wailes (DSW) (a) tail wheel, windshaft and sackhoist (6) UOM (JRL) (a-b) disused with stocks and 2 sail frames, 1938 (7) SMS (HC) (a) one pair of sails down to stocks, otherwise w/o (8) Stevens (a) windshaft, brakewheel, stone nut and one pair of stones (b) as restored, mid-1980s (9) UOK (MC) (a-b) disused with stocks and 2 sails, August 1933 (c-d) disused with stocks and 2 sails, May 1934

BOURN, post mill; (1) NMR (a-j) as preserved (k-l) as preserved, rear view (m) view of spout floor (n-o) windshaft, brakewheel and one pair of stones (p) brake lever and part of gearwheel (q-r) view of trestle (2) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) as preserved, mid-C20 (3) A C Smith (WIC) (a) as preserved, May 1975 (4) Hills (a) brakewheel, windshaft and stone nut (b) as preserved, January 1974 (5) CCL (a) w/o (6) Wailes (WIE) (a) preserved (7) Reynolds (a-b) w/o (c) view of trestle (d) brakewheel, stone nut, quant and one pair of stones (e) governor (8) Vince 1993 (a) as preserved (9) Gregory and Wright (a) as preserved (10) Coles Finch (a) as preserved (11) Vince 1968 (1st edition 1960s) (a) as preserved (12) Stevens (a) as preserved (13) Wailes (WIC) (a) preserved (14) Vince 1973 (a) as preserved (15) UOK (MC) (a-c) as preserved, April 1933 (d-e) as preserved, June 1934 (f-h) as preserved, August 1934

BUCKDEN, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) house-converted stump, May 1974 (2) Tebbutt (a) house-converted stump, 1938

BURWELL, Adventurer's Fen (Spinney Mill), smock windpump; (1) NMR
(a-c) w/o (d) w/o (distant view)

BURWELL, Adventurer's Fen (Marsh Mill), smock windpump; (1) NMR
(a) derelict but with cap, sails, tailpole and scoop wheel

BURWELL, Adventurer's Fen (the later Wicken Fen mill; (1) NMR
(a) w/o (b) w/o (men working on damaged sail) (c) main timbers of "smock" only standing (2) Wailes (WIC) (a) w/o (men working on one sail and mill apparently being repainted) (3) NMR (WC) (a-b) derelict with 3 sails (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, June 1935

BURWELL, North Mill (Busy Bee) smock mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o
(b) complete except for 2 missing sail frames (2) UOM (JRL) (a) as NMR, 1937 (3) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b) w/o with 2 sails down to stock, May 1934 (4) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

BURWELL, Stevens' Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) w/o (c-d) derelict with sails, 1960 (e) view of dust floor with wallower, brakewheel and upright shaft (2) de Little (a) disused with sails, shortly after ceasing work (1950s) (3) Blythman (a) derelict with four sails, 1970 (b) under repair, 1977, with one stock and cap spars covered with canvas (c) under repair, 1978, with new cap just completed (4) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, May 1971 (5) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, 1937 (6) de Little 2 (a) view of patent
sails, 1990s (b) w/o with 2 sails, 1990s (7) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (8) Stevens (a) preserved with cap and one stock, 1970s/80s (9) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b) w/o, w/o, June 1954 (10) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

BURWELL, Big Mill, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIC) (a) base with thatched roof, May 1973 (2) CCL (a) base with thatched roof

CAMBRIDGE, New Chesterton, French's Mill, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with cap (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with cap, May 1974 (3) NMR (WC) (a) w/o (4) CCL (a) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) disused with cap, April 1933 (6) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

CAMBRIDGE, New Chesterton, Milton Road, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) capless tower (2) CCL (a) w/o, distant view (b-d) tower with conical roof (3) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, April 1933 (b) capless tower, August 1934

CAMBRIDGE, Trumpington, tower mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) w/o, c1880 (2) CCL (a) w/o

CASTLE CAMPS, post mill; (1) CRO (a) derelict with no sails
(NOTE: this is probably the same mill as Horseheath)

CASTOR, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) derelict with broken stocks, early C20 (b) capless tower, 1988 (2) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) capless tower, September 1972

CHATTERIS, White Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) capless tower (2) CCL (a) capless tower, catalogue number PM Cha K32 filed at Y.Cha K32 18731 (can only be viewed on monitor)

CHATTERIS, Doddington Road tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with damaged sails

CHATTERIS, Ferry Hill smock mill, aka Black Mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict but in fair condition, with cap but no sails (b) wreckage only (2) UOK (MC) (here called South Mill) (a) derelict with no sails, August 1934 (3) CCL (a) derelict with cap, catalogue number PM Cha.K32, filed at Y.Cha K32 18732

CHATTERIS, Station Street smock mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with no sails (still at work by engine?) (2) UOM (JRL) (a) as NMR, 1938 (3) CCL (a) not yet inspected: catalogue number PM Cha K1 33277. Here called Jennings' or Larratt's Mill (4) R Goodger, "Chatteris In Old Picture Postcards", 1986, not yet inspected

CHATTERIS, Bulls Pump smock windpump; (1) Goodger and Spooner (a) w/o

CHATTERIS There is a further reference to a Chatteris windmill at the CCL (PM Cha K35 filed at Y.Cha K35 18734), which I have not yet inspected. A not on the card index reads "the mill only about 30 years old"

CHIPPENHAM, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) base with shortened smock
(2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) base with shortened smock, May 1974 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) base with shortened smock, 1937 (4) UOK (MC) (a) base with shortened smock, March 1934

CHRISTCHURCH, Upwell, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap and fantail

CHRISTCHURCH, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap, sails and tailpole (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with cap, sails and tailpole, June 1936 (here called 16-Foot Drain Mill)

CHRISTCHURCH, Lavender's Mill, smock mill; (1) CCL (a) disused with cap

CHRISTCHURCH, Key's Mill, smock windpump; (1) CCL (a) w/o

COATES, Bedford's Mill, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIC) (a) stump of tower, August 1973 (2) CCL (a) w/o (3) UOK (MC) (a) stump, July 1950

COATES, Barn Mill (smock type); (1) Proceedings Of 15th Mills Research Conference 1999 (a) w/o, c1900

CONINGTON FEN, smock windpump; (1) Proceedings of the 16th Mills Research Group Conference, March 2000 (a) w/o

COTTENHAM, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) tower with water tank (2) A C Smith (a) tower with water tank, September 1972 (3) photo shown at SMS Windmill Meeting, with 12 sails (4) CCL (a) with 12 sails, but some damaged/dislodged after gale (5) UOK (MC) (a) tower with water tank, August 1937

COTTENHAM, Rampton Road, smock mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o

COTTENHAM, Church End, smock mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o

DODDINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) w/o (c-d) disused with sails (2) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, 1938 (3) Goodger and Spooner (a) w/o, 1930s (4) A C Smith (WIC) (a) stump of tower, May 1972 (5) WG (a) w/o (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, August 1934

DOWNHAM, Little Street tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) derelict with cap frame (c) capless tower (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) capless tower, July 1973 (3) CCL (a) w/o (b) w/o (middle distance)

DOWNHAM, Black Bank windpump; (1) NMR (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, 1934 (c) derelict with one sail, 1947

EARITH, New Mill, smock or tower mill (not clear from photo); (1) Blythman (a) w/o (photo supplied by Ms Sutton)

EASTREA, smock mill; (1) CCL (a) surviving base

ELLINGTON, post mill (later moved to Madingley); (1) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, Aug 1933 (b) derelict with 4 sails, July 1935 (c) roundhouse after dismantling of body prior to removal
(2) SMS (photo album) (a) disused with 4 sails (3) No.M (a) derelict with 4 sails (b) w/o (middle distance), tinted postcard (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, April 1933 (c) derelict, April 1933: close-up of side of mill (d-e) derelict with 4 sails, July 1935 (f) roundhouse after removal of body, August 1935 (5) Tebbutt (a) derelict with 4 sails

ELSWORTH, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) the house-converted tower (2) CCL (a) w/o (3) A C Smith (WIC) (a) house-converted tower, May 1975 (4) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, June 1934

ELSWORTH, smock mill; (1) CCL (a) disused with cap and fan (b) ditto, August 1929 (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) disused with cap and fan, June 1934 (c-e) disused with cap and fan, January 1943

ELY, Downham Road smock mill; (1) MNR (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with sails (d-e) derelict with cap (f-g) derelict with no sails or cap and smock leaning badly (2) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, 1936 (3) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, May 1934 (c) w/o, August 1935 (4) A C Smith (WIC) (a) ruined base, July 1973

ELY, City Mills, tower mill; (1) SPAB Mills Section (a) w/o, c1910
(2) Ely Museum, The Old Gaol, Market Street, Ely (a) w/o

ELY, Cobbins' Mill, tower mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o

ELY, Ely Common, Barway smock windpump; (1) NMR (WC) (a) w/o

ELY, Overfall Mill, smock windpump; (1) Proceedings of the 14th Mill Research Conference, published November 1998 (a) w/o, c1880

ELY A photograph of St John's Road windmill, Ely, appears in Holmes and Rouse, "Ely, Cathedral City and Market Town " 1900-53 no 27 c.44.3 (Catalogue No PM.Ely K1 10147). I have not yet had time to check this out

EYE, tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) w/o with 8 sails (b) with only 4 sails (c) tower only, 1968 (d) stump of tower, 1980 (2) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o with 8 sails (3) NMR (a-c) w/o with 4 sails (d) with sails and fan gone (4) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) stump of tower, September 1972 (5) BCL (a) w/o with 8 sails, 1905 (6) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o with 4 sails, 1928 (7) UOK (MC) (a) w/o with 4 sails, April 1931 (b) w/o with 4 sails, August 1934 (c-d) with no sails, July 1950

EYE GREEN, smock mill; (1) Stainwright (a) derelict with cap, late 1930s (2) NMR (a) derelict with cap (b) derelict with one stock (clipping from Country Life 26/1/29) (3) UOM (JRL) derelict with one stock (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with cap, August 1934

FEN DRAYTON, smock mill; (1) CCL (a-b) disused with 2 sails

FENSTANTON, post mill; (1) NMR (a-b) derelict, with no sails and buck in skeleton condition (2) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) ruined roundhouse, August 1976 (b) main post on ground, August 1976 (3) NMR (WC) (a) w/o (b) detail of post and trestle (4) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with no sails and buck in skeleton condition, 1937 (captioned Hemingford Grey) (5) Wailes (SWF) (a) upper portion of post and pintle on ground (6) CCL (a) w/o (b) derelict with no sails (7) No.M (a-b) w/o (8) UOK (MC) (a-b) in skeleton condition with windshaft, April 1933 (c-d) in skeleton condition with windshaft, May 1934 (e) in skeleton condition with windshaft, January 1943 (f-h) roundhouse, steps, crowntree and a few timbers of body only remaining, July 1950 (i) ditto, July 1954 (j) view inside roundhouse showing post, crosstrees, and piers, July 1954
(9) Tebbutt (a) derelict with no sails, 1925 (b) in skeleton condition with windshaft, 1933

FORDHAM, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with half of one stock visible (as in my postcard) (b) derelict, with one stock and cap in poor state (2) Blythman (a) disused with half of one stock visible (postcard) (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with cap and one stock, 1938 (4) CCL (a-b) w/o (5) Proceedings Of 15th Mills Research Conference published March 1999 (a) w/o (6) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap and one stock, June 1936 (b) disused with one stock and collapsing cap, August 1958

FULBOURN, smock mill; (1) de Little (a) derelict with sails, c1970 (2) NMR (a-d) derelict with 4 sails (e) derelict with 4 sails, distant view (f-g) w/o (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, 1937 (4) Proceed-ings Of The 15th Mills Research Conference published March 1999 (a) w/o, c1900 (5) SWM (a) w/o (6) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, May 1972 (7) Fulbourn Windmill guide by T H Simms, c1980 (a) with boarding of smock repaired but derelict sails still on, c1980 (b) stone floor showing the three pairs of stones and their furniture (c) w/o, 1936 (8) Stevens (a) derelict with four sails (9) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b) w/o, June 1935 (c) w/o, August 1935 (d) w/o, November 1936 (e) derelict with 4 sails, May 1950 (f) detail of cap and fantail, May 1950 (g-h) derelict with 4 sails, June 1954

GAMLINGAY, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with cap (b) disused, with cap, smock starting to lean (c) derelict with windshaft in place (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with windshaft, May 1970 (3) CCL (a-c) w/o (d) derelict with cap (4) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap and smock starting to lean, August 1933 (b) ditto, May 1934

GAMLINGAY, post mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o

GOREFIELD, smock mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o (2) UOK (MC) (a) capless smock tower, June 1934

GREAT CHISHILL, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (2) NMR (a-j) w/o (k) as preserved, post-1966 (3) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o, middle distance (4) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (on front of dust jacket of 1970s reprint) (5) Wailes (WIC) (a) w/o (6) HM (a) w/o, middle distance (7) Col.l (a-b) w/o (c) w/o (shows lower part of body with trestle timbers and fantail; part of sail visible) (8) Reynolds (a) drive to ladder wheels from fan (9) A C Smith (WIC) (a) as preserved, September 1970 (10) Vince 1981 (a) as preserved (11) Vince 1993 (a) tailwheel and stone nut (b) governors, spout and flour bin (12) Buckland (a) close-up of fantail, 11 June 1960 (13) Alderton and Booker (a) as preserved (14) Gregory and Wright (a) as preserved (15) Vince 1968 (a) as preserved (16) Stevens (a) as preserved (b) tentering gear and supporting frame (17) Vince 1984 (a) tailwheel and stone nut (b) governor, spout and flour bin (18) Vince 1973 (a) as preserved (19) UOK (MC) (a-c) w/o, August 1933 (d) detail of fan, August 1933 (e) w/o, July 1936 (f-g) w/o, January 1941 (h) lower buck, trestle and ladder, July 1936 (i-j) cart loading beside steps, January 1941 (k) miller Mr Pegram in doorway, January 1941 (l) hand gearing on fan, January 1941 (m) fan gearing (automatic), January 1941 (n) view of fan and rear extension, July 1950 (o-r) w/o, July 1950 (s) detail of trestle, July 1950 (20) NCL (RW) (a) w/o (21) P Unwin, "Old Windmills Of Chishill", The Ely Resource and Technology Centre 1977 (a) w/o, 1892, before fitting addition of extension and corrugated iron sheeting (b) w/o, 1916 (sheeting still not added) (c) w/o, 1936 (d) derelict with four sails, 1965 (e) restoration in progress, 1966, with corrugated sheeting still on (f) as (e) but showing new sails on ground awaiting fitting (g) as preserved (h) view of trestle (i) view of fantail (j) view of sail frame and spider (k) view of spout floor showing post (l) fan carriage and steps (m) headstones (n) windshaft, brakewheel and stone nut (o) tailstone and tailwheel

GREAT GIDDING, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) tower with conical roof (2) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) capless tower, May 1974 (3) UOK (MC) (a) tower with conical roof, June 1935 (4) Tebbutt (a) tower with conical roof, 1933 (caption transposed with that for Upwood mill)

GREAT GRANSDEN, post mill; (1) Stainwright (a) undergoing restoration (2) NMR (a-h) preserved (i) rear door, ladder and steps
(j-n) internal views (3) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) derelict with stocks, August 1972 (b) derelict but with props erected to support body, August 1976 (4) Victorian and Edwardian Huntingdon and Peterborough, Batsford Books (1970s, author unknown) (a) w/o (5)
CCL (a) derelict with 4 sails (6) Gregory and Wright (a) as restored, late C20 (7) Stevens (a) as preserved (8) UOK (MC) (a-d) disused with stocks, June 1934 (e-g) disused with stocks, August 1934 (h-k) disused with stocks (half of one missing), July 1954 (9) Tebbutt (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1914

GREAT WILBRAHAM, smock mill; (1) CCL (a-b) w/o (2) SWM (a) w/o, c1915

GUILDEN MORDEN, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with windshaft, September 1971 (2) Blythman (a) capless tower, June 1996 (3) SMS (photo album) (a) derelict with 2 sails (from Cambridge Times 21.8.1931) (4) CCL (a-c) derelict with 2 sails (5) CRO (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, 1931 (c) derelict with 2 sails, 1935 (6) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails and collapsed cap, June 1934

HADDENHAM, Setchell's Mill, tower mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o (caption says, "in Dunn, Windmills Of The Isle Of Ely")

HADDENHAM, Great Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) w/o (c) disused with four sails (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with cap, September 1972 (3) Blythman (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, 1979 (b) as restored, 1996 (4) Wailes (WIC) (a) w/o (5) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, 1936 (6) Stevens (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (7) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o, c2000 (8) Wailes (DSW) (a) great spur wheel and stone nut (9) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, March 1934 (b-c) disused with sails, July 1950 (10) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

HARSTON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) surviving base (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) surviving base, May 1972 (3) CCL (a) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a) sur-viving base, June 1935

HEMINGFORD GREY, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-c) w/o (d) disused with cap (e) derelict with cap (partly collapsed) (2) Smith (WIHAP) (a) capless tower, June 1971 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap, 1937 (4) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, April 1933 (b-c) w/o apart from some damaged shutters, June 1935 (d) derelict with cap, January 1943 (e) derel-ict with cap, July 1950 (5) Tebbutt (a) w/o, 1930

HILDERSHAM, tower mill (1) NMR (a-b) derelict with cap (2) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o (in book of cuttings) (3) CCL (a) derelict with cap (4) A C Smith (WIC) (a) capless tower only, July 1970 (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, November 1936

HISTON, smock mill; (1) AC Smith (WIC) (a) disused with stocks, June 1970 (2) UOM (JRL) (a) as above, 1938 (3) Stevens (a) preserved with stocks (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) preserved with stocks, June 1934 (c) preserved with stocks, August 1934 (d) preserved with stocks, August 1937

HOLYWELL, post mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) disused with 4 sails
(2) NMR (a) derelict with two sails (b) trestle and wreckage, June 1939 after collapse (3) Smith (WIHAP) (a) surviving brick piers and foundations, May 1974 (4) NMR (WC) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, 1931 (c) detail of cullen stone (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, April 1933 (c-d) derelict with 2 sails, May 1934 (e) view of trestle, lower body, steps and part of one sail, May 1934 (f-g) trestle, steps leaning against it, and wreckage on ground, November 1943 (6) CCL (a) derelict with 2 sails (under Needingsworth) (7) Tebbutt (a) derelict with 2 sails

HORSEHEATH, post mill; (1) CRO (a) derelict with no sails (photocopy, in "Horseheath: some recollections of a Cambridgeshire parish", by Catherine E Parsons 1952 - typewritten manuscript, apparently unpublished, note inside says original now deposited at CRO) (2) CCL (a) derelict with no sails, middle distance

HOUGHTON, Black Eagle Mill, post mill; (1) NMR (WC) (a) w/o

ICKLETON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) the house-converted tower
(2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) the house-converted tower, September 1970
(3) UOK (MC) (a) house-converted tower, August 1933 (b) house-converted tower, June 1935

ICKLETON, smock mill (1) SWM (according to RWS who supplied photos) (a) derelict with cap (2) ERO (FC) (under GREAT CHESTERFORD) (a) derelict with cap (b-c) derelict with cap, c1908 (3) Col.l (a) disused with 2 sails, middle distance (captioned Great Chesterford)
ISLEHAM, smock windpump; (1) NMR (a) w/o, c1914 (2) Hills (a) w/o

KNEESWORTH, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIC) (a) castellated tower, May 1970

LEVERINGTON, post mill; (1) NMR (a) wreckage

LEVERINGTON, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) house-converted smock tower

LINTON see Hadstock, Essex

LITTLE PAXTON, smock mill; (1) drawing in Tebbutt, caption of which states it was done from a photograph

LITTLEPORT, Ten Mile Bank, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap (2) UOM (JRL) (a-c) disused with 2 sails, 1936 (3) CCL (a) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with cap, July 1950

LITTLEPORT, Canham's Mill, smock mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o, pre-1912 (2) Proceedings Of 15th Mills Research Group Conference published March 1999 (a) w/o, c1907 (b) under demolition, c1912

LITTLE WILBRAHAM, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-e) w/o (f-h) derelict with damaged sails (i) view of machinery lying on ground outside mill, having been removed prior to house conversion (j) windshaft and brakewheel, seen from below looking up (2) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, 1937 (3) SWM (a) w/o, c1915 (4) A C Smith (WIC) (a) house-converted with stocks, June 1970 (5) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, March 1933 (b-c) w/o, June 1935 (d-f) derelict with 4 sails, June 1954

MADINGLEY, original post mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) in extreme decay, but with stocks and fragments of sails still on, 1909 (2) NMR (a) as Major and Watts (b) a few timbers remaining on site, August 1935 (3) CCL (a) w/o, 1885 (from Independent Press And Chronicle, 6th September 1935)

MADINGLEY, later post mill from Ellington; (1) de Little (a) brake wheel and wallower, showing staggered teeth (b) as preserved (2) NMR (a) as preserved (b) as preserved, September 1946 (3) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, June 1970 (4) Blythman (a) derel-ict with 3 sails, August 1979 (5) Stevens (a) derelict with 4 sails (6) UOK (MC) (a) as preserved after rebuilding, November 1936 (b) as preserved, January 1943 (7) Tebbutt (a) just after rebuilding, with men working on one sail, 1935

MANEA, tower mill; (1) CRO (a) w/o (2) CCL (a-b) w/o (3) Goodger and Spooner (a) w/o

MARCH, Billitt's Mill, Burrowmoor Road, tower mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o (2) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

MARCH, Peas Hill, Southwell's Mill, smock mill; (1) CCL (a) derelict with 4 sails (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) surviving base, May 1972

OAKINGTON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with cap (2) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap, 1938 (3) SMS (photo albums) (a) w/o (4) CCL (a) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with cap, April 1933 (c) derel-ict with cap, August 1934 (6) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

OLD WESTON, post mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, August 1933 (c-e) derelict with 4 sails, May 1934 (3) Tebbutt (a) derelict with 4 sails

OUTWELL, Shepherd's Mill, smock mill; (1) SMS (photo album) (a) w/o (from "Isle Of Ely and Wisbech Advertiser" 15.4.36)

OVER, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-c) derelict with 4 sails (d) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 sails (2) Wailes (USIW) (a) four-jaw coupling for upright shaft (3) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, 1938 (4) de Little 2 (a) w/o with 4 sails, 1990s (5) SMS (a) derelict with 4 sails, windshaft and brakewheel, 1958 (6) A C Smith (WIC) (a) w/o with 2 sails, August 1972 (7) Stevens (a) w/o with 2 sails, late C20 (8) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, August 1934 (c) derelict with 4 sails, July 1950

PARSON DROVE, smock mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o

PETERBOROUGH, Fengate post mill; (1) Stainwright (a-b) w/o (c) w/o (reproduction from newspaper cutting) (d) wreckage after fire, 1919 (reproduction from newspaper cutting) (2) NMR (a-b) w/o

PETERBOROUGH, Millfield, 6-sailed tower mill; (1) Stainwright
(a) w/o, c1900 (b) w/o (c) capless tower, August 1934 (2) NMR (a) w/o (3) WG (a-b) disused with 2 sails (4) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1934

PETERBOROUGH, New Fletton tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) capless tower, 1934 (2) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) capless tower, August 1973 (3) UOK (MC) (a) capless tower, August 1934

PETERBOROUGH, Werrington tower mill; (1) Stainwright (a) w/o
(b) w/o with 2 sails (c) derelict with cap, August 1934 (d) tower preserved, 1988 (2) NMR (a) w/o with 4 sails (b) w/o with 2 sails (c) derelict with cap, August 1934 (3) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) capless tower, September 1972 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1934

PRICKWILLOW, Burnt Fen, Whitetop smock drainage mill; (1) CCL (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, most boarding gone (2) Proceedings of the 16th Mills Research Group Conference, March 2000 (a) with windshaft and brakewheel, but most boarding gone, 1924 NOTE: in both this and the CCL photograph the mill was under demolition

PYMORE, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) w/o (c) disused with sails (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) tower with cap frame, July 1973 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, 1936 (4) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, May 1934 (b) w/o, August 1935 (5) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

PYMORE, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap (2) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap, 1936 (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, May 1934

RAMSEY, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) stump of tower (2) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) stump of tower, June 1971

RAMSEY, Ramsey Heights, Ramsey St Mary's, tower windpump; (1) NMR (a) capless tower (2) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) capless tower, Septem-ber 1972

RAMSEY HEIGHTS, Lotting Fen, tower windpump; (1) Tebbutt (a) disused with cap, 1933 (2) Proceedings of the 18th Mill Research Conference, published 2002 (a) w/o, 1890

RAMSEY MERE, tower windpump; (1) Tebbutt (a) w/o, pre-1914

SAWSTON, Babraham Road, tower mill; (1) CCL (a-b) w/o

SAWTRY, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with cap (2) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, September 1972 (b) house-converted tower with conical roof, August 1976 (3) NMR (WC) (a) w/o (4) Tebbutt (a) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, September 1946

SHUDY CAMPS, post mill; (1) SWM (a) disused with 4 sails, middle distance, with roundhouse and part of body obscured by other buildings, c1915

SIX MILE BOTTOM see under BOROUGH GREEN

SOHAM, Northfield or Shade mill, smock mill; (1) Stainwright
(a) spur wheel, stone nut and governor (2) Wailes (WIC) (a) w/o (3) NMR (a-c) w/o with 2 sails (d-e) disused with 2 sails (4) UOM (JRL) w/o with 2 sails, 1936 (5) SPAB Mills Section (HC) (a) derelict with 2 sails (6) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with cap, May 1973 (7) Stevens (a) derelict with cap (8) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o with 2 sails, August 1933 (c) w/o with 2 sails, September 1934 (d) derelict with 2 sails, August 1958

SOHAM, Manns or the Cemetery Mill, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with 4 sails (b) shortened base (2) Blythman (a) w/o (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a) brakewheel and windshaft lying beside stump of tower, August 1933 (b) stump of tower, August 1933

SOHAM, Downfield Mill, smock mill (rebuilt as tower mill in 1890); (1) w/o, on display at the mill

SOHAM, Downfield Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-e) w/o (f) w/o with 2 sails (g) derelict with 2 sails (2) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o with 2 sails, 1936 (3) Wailes (SWF) (a) one pair of stones with stone furniture (4) de Little 2 (a) w/o with 2 sails, 1980s or 90s (5) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o, with 2 sails on and stock of a second pair in course of fitting; tower of Hardfield mill in background (6) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o with 4 sails (7) A C Smith (a) derelict with 2 sails, July 1973 (8) 1980s leaflet, "Downfield Windmill Soham Cambridge-shire" (a) w/o with 2 sails (appears early-mid C20) (b) brakewheel and wallower (c) stone floor showing the three pairs of stones (9) Stevens (a) w/o with 2 sails, late C20 (10) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o with 4 sails, August 1933 (c) w/o with 4 sails, September 1934 (d-e) w/o with 2 sails, June 1954 (f) derelict with 2 sails, August 1958

SOHAM, Hardfield Mill, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) roofed-over smock, (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) roofed over smock, July 1973 (3) Wailes (TEW) (a) roofed-over smock, in background of photo of Downfield tower mill (4) UOK (MC) (a) roofed-over smock, May 1934

SOHAM, Long's Mill, also known as Town Mill or Hardfield's Mill, smock mill; (1) NMR (a-b) derelict with stocks and 2 sails (c) derelict with cap (2) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with stocks and 2 sails, August 1933 (b) derelict with stocks and 2 sails, May 1934 (c) derelict with cap, June 1954

SOHAM, Soham Mere smock windpump; (1) NMR (a-c) w/o (2) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (3) Wailes (WIC) (a) disused with 2 sails (4) UOM (JRL) (a-c) disused with 2 sails and tailpole, Oct 1938 (d) view of base of tower, scoop wheel and culvert, Oct 1938 (5) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o (6) Proceedings of the 14th Mills Research Group Conference, published November 1998 (a) sails being fitted/removed by Hunts the millwrights, 1929

SOHAM, Shrubland House, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) base converted to house (2) UOK (MC) (a) base converted to house, September 1934

SOHAM, unidentified mill constructed from steel tubes; (1) NMR (a) w/o

SOHAM, White Top Tunnel Mill, smock windpump; (1) CCL (a) disused
with cap (2) Proceedings of the 16th Mills Research Group Confer-ence, March 2000 (a) derelict with cap

SOHAM, Great Fen, smock windpump; (1) CCL (a) with cap but no sails; shed built onto it with oil engine

SOMERSHAM, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o

SOMERSHAM, Mill Farm, smock mill (utility mill resembling West Blatchington mill in Sussex); (1) NMR (a) disused with cap (2) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, August 1934 (3) Tebbutt (a) disused with cap, 1932

SPALDWICK, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) derelict with remains of fantail but sails and cap roof gone (2) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) ruined stump of tower, May 1974 (3) NMR (WC) (a) w/o (4) Tebbutt (a) w/o (5) No.M (a) derelict with cap and remains of fantail, 1922 (6) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and part of fan, August 1933 (b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and part of fan, August 1935

SPINNEY, High Fen, smock windpump; (1) UOK (MC) (a) very derelict with stocks and fragments of sails, March 1934

SPINNEY, Wicken Fen, smock windpump; (1) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, March 1934

STANGROUND, tower mill; (1) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) capless tower, September 1972

STAPLEFORD, smock mill; (1) Blythman (a) derelict with stocks (2) NMR (a-c) derelict with stocks (d-e) base and wreckage, 1946 (3) Proceedings Of 15th Mills Research Conference 1999 (a) derelict with stocks (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with stocks, August 1933 (b) derelict with stocks, June 1935 (c) derelict with stocks, August 1935 (d) derelict with stocks, January 1943

STEEPLE MORDEN, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with cap (2) A C Smith (a) preserved with cap, early 1970s (3) Blythman (a) preser-ved with cap (canvas on smock indicates repairs under way), 1996 (4) CCL (a-b) w/o (5) A C Smith (WIC) (a) disused with cap, September 1971 (6) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, June 1934

STRETHAM, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-e) w/o (f-g) disused with sails missing (h) capless tower (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) capless tower, September 1972 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o (4) Wailes (WIE) (a) close-up of cap and sails (5) Stevens (a) house-converted with cap (6) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, June 1935 (b) capless tower, May 1950 (7) NCL (RW) (a-b) w/o

SUTTON, post mill; (1) CCL (a) derelict with 4 sails

SUTTON, Smith's Mill, post mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o

SWAFFHAM BULBECK, smock mill; (1) NMR (a-b) surviving base (2) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, June 1935

SWAFFHAM PRIOR, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, with shutters in course of being repaired (e-g) derelict with sails (2) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, 1937 (3) Hopkins (a) w/o, in background with smock mill in foreground (4) Proceedings Of 15th Mills Research Conference 1999 (a) as Hopkins (5) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with four sails, May 1971 (6) Stevens (a) brakewheel and wallower (b) millstone and crane (c) disused with 4 sails (7) Wailes, TWOC (a) w/o (8) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1933 (b) w/o, June 1935 (c-d) disused with sails, June 1954 (9) NCL (RW) (a) w/o with men working on sails

SWAFFHAM PRIOR, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with stocks and 2 sails (b) derelict with cap (c-e) derelict capless smock (2) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap, 1937; tower mill in background (3) Hopkins (a) w/o with 2 sails down to stock, with tower mill in background (4) Proceedings Of 15th Mills Research Conference 1999 (a) as Hopkins (5) A C Smith (a) derelict capless smock, May 1971 (6) Wailes (TWOC) (a) disused with 2 sails down to stock (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) disused with stocks and 2 sails, August 1933 (c) disused with cap, June 1935 (d) derelict capless smock, June 1954 (8) WG (a) derelict capless smock, December 1971

SWAVESEY, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) house-converted tower, August 1972 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) disused with cap, 1937 (4) SPAB Mills Section Newsletter, April 1997 (a) w/o (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, July 1954 (b) w/o, August 1934 (c-d) derelict with stocks and 3 sails, July 1950 (6) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

THORNEY, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap (2) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) capless tower, August 1973 (3) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap, 1928 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, April 1931 (b) derelict with cap, August 1934 (c) capless tower, July 1950

TILBROOK, post mill; (1) NMR (a-c) derelict with 2 sails (2) NMR (WC) (a) w/o (3) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with one sail, August 1933 (b) derelict, with surviving sail hidden by body, July 1935 (4) Tebbutt (a) w/o, 1906 (b) view of top floor with brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft and another gearwheel

UPWELL, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-b) w/o (2) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, Oct 1927 (3) A C Smith (WIC) (a) capless tower, August 1973 (4) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, August 1935 (b) w/o, June 1936

UPWOOD, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) disused with cap (2) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) capless tower, June 1971 (3) derelict with cap, June 1935 (4) Tebbutt (a) derelict with cap, 1933 (caption transposed with that of Great Gidding mill)

WARBOYS, Behag's Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-c) derelict with sails (2) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with sails, Oct 1938 (3) WG (a) derelict with 4 sails (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, June 1935 (5) Tebbutt (a) derelict with sails, 1933

WARBOYS, Ramsey Road, Warboys Wood, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-c) derelict with 2 sails and tailpole (2) CRO (a) derelict with cap and tailpole (3) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap and tailpole, Oct 1938 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap and tailpole, June 1935 (5) Tebbutt (a) derelict with cap and tailpole, 1932

WARBOYS, Mill Green, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-c) derelict with cap and tailpole (2) UOM (JRL) (a-c) derelict with sails and tailpole, Oct 1938 (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap and tailpole, May 1934 (b-c) derelict with cap and tailpole, June 1935 (4) Tebbutt (a) derelict with cap and tailpole, 1933

WATERBEACH, smock mill (corn mill); (1) disused with cap (photo in private ownership; Blythman has copy)

WATERBEACH, smock windpump; (1) CCL (a) w/o

WESTON COLVILLE, smock mill; (1) NMR (a-e) derelict with cap
(2) CCL (a) derelict with cap (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1933 (b) derelict with cap, May 1934 (c) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, June 1954 (4) A C Smith (WIC) (a) smock with conical roof after unfinished house conversion, with windshaft and brakewheel spokes lying on ground, May 1973

WEST WICKHAM, Streetly End tower mill; (1) NMR (a-c) derelict with cap (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with cap frame, July 1970 (3) BSM (a) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1935

WEST WRATTING, smock mill; (1) de Little (a) as preserved (2) Freese (a) disused with sails (3) Wailes (WIC) (a) disused with sails (4) NMR (a-f) disused with sails (g) close-up of sails (h) close-up of tailpole (5) A C Smith (WIC) (a) as preserved, May 1973 (6) Stevens (a) as preserved (7) UOK (MC) (a) disused with sails, April 1933 (b-d) disused with sails, April 1936 (e) derelict with sails, June 1954

WHITTLESEY, Marshall's Mill, tower mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o, 1900

WHITTLESEY, Ingle's Mill, tower mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o

WHITTLESEY, Fletcher's Mill, tower mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o (2) JRL (UOM) (a) w/o

WHITTLESEY, tower mill (1); (1) NMR (a) disused with cap (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1973

WHITTLESEY, tower mill (2); (1) A C Smith (WIC) (a) ruined base of tower, May 1972

WICKEN, Churchman Mill, smock windpump; (1) NMR (a) derelict with sails, cap and tailpole

WICKEN, High Fen Farm, smock windpump; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap and remains of sails

WICKEN, "Old Mill", drainage mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict (or merely open frame?) with no cap but sails and scoop wheel

WICKEN, smock corn mill; (1) Wailes (WIC) (a) w/o (2) NMR (a-c) w/o
(d) derelict with cap (3) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with cap, July 1970 (4) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap, 1938 (5) BCL (a) w/o, 1892 (6) SPAB Annual Report 1986 (a) derelict but in fair condition with temporary aluminium cap (7) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o, c2000 (8) UOK (MC) (a) becoming derelict with 4 sails, June 1935

WICKEN, Wicken Fen, windpump; (1) Hills (a) as preserved, March 1966 (2) KLM (a) w/o, postcard, 1960s/70s (3) Reynolds (a) as preserved (b) scoop wheel and internal gearing (4) A C Smith (WIC) (a) as preserved, July 1973 (5) Proceedings of the 14th Mills Research Group Conference, published November 1998 (a) as preserved (b) view of scoop wheel and internal gearing (6) Stevens (a-b) as preserved (7) Vince 1977 (a) as preserved

WICKEN, Wicken Fen, windpump (not present mill; same as "Old Mill" above?); (1) BCL (a) w/o, 1892

WILLINGHAM, Cattell's smock mill; (1) Stainwright (a) derelict with 2 sails (2) de Little (a) w/o with 2 sails, probably 1960s (3) NMR (a) w/o with 4 sails (b-c) w/o with 2 sails (4) UOM (JRL) (a-c) w/o with 2 sails, 1937 (5) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o with 2 sails (6) A C Smith (WIC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, September 1973 (7) Stevens (a) derelict with 2 sails (8) Vince 1969 (a) w/o with 2 sails (9) Vince 1973 (a) w/o with 2 sails (10) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o with 2 sails, April 1933 (c) w/o with 2 sails, August 1934 (d) detail of base and lower smock, July 1950 (e-g) w/o but with fan damaged, July 1950 (11) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

WILLINGHAM, Ingle's Mill aka Old Mill, smock mill; (1) NMR (a-e) disused with 4 sails (2) UOM (JRL) (a) disused with 4 sails, 1937 (3) CCL (a-b) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) disused with 4 sails, April 1933 (c-d) disused with 4 sails, August 1934 (e) derelict with 4 sails, July 1950 (f) derelict with 4 sails (one hanging loose and resting against smock), July 1954

WILLINGHAM, smock mill (same as Old Mill/Ingle's?); (1) A C Smith (WIC) (a) surviving base only, May 1975 (2) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base only, July 1950

WINWICK, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) rubble of tower (2) UOK (MC) (a) rubble, May 1934 (b) rubble and millstone, May 1934

WISBECH, Bowles' Mill, smock mill; (1) A A Oldham, "Mills Of Wisbech", reprinted 1993 (a) w/o (2) CCL (a) w/o (3) NCL (RW) (a) w/o (4) Proceedings of the 16th Mills Research Conference, March 2000 (a) w/o

WISBECH, Leverington Road, Red Engine Mill, smock mill; (1) Proceedings of the 14th Mill Research Conference, published 1998 (a) w/o (2) NCL (Unwin Collection, in negative form; mill is captioned "Emneth {Norfolk}, Chapel Hill") (a) w/o

WISBECH, Leach's Mill, Lynn Road, eight-sailed tower mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) w/o, pre-1895 (2) NMR (a) w/o, c1870 (b-d) interior views (e-f) disused with cap (g-i) capless tower, 1950s (3) UOM (JRL) (a) disused with cap, Oct 1927 (4) A C Smith (WIC) (a) tower with warehouse built on, August 1973 (5) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, June 1936 (6) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

WISBECH, Clarkson Mill, post mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o

WISBECH, Webster's Mill, post mill; (1) CCL (a) w/o, 1850

WISBECH ST MARY, Tholomas Drove, smock windpump; (1) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, June 1936

WISTOW, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap (2) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1935 (3) disused with cap, 1933

WOODDITTON, smock mill; (1) NMR (a) w/o (2) A C Smith (WIC) (a) surviving base, September 1974 (3) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, June 1936

WOOD WALTON FEN, Higney Mill, tower windpump; (1) A C Smith (WIHAP) (a) ruined base of tower with scoopwheel casing, August 1976 (2) Tebbutt (a-b) w/o, 1910 (3) Tebbutt (a-b) w/o, c1910

YAXLEY, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap (2) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, August 1939 (3) Tebbutt (a) derelict with cap, 1933

YAXLEY, Black Mill, tower mill; (1) NMR (a-c) disused with cap
(2) Stainwright (a) as NMR (3) Tebbutt (a) disused with cap, 1933

YELLING, post mill; (1) NMR (WC) (in article) (a) w/o, 1914 (2) Tebbutt (a) w/o, 1914

NOTE: The photographs at Cambridge Central Library are in different parts of the collection - see the card index for details. Some of the cards have the photographs reproduced on them.
M J Dunn, Windmills In The Isle Of Ely (in the CCL) is a scrapbook containing the following photographs, some but not all of which will be the same as those on the index cards:

March Billitt's Mill, Burrowmoor Road tower mill w/o; Southwell's Mill, Peas Hill, smock mill derelict with cap, stocks and fragments of sails
Benwick, Moore's Mill, capless tower with bit missing from top (similar view in main collection)
Manea, six-sailer w/o
Christchurch tower mill with 4 sails and cap, see photocopy; Lavender's Mill, disused smock with cap no sails
Doddington w/o (but some shutters missing from sails), 1909; derelict with 4 sails just before demolition in Sept 1958
Chatteris Bensley's Mill, New Rd, tower mill in w/o; Triplow's Mill, smock mill w/o - looks same as mill with ogee cap and sign board in NMR); White (Worth's) Mill, London Road, w/o (tower or smock mill?); Black Mill, London Road, smock mill derelict with no sails, same as in NMR (Bensley's, Triplow's, White's London Rd and Black Mill London Rd are all in both Dunn and the main card index)
Whittlesey Ingle's Mill, tower mill, w/o c1900; Wyllie's Mill, stump of tower with conical roof, 1958; Fletcher's Mill, tower mill w/o, with chimney and 4 s-s sails; Marshall's Mill, 1905, small tower mill in w/o; Fallard's Mill, the 6-sailed tower mill, derelict with 4 out of 6 sails, cap, and remains of fan
Coates Bedford's Mill, tower mill w/o
Thorney derelict with cap and 6-armed cross
Eastrea base of smock mill, 1938
Wisbech Leach's Mill w/o c1895; Bowles' w/o; Clarkson Mill w/o c1880; Webster's Mill w/o 1850-60; Begdale Lane, remains of roundhouse 1958; Leverington, White Engine tower mill, derelict with cap and cross; Upwell, Shepherd's Mill, tower mill w/o; Gorefield smock mill, w/o (3 sails retouched)

CHANNEL ISLANDS

GUERNSEY

MOULIN HUET BAY, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a-b) capless tower, September 1949

SARK

SARK, tower mill; (1) TIMS Transactions 5th Symposium 1977 (a) stump of tower (2) SMS (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with cap and two sails, June 1932

The compiler regrets he has had no opportunity so far to research the photographic record of Channel Islands windmills in detail



CHESHIRE

BEBINGTON, tower mill; (1) Williams and Crompton (a) w/o (photo-copy) (2) NMR (a-c) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (3) UOM (JRL) (a-c) w/o, 1900-02 (b) derelict with cap and cross, 1928 (b) derelict with cap and cross (4) Pat O'Brien, "Around Bebington", Chalford Publishing Co 1995 (a) w/o, 1897 (b) w/o, middle distance (c) disused with 4 sails (d) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel
BIDSTON, tower mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) preserved with two sails (2) Vince 1993 (a) as preserved (3) Beedell (a) as preserved (4) NMR (a) as preserved, 1934 (5) UOM (JRL) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, 1892 (c) as preserved with 4 sails, 1894 (d) as preserved with 4 sails, 1902 (e) as preserved, early C20 (f) under repair, with cap roof missing and damaged sails in process of removal, April 1928 (g-h) derelict with 2 sails, middle distance, n.d. (6) LRO (a-b) preserved with 4 sails, c1900 (c) preserved with 4 sails, c1910 (d) preserved with 4 sails, February 1945 (7) Alan Brack, "The Wirral", Phillimore 1988 (a) as preserved

BROMBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) w/o, 1870 (2) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o (3) O'Brien, as Bebington (a) w/o

BUERTON, tower mill; (1) NMR (a) derelict with cap, sails and winding wheel (2) Blythman (b-d) derelict with cap frame only, August 1984

BURLAND, tower mill; (1) Blythman (a) tower preserved with windpump on top, 1974

BURTONWOOD, post mill; (1) Bennett and Elton (a) derelict in near-skeleton condition, with no sails (2) UOM (JRL) (a) roundhouse, post and crowntree, 1900-02 (3) SMS (photo album) (a) roundhouse and post (from Liverpool Evening Express 23.4.36) (4) Young (a) derelict in near-skeleton condition, with no sails

EASTHAM, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) disused with cap but no sails, 1900-02

GAYTON, tower mill; (1) de Little (a) derelict with windshaft and cap roof framing but no sails (2) Blythman (a) derelict tower only, 1983 (b) house-converted with replica cap, 1990s (donated by Mr Bob Prince) (3) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap and poll end (b) derelict with cap and poll end, middle distance (c) derelict with cap and poll end, 1928 (4) David Randall, "The Search For Old Wirral", Countryside Ltd 1984 (a) derelict tower after collapse of windshaft, cap frame etc inside mill (5) Ian and Marilyn Boumphrey, "Yesterday's Wirral No.6", the authors 1991 (a) derelict with cap and part of winding wheel, c1904 (6) Young (a) derelict with cap and small fragment of winding wheel, 1915

GREAT SAUGHALL, Gibbet Mill, tower mill; (1) de Little (a) wire machine (captioned "Capenhurst") (2) Blythman (a) derelict with 3 sails and cap roof gone (b) house converted with replica cap and sails, 1974 (3) Ashmore (a) house converted with replica cap and sails, 1979 (4) NMR (a) as preserved in 1930s, with cap and common sails (5) UOM (JRL) (a-b) w/o, showing the two shuttered sails and fantail, 1900-02 (c) preserved, 1928-32 (d) preserved with 4 common sails and cap, 1936 (6) SMS (a) derelict, with 3 sails and most of cap still on (7) de Little 2 (a) derelict with 3 sails only and cap gone, 1958

HELSBY, tower mill (combined wind- and watermill); (1) Bennett and Elton (a) watermill with capless tower (2) UOM (JRL) (a) watermill with capless tower

IRBY, post mill; (1) Bennett and Elton (a) derelict with 3 sails (2) Major & Watts (a) derelict with 3 sails (3) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with 3 sails, 1900-02 (4) Boumphrey, as Gayton and Neston (a) derelict with 3 sails (only 2 visible), 1898 (5) Birkenhead Library, Borough Road, Birkenhead L41 2XB (a) w/o (6) The Athen-aeum, Church Valley, Liverpool L1 3DD (a) derelict with 3 sails

KERRIDGE (possibly same as Macclesfield), tower mill; (1) Greater Manchester Documentary Photography Archive, 7 Towncroft Lane Bolton BL1 5EW (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (regarded by the Archive as unidentified) (2) SMS (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel

MACCLESFIELD, tower mill; (1) MMRLHC (a) distant view, with cap and 2 sails

NESTON, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) tower only, with conical roof, 1900-02 (2) Boumphrey, as Gayton (a) tower with conical roof, 1913
(3) Country Life (date of issue unknown but mid-1980s) (a) house-converted tower with dummy cap (4) Blythman (a) converted with replica cap, 1990s (b-c) converted with replica cap, 1990s (donated by Mr Bob Prince)

THINGWALL, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) disused with cap; 2 adjacent sails visible, a third missing as is part of stage (b) truncated tower, 1900-02 (2) Greg Dawson, "Tingvelle: A History of Thingwall and other North Wirral Farming Villages", Dawson Publishing 1993 (a) derelict with 3 sails (3) Young (a) derelict with 3 sails

THREAPWOOD, tower mill; (1) Ches.RO (a) derelict, with no cap or sails but windshaft and brakewheel still in position, 1964 (2) Blythman (a) derelict, with no cap or sails and windshaft and brakewheel fallen inside tower, but part of winding wheel still in place, August 1986 (b) north side of tower (remains of cap frame and winding wheel not visible), August 1986 (c) interior of tower with collapsed machinery, August 1986: windshaft and part of brakewheel (d) ditto: upright shaft and wallower (e) ditto: assorted wreckage and items of machinery (3) photo which in 1986 was in possession of owner, showing derelict mill with cap and winding wheel but no sails, date unknown (4) SMS (a) derelict with cap frame, windshaft and brakewheel, August 1974

UPTON BY CHESTER, tower mill; (1) JRL (UOM) (a-b) w/o, 1900-02
(2) "Chester Observed", publication in Cheshire County Library, Goldsmith House, Hamilton Place, Chester CH1 1SE (a) w/o

WALLASEY, Breck Mill, tower mill; (1) Noel E Smith, "Almost An Island - The Story of Wallasey", the author, 1990s (?) (a) w/o (2) Ian Boumphrey, "Yesterday's Wirral" no 4, the author 1986 (a) w/o

WILLASTON, tower mill; (1) de Little (a) house converted with cap but no sails (2) UOM (JRL) (a) w/o, 1900-02 (b) derelict with cap frame, windshaft, brakewheel and cross, 1928 (3) Brack, as Bidston (a) converted but with restored cap, cross and winding wheel (4) Blythman (a-b) converted but with restored cap, cross and winding wheel, 1990s (donated by Mr Bob Prince)

CORNWALL

FOWEY, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a-c) shell of tower, July 1938 (d) shell of tower, September 1954

LLANDEWEDNACK, tower mill; (1) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) shell of tower (2) NMR (a) shell of tower

MAKER, tower mill (1) NMR (a) shell of tower (b) view of doorway

ST MARYS (Scilly Isles) tower mill; (1) Douch (a) w/o (2) Cornish Studies Library, Clinton Road, Redruth TR15 2QE (a-b) w/o (3) Morrab Library, Morrab Gardens, Penzance TR18 4DA (a) w/o

ST MARYS (Scilly Isles), Hugh Town, Buzza Mill, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a-b) tower only, September 1953

ST MARYS (Scilly Isles), Garrison tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a-b) tower only, September 1953

ST MARYS (Scilly Isles), Pendennis Head, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a-b) base of tower, September 1953

ST MINVER, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a-c) shell of tower, July 1938


CUMBRIA

BOWNESS, tower mill; (1) Transactions of the Cumberland and Westmorland Antiquarian and Archaeological Society, Vol 53 1973
(a) w/o, pre-1884

COCKERMOUTH, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a-b) base of tower conver-ted to dwelling

MONKHILL, tower mill; (1) Hughes (a) capless tower (b) interior of tower, with millstone and upright shaft (2) NMR (under Burgh By Sands) (a) derelict tower with cap frame

MILLOM (aka HAVERIGG), Hodbarrow Point, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a-b) tower only (2) SMS (photo album) (a) tower only

WIGTON, Old Lane Mill, tower mill; (1) Hughes (a) tower only

WORKINGTON, Shoose Mill, tower mill; (1) Hughes (a) tower only


DERBYSHIRE

BELPER, tower mill; (1) A Gifford (a) the house-converted tower, 1994 (b) Gifford also mentions blurred photo of the mill, in private ownership, taken pre-1891 and showing it with sails etc.

BOLSOVER, tower mill; (1) A Gifford (a) the capless tower, 1990s

CARSINGTON, tower mill; (1) A Gifford (a) shell of tower

DALE ABBEY, Cat and Fiddle Mill, post mill; (1) A Gifford
(a) as restored, 1994 (2) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (3) Wailes (WIE)
(a) w/o (4) Wailes (DSW) (a) stones and hurst frame (5) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o (6) TIMS Transactions 3rd Symposium 1973 (a) w/o (7) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) Rex Wailes with Bill Heathershaw, miller at North Leverton, Notts, in the roof of the mill (8) WG (a-c) w/o (9) Vince 1977 (a) as preserved (10) UOK (MC) (a) w/o (b-e) w/o, November 1952 (f) detail of winch on tailpole, November 1952 (11) NMR (a-b) w/o, June 1934

FINDERN, tower mill; (1) Gifford (a) the house-converted tower

FRITCHLEY, post mill; (1) Gifford (a) derelict with roof and 2 sails missing, probably c1880 (2) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse walls, September 1946

HEAGE, tower mill; (1) A Gifford (a) after tailwinding in 1894, with cap roof destroyed and sails on ground (b) derelict in 1960s with stocks and fragments of the sails (c) after restoration (d) stone floor: one pair of stones with vat and hopper (2) Baker & Wailes (a) w/o, middle distance (b) section of curb (c) cross and windshaft, seen from inside cap through decayed roof framing (d) great spur wheel with staggered cogs sawn off (3) UOK (MC) (a-c) derelict with stocks and remains of sails, September 1946 (d) derelict with stocks and remains of sails, middle distance, September 1946

ILKESTON, Derby Road post mill; (1) Ilkeston Reference Library, Market Place, Ilkeston (a-b) disused with sails, c1900 (c) without sails (d) disused with sails, c1910 (e) derelict without sails, c1920

MAPPERLEY, post mill; (1) John Heath, "An Illustrated History Of Derbyshire", Breedon Books 1993 (a) derelict with one sail only and roof missing, c1900

MELBOURNE, tower mill; (1) SMS (HC) (a) tower with observation platform/cabin on top, 1976 (2) Gifford mentions photo showing mill with cap fan and 4 damaged sails, taken c1905, also photo of 1934 showing the mill with no cap or sails; sources not given

MICKLEOVER, tower mill; (1) Gifford mentions 1936 photo of derelict tower with remains of cap frame; source not given

NETHERSEAL, post mill; (1) Gifford states several photos in existence, one in private ownership; one photo shows mill complete c1900 (book and letter to author)

OCKBROOK, tower mill; (1) A Gifford (a) derelict with 2 sails and part of cap roof missing, 1890

RIDDINGS, two tower mills "James" and "Sarah"; (1) Major & Watts (a) with one mill w/o and the other complete except for sails and fan (2) Gifford (a) one mill w/o and the other complete except for sails and fan, c1910 (b) Gifford mentions photo of 1950 showing both mills (in what condition?) (3) UOK (MC) (a-b) both mills with cap and cross, September 1946 (4) NMR (a) both mills with caps but apparently no windshafts, from Country Life 24th August 1956

RIPLEY, tower mill; (1) A Gifford (a) disused with sails, c1910

SMISBY, post mill; (a) Gifford mentions a rather poor photo of the mill in w/o); believes mill is on a postcard somewhere and perhaps also in a book on the Ashby tramway, title unknown (letter to author)

SOUTH NORMANTON, post mill; (1) Beedell (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (2) Baker & Wailes (a) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (3) Blythman (a) derelict in skeleton condition (donated by LJ Turner) (4) A Gifford (a) derelict with skeleton of body, post, crowntree and windshaft only, prior to dismantling in 1980 (5) Freese (a) lag governor (6) UOK (MC) (a-d) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, June 1936 (e) detail of trestle, June 1936 (f-g) derelict with windshaft, September 1946 (h) derelict with windshaft, August 1958 (7) WG (a-b) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel

SOUTH NORMANTON, Fordbridge Lane, tower mill; (1) A Gifford (a) shell of tower, 1994

SPANCARR, tower mill; (1) A Gifford (a) shell of tower, 1994

WEST HALLAM, post mill; (a) Gifford mentions a photo of the mill derelict with no sails (2) SMS (photo album) (a) w/o (from Leicester Evening News 15.12.1936)

WHITWELL, tower mill; (1) Whitwell 1000 Festival Guide, 1989
(a) w/o

DEVON

BRIXHAM, Little Rey, tower mill; (1) Minchinton (a) stump of tower
(2) UOK (MC) (a-b) stump only, 1936

BROADCLYST, tower mill; (1) Minchinton (a) preserved tower (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) house-converted tower, 1942 (c-f) house-converted tower, 1943

CHURSTON, Galmpton Warborough, tower mill; (1) Minchinton (a) shell of tower (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) shell of tower, 1936 (c) ditto, 1938
(d) ditto, 1941 (e) base of tower, 1938

INSTOW, tower mill; (1) Minchinton (a) remains of tower

NORTHAM, Bidna mill, tower mill; (1) Minchinton (a) ruins of lower part of tower (b) ruined tower before 1919 storm, p11

NORTH WHILBOROUGH, tower mill; (1) Minchinton (a) shell of tower
(2) UOK (MC) (a-b) tower only, 1936 (c) tower only, 1938 (d-e) tower only, 1941 (f) tower only, 1946

PAIGNTON, Fernacombe Mill, tower mill; (1) Minchinton (a) shell of tower (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) tower only, 1936 (c) tower only, 1942

PETROCKSTOW, Heanton tower mill; (1) Minchinton (a) remains of tower

TORQUAY, Yaddon Down tower mill; (1) Minchinton (a) stump of tower
(2) UOK (MC) (a-b) tower only, 1936

DORSET

EASTON, Isle of Portland, South Mill or West Mill, tower mill; (1) UOK (MC) (a) tower only, 1938 (East/North mill in background) (b) ditto, 1939 (2) NMR (a-e) shell of tower (3) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) shell of tower

EASTON, Isle of Portland, North Mill or East Mill, tower mill; (1) de Little (a) shell of tower with stock resting on top (2) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) shell of tower with stock resting on top (3) UOK (MC) (a) tower with part of cap frame and poll end/one stock resting on top, August 1938 (4) de Little 2 (a) view of windshaft hanging inside tower (5) NMR (a-c) shell of tower with stock resting on top (d-e) inside tower looking up at windshaft



DURHAM

AYCLIFFE, tower mill; (1) BOAM (not yet seen)

ELWICK, tower mill; (1) F Atkinson, North-East England (Industrial Archaeology of the British Isles series), David and Charles 1974 (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and one sail (2) Blythman (a) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and one sail, August 1982

FERRYHILL, Dean Bank, tower mill; (1) BOAM (not yet seen)

GATESHEAD, Bensham, tower mill; (1) GCL (a) capless tower

GATESHEAD, Sheriff Hill, tower mill; (1) GCL (a-b) capless tower (b) capless tower, c1920 (2) NewCL (a-b) capless tower, c1900 (c) capless tower, 1906

GATESHEAD, The Causeway, tower mill; (1) GCL (a) capless tower, 1940 (b) capless tower, partly demolished with metal rods sticking out of top

GREATHAM, tower mill; (1) SMS (photo album) (a) w/o (from Northern Daily Mail 10.12.1931) (b) w/o (from Daily Telegraph 7.4.1932) (2) WG (a-b) w/o (in file labelled "Windmills:Foreign"; says Greatham on photos but caption says "Northants?" Error to be notified to Gallery)

HART, tower mill; (1) book on industrial archaeology on North-East formerly at Science Museum Library, title unknown (a) derelict, with cap, one sail, fan cradle and part of fan, 1930s (2) Major 2 (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel, one sail and fan cradle, c1967 (3) Blythman (a-b) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and one sail, but cap and all traces of fan gone, August 1982; (4) W & W S Newsletter October 1987 (a) removal by crane of windshaft, brakewheel and surviving sail prior to restoration (5) W and W Section Newsletter, January 1992 (a) tower restored and new cap frame and fan cradle in process of fitting (6) Middlesborough Archives (a) derelict with one sail, 1987: crane about to lift off windshaft, brakewheel etc (b-d) windshaft, brakewheel etc in process of being lifted off, 1987 (e) windshaft, brakewheel etc on ground just after lifting off

HUTTON HENRY, tower mill; (1) BOAM (not yet seen)

RYHOPE, post mill; (1) BOAM (a) derelict with 2 sails (2) Wind and Watermill Section Newsletter July 1986 (a) derelict with 2 sails

STOCKTON, Dovecot Street, tower mill; (1) SOTBC (ELCS) (from "Heavisides' Almanack") (a) derelict tower, possibly truncated, with part of stage still on; under demolition?

STOCKTON, Mount Pleasant, tower mill; (1) SOTBC (ELCS) (from "Heavisides' Almanack") (a) w/o

SUNDERLAND, New Durham Road, tower mill; (1) a drawing in Northumbrian Mills (Newsletter of North East Mills Group) No 9 January 1999 was made from a photograph of c1900

SUNDERLAND, Fulwell tower mill; (1) Buckland (a) w/o with 2 sails, showing unusual design of fantail blades (2) NMR (a) preserved with one sail missing, 1979

THORNABY, Mandale, tower mill; (1) Darlington and Stockton Times (held at Darlington Library and Art Gallery, Crown Street, Darlington DL1 1ND) (a) w/o, pre-1890 (mill destroyed by fire around that year), middle distance

TYNEMOUTH, Flatworth Mill; (1) NMR (a) tower preserved with conical roof, May 1949 (b) ditto, May 1949

WEST BOLDON, tower mill; (1) BOAM (not yet seen)

WICKHAM, tower mill (1) NMR (a) capless tower, 1952 (2) Cook (a) capless tower (3) GCL (a)

WHITBURN, tower mill; (1) Cook (a) as restored with new cap and sails, 1990s

YARM, tower mill; (1) UOM (JRL) (a) derelict with cap, 1932 (b-c) derelict with cap

ESSEX

ARDLEIGH, John de Bois mill, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) disused (2) ERO (FC) (a-d) as Farries 3

ASHDON, Radwinter tower mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) with cap and fantail, and broken sails on ground (2) ERO (FC) (a) as Farries 3

ASHDON, Bragg's Mill, post mill; (1) Farries 2 (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1934 (b) brakewheel, brake and sack hoist, 1970 (2) Farries 3 (a) windshaft and poll end, 1973 (3) NMR (a-d) derelict with 4 sails, April 1933 (e) as preserved, from Essex Countryside August 1964) (f-h) derelict with 4 sails (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, May 1934 (5) ERO (a-e) derelict with 4 sails, mid-C20 (f) derelict with 4 sails, c1970(?) (6) ECC (DEW) (a) as preserved, late C20 (7) Turpin (WIE) (a) as preserved, late C20 (8) ERO (FC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, February 1967 (b-d) preserved, April 1960 (e) brakewheel and windshaft, August 1955 (f) neck bearing of windshaft with belt drive in front of brakewheel, August 1955 (g) looking up in front of brakewheel, August 1955 (h-i) derelict with 4 sails, early-mid C20 (j) derelict with 4 sails, c1930 (k) sheers and junction of tailpole with body of mill, April 1960 (l) stone floor, April 1955 (m) derelict with 4 sails, April 1955 (n) view of restored sail frames, April 1960 (o) brick pier seen through broken roundhouse wall, April 1955 (p-t) crosstree, quarterbar and brick pier, April 1970 (u) ditto, n.d. (v) intersection of post and crosstree, April 1970 (w) intersection of post and crosstree, n.d. (x-y) looking up at sails and poll end, April 1970 (z-aa) post, quarterbars, collar and sheers, April 1970 (ab-ac) front view of derelict mill, April 1970 (ad-af) close up of sail frame, April 1970 (ag-ah) derelict with no sails, November 1973 (ai) sackhoist drive, June 1970 (aj-ak) post, quarterbars, collar and sheers, April 1970 (al) derelict with 4 sails, May 1934 (am) brakewheel, windshaft, brake and sack-hoist drive (an) brakewheel, windshaft, brake and sackhoist drive, March 1973 (ao) brakewheel, brake and sackhoist drive, June 1970 (ap) rear of bin floor, March 1970 (aq) meal bin, spout and part of tentering gear, March 1973 (ar) derelict with no sails, March 1973 (as) brakewheel, March 1973 (at) tailstone, bridgetree and brayer, March 1973 (au) tailstone and bridgetree, March 1973 (av) lower part of tailwheel, March 1973 (aw) tailbeam and striking rod, March 1973 (ax) tailstone bearers, March 1973 (ay-az) body of mill repaired but sails not yet fitted, April 1974 (ba) headstone, bridgetree and brayer, March 1973 (bb) spout floor, March 1973 (bc) brakewheel and windshaft, March 1973 (bd) tailwheel, March 1973 (be-bg) derelict with 4 sails, June 1970 (bh) brakewheel and sackhoist gear, June 1970 (bi) spout floor, June 1970 (bj) spout floor with bridgetree for tailstones, June 1970 (bk) brakewheel, June 1970 (bl) sackhoist gear, June 1970 (bm) part of sailframe, June 1970 (bn) main post and crowntree, June 1970

AVELEY, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) disused with sails, late 1890s
(2) ERO (a) derelict with one sail, 1908 (3) book on local history of area in ERO, title not noted (a+) several view of mill derelict (4) TC (a) derelict with one sail (b) derelict, with one sail but most of roof gone (5) ERO (FC) (a) derelict with one sail, probably c1908 (6) B Evans, "Around Grays In Old Photographs", Alan Sutton 1994 (a) derelict with one sail, May 1902

AYTHORPE RODING, post mill; (1) Farries 2 (a) w/o (b) view of spout floor with spur wheel and stone nut (2) Farries 1 (a) w/o (b) gearing on stone floor (3) Farries 4 (a) post and samson head
(b) w/o, 1984 (4) D W Smith (a) close-up view of fantail (b) view of stone floor (c) w/o (5) Wailes (EW) (a) sack hoist (6) NMR (a) view of fantail, carriage and ladder (b) post and junction with crosstrees, 1967 (c) roundhouse interior, 1967 (d) fantail, 1967 (e) fantail trolley, 1967 (f) main grindstone drive, 1967 (g) post and crowntree, 1967 (h) bedstone, bridgetree and tentering gear, 1967 (i) roundhouse door, 1967 (j) sack balance, 1967 (k) 3rd floor joisting, 1967 (l) poll end (from Welsh School of Architecture) (m) brakewheel, brake shoe and warbler, WSA (n-o) external view of mill, WSA (p) figured wall, 3rd floor, WSA (q) bolter, WSA (r) grindstone box and bolter drive, WSA (s) disused with sails, Sept 1947 (t) w/o, April 1933 (u) w/o, March 1932 (v) w/o, June 1936 (w) view of fan carriage and ladder, June 1936 (x) as preserved (n.d., pre-1980s) (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, July 1932 (c) w/o, May 1936 (d) view of fan, July 1932 (e-g) disused with 4 sail frames and fan spars, Jan 1941 (h-i) disused with fan and some shutters left, July 1940 (j-n) internal views, July 1940 (o) disused with 4 sail frames etc, May 1942 (p-s) disused with 2 sails, June 1954 (8) 250 Tours of Britain, published by Drive Publications for the AA, 1986 (a) w/o (9) Hills (a) w/o, May 1990 (10) ERO (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, 1922 (d-e) w/o, mid-distance (f) disused and becoming derelict with 4 sails, 1960s (g) disused and becoming derelict, c1970(?) (h) view of ladder and remains of fan (i-l) internal views (11) TC (a) w/o (b) w/o, mid-distance (c) w/o, 6 August 1919 (12) ECC (DEW) (a) w/o, 1990s (b) view of fan with gearing and carriage, 1990s (13) Turpin (WIE) (a) as preserved (14) SPAB (WAWOTV) 1986 (a) w/o, 1980s (15) ERO (FC) (a) w/o (b) w/o but with some boarding missing from breast (c) horns of post and crosstrees (d) spout floor with post, crowntree and tentering gear (e-f) spout floor with governors, tentering gear and spur gearing (g) fantail (h) sackhoist, brakewheel and sackhoist drive, September 1969 (i) stone in course of dressing, January 1941 (j-k) window post joint, summer 1974 (l) fantail, June 1936 (m) brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft and stones (n) brakewheel and sack hoist, January 1941 (o) bolter (p) tentering gear and spur gearing (q) great spur wheel and upright shaft resting on stone floor, January 1976 (r-s) brakewheel, wallower and upright shaft, January 1941 (t) miller Jack Belsham, January 1941 (16) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

BARDFIELD SALING, post mill; (1) Farries Vol 5 (a) w/o (2) Farries 1 (a) disused with stocks and 2 sails (b) in extreme decay, 1965 (3) D W Smith (a) disused with stocks and two sails (under Little Saling) (4) NMR (a-b) derelict with stocks and 2 sails, Sept 1935 (c) derelict with stocks and 2 sails, n.d. (d) derelict with stocks and one sail frame, April 1933 (5) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with stocks and one sail frame, Aug 1933 (b-d) ditto, March 1941 (e) ditto, May 1942 (f-g) ditto, Oct 1942 (6) ERO (a) w/o apart from 2 sails down to the stock, 1923 (b-d) derelict with stocks and one sail frame, as Farries and Turpin (7) Col.l (a) derelict with stocks and one sail frame (8) TC (a) derelict with stocks and 3 sails (but looks like Broxted; captioned Little Saling) (9) Turpin (WIE) (a) derelict with 2 and a half stocks and one sail (captioned Little Saling) (10) ERO (FC) (a-g) derelict with roof off and only one sail, September 1960 (h) quarterbars and sheers, September 1960 (i) horns of post and crosstrees, September 1960 (j) post, quarterbars and sheers, September 1960 (k) triangulating block for sail lying on ground, September 1960 (l) rear view of derelict mill, with surviving sail hidden by body, September 1960 (m) lower rear of body, September 1960 (n) derelict with roof, breast and surviving sail gone, but windshaft and brakewheel still on (tailwheel not visible), July 1965 (o-v) roof and breast gone but windshaft, brake- and tailwheels still on, September 1965 (caption of one photo says it was taken during demolition) (w-x) wreckage on ground during demolition, September 1965 (y-z) body of mill falling, September 1965 (aa) roof and breast gone, but windshaft, brakewheel and part of one stock still on, June 1965 (aa) disused with stocks and 2 sail frames (ab-ac) remaining weatherboarding being stripped off prior to demolition, September 1965 (in one view a mechanical digger is in position ready to knock over mill) (ad-ae) w/o with 2 sails down to stock (af) w/o with 2 sails down to stock, 1922 (ag) derelict with roof off but windshaft, brakewheel and one sail still on, September 1960 (ah-ai) derelict with one sail and broken stocks (aj) derelict with one sail and broken stocks, May 1942 (ak) internal view showing framing and what appears to be a stone nut, May 1942 (al) fantail and steps, August 1933 (am) derelict with one sail frame and part of stock visible, March 1941 (an) derelict with one sail frame and broken stocks, 1929 (ao) derelict just before demolition, with roof off etc., and boarding entirely stripped off, September 1965 (ap) derelict with one sail and broken stocks, April 1941

BARKING, Wellington Mill, smock mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (2) Wailes (EW) (a) w/o (3) de Little 2 (a) w/o (4) ERO (a) w/o (5) VHM (a-b) derelict with cap (6) ERO (FC) (a) disused with cap (b) disused with cap and fan, September 1905 (c) disused with cap and fan, Sept 30th 1905 (7) TC (a) derelict with cap, artificially coloured (8) NMR (in London file) (a) w/o

BARLING, smock mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) derelict with cap, 1936 (2) Farries 3 (a) w/o (3) UOK (DWM) (a) derelict with cap, April 1938 (b) ditto, Aug 1932 (c-d) ditto, Oct 1936 (e-g) ditto, June 1943 (4) NMR (a-b) derelict with cap (5) TC (a) w/o (b) derelict with cap, 8th October 1920 (c) derelict with cap, middle distance, 8th October 1920 (6) ERO (FC) (a-d) derelict with cap (e-f) derelict with cap, 1935 (g-h) w/o (i-j) w/o, c1890 (k) derelict with cap, October 1936 (l-m) derelict with cap, April 1938 (n) bolter, November 1937 (o-p) derelict with cap, November 1937 (q) derelict with cap, June 1943

BELCHAMP OTTEN, tower mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) disused with cap, 1936 (2) Farries 3 (a) w/o (3) NMR (a-b) disused with cap, Sept 1933 (4) UOK (MC) (a) disused with cap, April 1933 (b) ditto, April 1936 (e-f) ditto, November 1942 (5) ERO (a) disused with cap, 1923 (6) TC (a-b) disused with cap, 23rd June 1921 (7) ERO (FC) (a) disused with cap (b) disused with cap, distant view (c) w/o (d) disused with cap, June 1921 (e) disused with cap, August 1923 (f) a photo of the iron windshaft of a derelict tower mill, taken from the top of the tower; cap roof missing showing tail bearing. Cap-tion says "probably Belchamp Otten 1947"

BELCHAMP ST PAUL, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) surviving roundhouse, April 1936 (3) ERO (FC) (a-c) w/o (4) NMR (under "Otten St Paul's" (a) surviving roundhouse, April 1933 (b) surviving roundhouse only, June 1939

BELCHAMP WALTER, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) surviving roundhouse, 1972 (2) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse, November 1942 (3) ECC (DEW) (a) surviving roundhouse (4) ERO (FC) (a) surviving round-house, September 1935 (b-c) surviving roundhouse, April 1972 (d) post and quarterbars, April 1972 (e) post and crosstree, April 1972 (f) intersection of post and crosstree, April 1972 (g) quarterbar, crosstree and brick pier, April 1972

BILLERICAY, post mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) trestle and wreckage after mill's collapse, 1936 (b) disused with sails (2) Farries 3 (a) derelict with sails, probably mid-1920s (3) W and W Section Newsletter October 1985 (a) derelict with sails, 1920s (4) NMR (a) trestle and wreckage after mill's collapse, June 1939 (b) ditto, June 1932 (c) derelict with sails (d) derelict, as P Gifford (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) trestle and wreckage after collapse, Oct 1936 (6) ERO (a) w/o (b) derelict with 4 sails (7) TC (a-b) w/o (c) derelict as in Gifford and Farries (d) roof and 2 sails showing above roof of house in middle distance (8) Col.l (a) derelict with 4 sails (9) Essex Countryside magazine July 1967 (a) view of fallen timbers (10) ERO (FC) (a) derelict, with 2 complete and one broken sail visible, 1922 (b) derelict: stocks and 2 adjacent sails visible, roof mostly gone and body collapsing (c-d) windshaft on ground in process of being salvaged, December 1974 (e) horns of main post on ground, May 1964 (f) with trestle, piers and a few timbers of body remaining, June 1939 (g) trestle and roundhouse still standing, also remains of steps, tailpole and part of body; brake- or tail-wheel visible on ground (h-i) trestle and remains of roundhouse and steps, October 1936 (j-m) derelict with broken sails (n) timbers on ground, June 1972 (o-p) poll end on ground, June 1972 (q-s) poll end on ground, June 1972 (t-w) w/o (x-y) post on ground, June 1972 (z) overgrown trestle, May 1964 (aa) poll end on ground, March 1969 (ab) windshaft and poll end on ground, June 1972 (ac) disused with sails (ad) disused with sails, mid-distance (a-e) disused with sails, from postcard postmarked August 1908 (af) derelict with broken sails, 1924 (ag) main post and other wreckage on ground, June 1972

BIRCH, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) derelict, with 2 sails and most of roof missing, 1959 (b) wallower and great spur wheel (c) tail wheel (2) NMR (a-d) view of roundhouse and lower body, May 1962 (e) derelict, May 1962 (as Farries) (f) derelict, June 1933 (g) derel-ict, same condition as June 1933 (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, June 1933 (b) detail of roundhouse, April 1936 (c-d) dere-lict with 4 sails, April 1936 (4) ERO (a) disused with 4 sails (b) derelict with 4 sails (5) TC (a-b) w/o, 24th June 1921 (c) w/o, 15th April 1923 (6) Col.l (a-c) derelict with 4 sails (7) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, June 1921 (d-e) derelict with 4 sails, 1930 (f) derelict with 4 sails, 1923 (g-h) derelict with 4 sails, 1936 (i) derelict with 4 sails, April 1936 (j-k) derelict with 4 sails, 1936 looking up at poll end (l-n) stone nut lying on crowntree, Novem-ber 1959 (o) spout floor and ladder, November 1959 (p) brakewheel, windshaft, wallower and great spur wheel, November 1959 (q) cross-trees and horns, November 1959 (r) windshaft and tailwheel, Novem-ber 1959 (s) striking gear, November 1959 (t) tailwheel, November 1959 (u) spout floor with tentering gear and great spur wheel, November 1959 (v) base of post, November 1959 (w) derelict with 2 sails gone and roof partly so, March 1959 (x) brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft, great spur wheel and stone nuts, November 1959 (y) rear right corner of spout floor, November 1959 (z) tailwheel, stone nut and quant, November 1959 (aa) main post, crowntree and part of tentering gear, November 1959 (ab) framing on right side of spout floor, November 1959 (ac) crowntree and tentering gear, November 1959 (ad) spout floor: view looking down on crowntree and stone nut, November 1959 (ae) left side of spout floor with meal bin, November 1959 (af) spout floor with bridge trees, November 1959 (ag) post and crosstrees, November 1959 (ah-ai) derelict with 2 sails gone and roof mostly so, November 1959

BOBBINGWORTH, post mill; (1) Farries 2 (a) disused, 1919 (2) ERO (a) as Farries (3) TC (a-c) derelict with stocks and 2 sails (4) Col.l (a-b) becoming derelict, middle distance, with stocks and 2 sails (c) as (a-b) but close-up (5) SWM (a) derelict with stocks and 2 sails (some shutters missing from latter) (6) ERO (FC) (a-d) derelict with stocks and 2 sails (e-f) derelict with stocks and 2 sails, June 1919 (g) derelict with 2 sails down to stocks, May 1919 (h) inscription on internal timber (i) internal view (indistinct) (j) view of bins and chutes (k) brakewheel, stone nut and one pair of stones

BOCKING, post mill; (1) Farries 2 (a) close-up of sails, 1972
(2) Farries 1 (a) w/o (3) Farries 3 (a) as preserved, 1973 (b) view of spout floor, 1956 (4) D W Smith (a) w/o (5) Wailes (EW) (a) main post with collar (6) Wailes (SWF) (a) derelict with 4 sails (7) NMR (a) preserved (b-c) preserved, April 1933 (d) preserved, June 1932 (e-g) prior to repairs (h) lower rear of mill body with ladder and tailpole (i-m) as preserved in 1930s (8) UOK (MC) (a) as preserved, August 1932 (b-c) as preserved, Aug 1933 (d) view of tailpole, Aug 1932 (e) view of tailpole, Sept 1934 (f-i) as preserved, April 1941 (9) SRO/I (a) derelict with 4 sails (10) ERO (a-n) w/o (11) Col.l (a-b) preserved (12) SWM (a) w/o (13) TC (a) w/o, 20/9.19- (date hidden) (14) Essex Countryside magazine December 1967 (article on the mill by D R Possee, "An Essex Windmill That Has Been Preserved For Posterity," which presumably contains a photograph) (15) Hop-kins (a) w/o (16) ECC (DEW) (a) as preserved (17) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) w/o (18) Turpin (a-c) as preserved, but with weatherboarding damaged in places and needing a coat of paint, c1977 (one photo also shows one sail to be damaged) (19) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) as preserved (20) ERO (FC) (a-b) preserved, c1936 (c) preserved: view of one sail and part of body, c1936 (d) preserved, June 1965 (e) derelict with 4 sails, September 1948 (f) preserved, September 1936 (g) preserved, c1930 (h) brakewheel, stone nut, upright shaft, 2 pairs of stones and other gearing, September 1956 (i-j) spout floor showing part of tentering gear, September 1956 (k) looking down on brakewheel and windshaft from ridge between bins, September 1956 (l) view of last working sails, February 1972 (m) framing on right side of body showing repairs, February 1972 (n) close-up of sails and breast of preserved mill, April 1972 (o) close-up of sails and body of preserved mill, April 1972 (p) as preserved (q) as preserved, April 1941 (r) roundhouse with stones leaning against it, showing advert painted on wall, April 1972 (s-t) w/o (u) w/o, 1920 (v) left end of crowntree, February 1972 (w) preserved, September 1934

BOREHAM, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) surviving roundhouse, 1935 (2) NMR (a) surviving roundhouse, June 1933 (b) surviving roundhouse, Sept 1934 (3) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse, June 1933 (b) surviving roundhouse, Sept 1934 (c) surviving roundhouse, May 1935 (4) TC (a) surviving roundhouse, partly obscured by hedge (5) ERO (FC) (a) surviving roundhouse (b) surviving roundhouse, September 1934 (c) surviving roundhouse, September 1919

BRADFIELD, tower mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) after tailwinding in 1911, with cap, fan and 2 broken sails (2) NMR (a) the roofed-over tower roofed over, June 1933 (3) TC (a) w/o (4) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, c1910

BRADWELL-ON-SEA, smock mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (2) ERO (a) as Farries (3) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) w/o (4) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o

BRIGHTLINGSEA, post mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) w/o (2) Farries 3 (a) under demolition, 1913 (3) ERO (FC) (a) w/o (copied from Dr Dickens' History of Brightlingsea, 1939 edition)

BROXTED, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) derelict with stocks and 3 sails, 1936 (2) Turpin (WIE) (a) derelict with stocks and 3 sails (3) NMR (a) derelict, 1930s (b) derelict, August 1932 (c) derelict, June 1936 (d) derelict (under TAKELEY) (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with stocks and 3 sails, March 1932 (b-d) ditto, April 1936 (e-g) derelict with 2 sails, April 1941 (h) view of striking gear, April 1941 (5) ERO (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1924 (b-d) derelict with stocks and 3 sails (6) SWM (a) w/o, c1915 (7) ERO (FC) (a-e) derelict with 4 sails (f-g) derelict with 4 sails, 1936 (h) derelict with 4 sails, c1935 (i) derelict with 2 sails, June 1949 (j) derelict with 4 sails, 1934 (k) w/o, with lower part of body hidden by barn (l-m) derelict with 4 sails, October 1931 (n-o) derelict with 4 sails, April 1936 (p) w/o, with roundhouse obscured by trees and hedge (q) pulley inside mill (r) wreckage on ground after demolition: visible are post, brakewheel, windshaft, stone nuts, great spur wheel, wallower and upright shaft

BULMER, smock mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) disused with cap, c1920 (2) NMR (a) surviving base, April 1932 (b) surviving base, August 1932 (3) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, April 1936 (b) surviving base, November 1942 (4) ERO (a) derelict with cap (5) ERO (FC) (a) w/o (6) TC (a) disused with cap, 23rd June 1921

BURNHAM-ON-CROUCH, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (2) NMR (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, roof gone in one view (3) TC (a-b) derelict with 4 sails but most of roof gone (4) ERO (FC) (a-d) derelict with 4 sails (e-f) w/o

BURNHAM-ON-CROUCH, smock mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o

CHELMSFORD, windpump; (1) Essex Mills Group Newsletter, August 1992
(a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o

CLAVERING, North tower mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) stone assembly, 1941
(2) Farries 3 (a) w/o (b) great spur wheel and engine drive (c) quant and stone nut (d) tentering gear (e) circular meal bin (3) NMR (a+) derelict with cap but no sails, March 1932, and various other views (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with cap, June 1935 (c-e) ditto, March 1941 (f) stones, March 1941 (5) ERO (a) w/o, as Farries (6) ECC (DEW) (a) tower preserved with dummy cap (7) Turpin (WIE) (a) tower preserved with dummy cap (8) ERO (FC) (a) great spur wheel, July 1975 (b) circular meal bin, June 1974 (c) great spur wheel and bevel wheel, July 1975 (d) bearing at top of upright shaft, June 1974 (e) top of sack hoist chain, July 1975 (f) great spur wheel, July 1975 (g) great spur wheel, stone nut and quant, July 1975 (h) drive to grindstone on north side of stone floor, July 1975 (i) wall of bin floor, July 1975 (j) external view of the circular wooden structure surrounding base of tower, July 1975 (k-l) view of stone floor, March 1941 (m) ground floor from north, July 1975, showing modern machinery (n) derelict with cap, 1935 (o) base of tower, October 1971 (p) w/o (q-r) derelict with cap (s-t) with modern cap, October 1971 (u) derelict with cap, June 1935 (v) derelict with cap, south mill in background in similar condition, 1935 (w-x) underside of great spur wheel, June 1974 (y) east stone brayer, July 1975 (z) south tentering gear, July 1975 (aa) tenter-ing gear, July 1975 (ab-ac) bridge tree, June 1974 (ad) east ten-tering gear, June 1974 (ae) west tentering gear, July 1975 (af-ag) circular meal bin, July 1975 (ah) circular meal bin, June 1974 (ai) section of shot curb, July 1975

CLAVERING, South tower mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (2) NMR (a+) derelict with cap, March 1932, plus various other views (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, June 1935 (b-d) ditto, March 1941 (4) TC (a-b) derelict with cap (c) derelict with cap, 19th August 1921 (5) ECC (DEW) (a) tower preserved with dummy cap (6) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o with North Mill in background, 1912 (d-e) derelict with cap (f) derelict with cap, June 1935 (g) with modern cap (h) with modern cap, July 1974 (i) with modern cap, North Mill in back-ground, October 1971 (7) Turpin (WIE) tower with modern cap

COLCHESTER, Shrub End post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) surviving roundhouse, 1972 (b) dismantled substructure, 1973 (2) ERO (FC) (a-q) detail of trestle timbers on ground (r) surviving roundhouse

COLCHESTER, brickfield windpump; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o

COLCHESTER, Mile End post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (partially retouched)

COLCHESTER, Greenstead Mill, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o, probably c1907 (2) TC (a-c) surviving roundhouse (3) Col.l (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1899 (c-d) w/o, with open trestle (4) Hopkins (a) w/o (5) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o (c-d) w/o with open trestle (e) w/o with most of roundhouse roof missing (photo heavily retouched) (6) NMR (a) w/o (captioned "Hythe Mill")

COLNE ENGAINE, tower windpump; (1) ERO (FC) (a) w/o, in background (also in Halstead Gazette 19th January 1973)

CRESSING, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o

DAGENHAM, Chadwell Heath post mill(1); (1) Tony Clifford, "Barking and Dagenham Buildings Past And Present", Barking and Dagenham Libraries Dept 1992 (a) derelict with sail frames and fantail, 1900

DAGENHAM, Chadwell Heath post mill(2) ("Miss Bentley"); (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o, 1899 (2) ERO (a) as Farries (3) VHM (a) w/o, mid-distance (caption wrongly states mill demolished in First World War; in fact it went in 1906) (b) w/o, c1901 (c) w/o (d) w/o, 1903 (e) w/o, 1904 (f) derelict with 4 sails, roof partly gone, 1907 (date wrong, see above) (4) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o, 1899 (c-e) w/o (f) w/o, but with some damage to boarding

DAGENHAM, Mark's Gate, smock mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (2) P Gifford (w/o) (3) ERO (a) as Farries (4) VHM (a) derelict with no sails, distant view, 1913 (b) w/o (5) TC (a-c) derelict with fantail (6) ERO (FC) (a) w/o (b) derelict with 4 sails (c) w/o (retouched) (d) derelict with fantail (e) derelict with fantail, man standing on poll end, 1915

DANBURY, post mill; (1) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o (2) Peter Came, "Danbury And Little Baddow In Old Photographs", European Library 1987 (a) w/o

DEBDEN, tower mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) derelict with cap, 1936 (2) Farries 3 (a) w/o (3) NMR (a) derelict with cap, April 1933 (b) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, Aug 1933 (b) ditto, May 1934 (c) datestone and Chigwell arms, May 1934 (d) ditto, April 1936 (5) ERO (a-c) derelict with cap (d) derelict with cap, 1923 (6) TC (a) derelict with cap, seen across pond (7) Turpin (WIE) (a) tower preserved with dummy cap (8) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, as Farries 3 (d) derelict with cap, June 1930 (e) derelict with cap, May 1934 (f-g) derelict with cap, 1935 (h) derelict with no sails, April 1947 (i) derelict with no sails (j) converted to house with replica cap, June 1965

DEBDEN GREEN, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o, with 2 sails missing (2) Wailes (EW) (a) w/o with 2 sails (3) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o with 2 sails (b) w/o with 4 sails; very faint, middle distance

EAST TILBURY, smock windpump; (1) Farries 5 (a) derelict with 4 sails (2) D W Smith (a) derelict with 4 sails (3) ERO (FC) (a) derelict with 4 sails (b) derelict with 4 sails, as Farries 5

FEERING, post mill; (1) John Marriage, "Witham, Kelvedon, Hatfield Peverel, Silver End and Rivenhall: A Pictorial History", Phillinore 1985 (a) w/o, c1900 (N.B. This mill looks to me like Tolleshunt D'Arcy, and I suspect the photo has been wrongly identified)

FELSTED, Cock Green Mill, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o (2) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse, March 1942 (b-c) poll end on ground, May 1942 (d-e) roof of buck used as hen run, June 1942 (f) power mill and roundhouse, June 1942 (3) ERO (a) as Farries (4) TC (a) surviving roundhouse, 3rd May 1919 (5) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, as Farries 4 (d) top of body as cock pen, June 1942 (e) surviving roundhouse, March 1942 (f) surviving roundhouse, August 1942

FELSTED, Felsted Common, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) surviving roundhouse after demolition of body (2) UOK (MC) (a-c) surviving roundhouse, May 1942 (3) ERO (FC) (a) surviving roundhouse, May 1942

FINCHINGFIELD, Duck End post mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) disused with sails (2) Farries 4 (a) undergoing repairs in 1940s (3) Freese (a) close-up of morticed wooden poll end (4) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, August 1932 (b) disused but complete except for shutters, n.d. Appears to be magazine cutting (c-d) under repair, 1935 (same view as Farries (e-h) as restored with dummy sails (i) derelict with 4 sails (5) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, Sept 1934 (c) under repair, Sept 1935 (d) ditto, May 1936 (e) as preserved, May 1942 (6) ERO (a-h) derelict with 4 sails (i) derelict with 4 sails, July 1930 (j) undergoing repairs with body already reboarded, 1930s/40s (7) TC (a) disused with sail frames (b) disused with sail frames, 20th August 1921 (8) Col.l (a) derelict with 4 sails (9) ECC (DEW) (a) preserved, 1990s, with authentic sails and new wooden poll end (10) Turpin (a) as preserved, late 1970s (11) ERO (FC) (a-b) preserved with damaged sails, mid-C20 (c-f) disused with four sails (g) disused with four sails, 1920 (h) derelict with four sails (i) derelict with four sails, September 1934 (j) derelict with four sails, 1930 (k) under repair, mid-C20

FINCHINGFIELD, Daw Street post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) derelict with sails (2) NMR (a) same as Farries (3) TC (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (4) SWM (a) derelict with 4 sails (5) ERO (FC) (a-f) derelict with 4 sails

FINCHINGFIELD, Monk's Mill, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, middle distance

FOULNESS, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) derelict with 4 sails (2) ERO (FC) (a-i) derelict with 4 sails (3) TC (a) derelict with 4 sails, as Farries

FYFIELD, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) disused with sails (2) ERO (FC) (a-b) as Farries 4

GOOD EASTER, smock mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o

GREAT BADDOW, Upper Mill (Galleywood Common), smock mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (2) P Gifford (a) derelict without sails or poll end (3) ERO (a) derelict with cap (b) w/o (mid-distance, partly obscured by trees) (4) TC (5) ERO (FC) (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, c1890 (e) w/o (mid-distance, partly obscured by trees) (f) derelict with cap (g) derelict with cap, 1922(?) (h) derelict with cap, October 1931 (?)

GREAT BADDOW, Lower Mill, smock mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a) w/o

GREAT BARDFIELD, tower mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) disused with sails, 1934 (2) D W Smith (a) w/o (3) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (4) Wailes (EW) (a) great spur wheel (5) NMR (WC) (a-c) derelict with 2 sails (6) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails (b-c) ditto, August 1932 (d) ditto, Sept 1935 (e) ditto, n.d. (f) derelict with 2 sails (magazine cutting) (g) as house-converted in 1970s, with cap and sails restored (magazine cutting) (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1932 (b) ditto, August 1932 (c) ditto, Sept 1934 (d-e) ditto, May 1936 (f-h) ditto, March 1941 (i-j) ditto, May 1942 (k) detail of fan, May 1942 (8) ERO (a-g) disused with 4 sails (h) derelict with 2 sails, 1950 (i) w/o (9) Col.l (a-c) w/o (except for some missing shutters) (10) TC (a) w/o, 1919 (11) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o, with two men working on sails (12) Hopkins (a) w/o (13) ECC (DEW) (a) as house-converted (14) Turpin (a-b) as house-converted (15) Vince 1977 (a) as house-converted (16) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o (b) w/o: close-up of cap and fan (c) w/o, mid-distance (d) w/o, with some shutters missing, 1930 (e) w/o, 1924 (f-g) w/o with men attending to sails (h) w/o, apart from shutters in disarray; silhouette at night, c1936 (i) governor in Bardfield Cottage Museum, 1970 (j) as house-converted, March 1959 (k) close-up of cap, fan and derelict sails, 1936 (l) as house-converted (from property section of Country Life Supplement, 25th December 1980) (m) rear view of cap, fanstage and winding gear, May 1942 (n-o) disused with four sails (p-q) derelict with four sails (r) derelict with four sails, May 1942 (s) disused with four sails, 1935 (t) disused with four sails, September 1934 (u) disused with four sails, May 1936 (v) disused with four sails, 1936 (w) disused with four sails, c1938 (x) rear view of cap, fanstage, fan and winding gear (y) under repairs with sails off and man standing on scaffolding beside poll end (close-up view with nothing else of mill visible) (z) great spur wheel (aa) one pair of stones (ab) pulley (ac) governors and tentering gear (ad) new cap roof under construction (on ground?) with windshaft and brakewheel inside

GREAT BENTLEY, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a) w/o

GREAT CANFIELD, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) disused with sails (2) ERO (FC) (a-) derelict with four sails (3) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) disused with sails

GREAT CHESTERFORD, two smock mills; (1) according to Farries 3 the drawing which accompanies the entry for these mills is said to have been done from a photo

GREAT CLACTON post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) derelict with 2 sails (2) ERO (FC) (a) w/o with 2 sails (3) TC (a) derelict with 2 sails

GREAT DUNMOW, tower mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) disused with sails, probably pre-1907 (2) NMR (a) disused with cap, April 1939 (3) UOK (MC) disused with cap, April 1936 (4) ERO (a-b) roofed over tower only (c-d) disused with cap (5) TC (a) disused with cap, 3rd May 1919 (6) ECC (DEW) (a) tower preserved with replica cap, late C20 (7) Turpin (WIE) (a) tower preserved with replica cap (8) ERO (FC) (a) disused with sails (b-c) disused with cap (d) disused with cap, 1925 (e) disused with cap, 1935 (f) disused with cap, c1936 (g) disused with cap, April 1936 (h) disused with cap, June 1931 (i) capless tower (j) capless tower, May 1971 (k) with new cap, April 1974

GREAT EASTON, post mill; (1) Farries (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) surviving roundhouse, Sept 1934 (3) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse, April 1936 (4) ERO (FC) (a-e) w/o (f) surviving roundhouse (g-h) surviv-ing roundhouse, September 1934 (i) surviving roundhouse, April 1936

GREAT HOLLAND, smock mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) w/o (2) Farries 4
(a) truncated smock tower, March 1973 (3) NMR (a) disused with cap, June 1933 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) disused with cap, April 1936 (5) ERO (a) w/o, 1923 (b) disused with cap (6) TC (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, 12th September 1919 (7) ERO (FC) (a) burnt-out base, from Evening Gaz-ette 24th November 1985 (b) burnt-out base, from East Essex Gazette 28th December 1985 (8) Turpin (WIE) (a) w/o

GREAT LEIGHS, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) disused with sails (2) ERO (FC) (a-c) disused with sails

GREAT OAKLEY, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o (b) surviving roundhouse, 1948 (2) NMR (a) surviving roundhouse, June 1933 (b) surviving roundhouse, derelict and roofless with top of post and quarterbars showing, 1949 (3) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse, April 1936 (4) ERO (FC) (a) w/o (b) surviving roundhouse, April 1936 (c) surviving roundhouse, 1923 (d) ruined roundhouse with trestle inside, 1949

GREAT SAMPFORD, smock mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (b) the converted base, 1972 (c) the converted base, 1985 (2) NMR (a) surviving base, September 1934 (3) UOK (MC) surviving base, Sept 1934 (4) TC (a) surviving base, 20th August 1921 (5) ERO (FC) (a-c) surviving base d) the converted base, 1985 (e-f) w/o

GREAT TOTHAM, post mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) derelict with sails
(b) in course of demolition, 1911 (2) Farries 1 (a) derelict with sails (3) ERO (a) derelict with sails (4) ERO (FC) (a-c) disused with four sails (d-h) derelict with four sails (i) derelict, still with four sails but roof off (j) surrounding houses seen through bars of sail frame (k) during demolition, with men standing on roof, 1911 (l-m) during demolition, with men standing on roof (n-o) during demolition: body falling

GREAT TOTHAM, smock mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) w/o, with 4 shuttered sails (2) ERO (a) w/o with 2 shuttered sails, as Farries (3) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o, painted white with 2 common and 2 shuttered sails

GREAT WALTHAM, post mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) surviving roundhouse
(2) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse (3) ERO (FC) (a) surviving roundhouse, summer 1969 (b-c) surviving roundhouse, September 1972 (d) surviving roundhouse being inspected by Denis Sanders, Septem-ber 1972 (e-g) brick pier, September 1972

HADSTOCK/LINTON, tower mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o (2 sails miss-ing) (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) stump of tower, June 1941 (c) doorway, June 1941 (3) ERO (a-b) with 2 sails, as Farries 4 (c-d) stump of tower (e) base of tower (f-g) internal views of tower (4) A C Smith (WIC) (a) stump of tower, July 1970 (5) UOK (MC) (a) stump, May 1934 (6) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o with two sails (b) close-up of window, October 1971 (c) floorbeam, October 1971 (d) lower part of tower, October 1971 (e-f) stump of tower, October 1971

HALSTEAD, Frost's smock mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) w/o (2) Farries 3
(a) w/o (3) NMR (a-b) capless smock, Sept 1935 (4) UOK (MC) (a) capless smock, Sept 1935 (b-c) ditto, April 1936 (5) ERO (a) disused with sails (6) ERO (FC) (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, c1900 (g-i) section of old and newer curb preserved on site, April 1972 (j) section of old curb preserved on site, April 1972 (k-o) various pieces of ironwork preserved on site, April 1972 (p) capless smock, April 1936 (q) capless smock (r) capless smock, c1937 (s) derelict capless smock, 1947 (t) surviving base, August 1971 (u) wall of base, April 1972

HALSTEAD, Greenstead Green smock mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) derelict with cap, 1936 (2) NMR (a) disused with sails, June 1923 (b) w/o (c-d) smock tower only with cap and sails removed, Sept 1935 (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, April 1936 (4) ERO (a) w/o (b) disused with sails (c) derelict with cap (5) Col.l (a) derelict with cap (6) ERO (FC) (a-b) disused with 4 sails (c) derelict with cap (d) derelict with cap, c1938 (e) disused with no sails, April 1936

HATFIELD BROAD OAK, Hatfield Heath, tower mill; (1) Farries 4
(a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, artificially coloured postcard, wrongly captioned White Roding (c) w/o, c1904 (newspaper cutting) (d) w/o, distant view, Whit Monday 1908 (e) during demolition, 5th May 1909; men standing on stump of tower with rubble piled around its base (cutting from Dunmow Observer 29.12.1977)

HATFIELD BROAD OAK, Matching Tye, post mill; (1) Farries 4
(a) surviving roundhouse, 1940 (2) NMR (a) surviving roundhouse, March 1934

HATFIELD PEVEREL, smock mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1940 (b) upright shaft and wallower, 1940 (c) stone nut and spur wheel (2) Turpin (WIE) (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1922 (3) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, June 1932 (b) derelict with 4 sails, Sept 1934 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, Aug 1932 (c-d) derelict with 4 sails, June 1933 (e) ditto, Sept 1934 (f-i) ditto, April 1940 (j-p) internal views, April 1940 (5) ERO (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (c) derelict with 4 sails, as Farries (6) TC (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, 25th July 1919 (c) derelict with four sails, 25th August 1919 (7) Col.l (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (8) ERO (FC) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, July 1919 (c) derelict with 4 sails, 1929 (d) derelict with 4 sails, June 1933 (e) derelict with 4 sails, n.d. (f) derelict with 4 sails (one hidden by tower), September 1934 (g) derelict with 4 sails (one hidden by tower), 1935 (h-i) derelict with 4 sails, April 1940 (j) looking up at fan, fanstage and winding gear (k) close-up of cap, fan, winding gear and sails (l) sack hoist bollard, April 1940 (m) brakewheel, wallower and upright shaft, April 1940 (m) one pair of stones, April 1940 (n) governors, April 1940 (n) great spur wheel, April 1940

HENHAM, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o (2) UOK (MC) (a-b) surviving roundhouse, April 1941 (3) ERO (FC) (a) w/o (b) surviving roundhouse, April 1941 (c) surviving roundhouse, 28th September 1968

HIGH EASTER, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (2) NMR (a-b) derelict with no sails, April 1933 (c) w/o (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with no sails, April 1933 (b) ditto, September 1934
(4) ERO (a) w/o (b-d) derelict with no sails (5) Derek E Bircher, "Old Photographs Of High Easter", Sarsen Publishing 1989 (a) w/o with 4 sails (b) w/o with 2 sails (6) SWM (a) w/o or disused, with 2 sails (7) ERO (FC) (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, 1878 (e) w/o, with 2 sails (postmarked 1913) (f-h) derelict with no sails (i) derelict with no sails, September 1934 (j) derelict with no sails, 1935 (k-l) derelict with no sails, 1929 (m) derelict with no sails, 1934 (n) converted roundhouse, January 1970 (o-p) converted roundhouse, November 1973

HIGH ONGAR, smock mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) surviving base, April 1933 (3) UOK (MC) (a) surviving base, May 1942 (4) ERO (FC) (a) surviving base, May 1934 (b) surviving base, April 1970

HIGH RODING, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) surviving roundhouse, April 1933 (3) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse, May 1936 (b) surviving roundhouse, May 1942 (4) ERO (FC) (a) w/o (b) derelict without sails (c) surviving roundhouse, May 1936

HORNCHURCH, post mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) w/o (2) Hopkins (a) w/o, but with some shutters missing (3) Farries 4 (a) w/o (same view as Major & Watts) (4) ERO (a) w/o (5) TC (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, mid-distance (6) RL (a) w/o (7) ERO (FC) (a-d) w/o (8) NMR (in London file) (a) derelict with four sails, c1916 (b) w/o, March 1918 (?), middle distance, lower part hidden by trees and building (c) derelict with four sails, middle distance

HORNDON-ON-THE-HILL, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) derelict with sails (2) Gifford (a) derelict with sails (same view as Farries 4)
(3) NMR (a-b) disused with one damaged sail, n.d. (c) surviving roundhouse, June 1933 (b) surviving roundhouse, June 1939 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) surviving roundhouse, April 1940 (5) ERO (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (6) TC (a-b) surviving roundhouse (c) wreckage on ground, with 2 sails still attached to windshaft (7) ERO (FC) (a-e) derelict with four sails (f) surviving roundhouse, 1935 (g) surviving roundhouse, April 1940 (h) derelict with three sails, middle distance (i-j) crosstrees and piers, January 1972 (k-m) close-up of crosstrees, January 1972 (n) close-up of crosstree, January 1972 (o-p) crosstrees and piers, June 1972 (q-r) close-up of crosstrees, June 1972 (s-u) poll end on ground, June 1972 (v) retouched photo claiming to be Horndon-on-the-Hill - negative in possession of Mrs Voss, Rayleigh, in 1970 - but it looks like the one of the Rayleigh post mills I discovered

INGATESTONE, Mill Green post mill; (1) Farries 2 (a) disused with 2 sails, 1938 (b) post, quarterbars and sheers, 1960 (c) new crown-tree being lowered onto old post during renovation in 1959 (d) tail wheel and tailbeam, 1959 (e) brake wheel and tailwheel, 1959 (f) rebuilding nearing completion, 1959 (2) Farries 4 (a) disused with 2 sails, 1938 (3) NMR (a) derelict, before repairs of 1959-60 (b) in fair condition, June 1932 (4) UOK (MC) (a) disused with 2 sails, 1938 (5) ERO (a) derelict with part of one sail, just before restoration of 1950s (b) in 1930s, as Farries (c-d) as preserved (6) RL (a) in good condition with four sail frames - after rebuilding? Date unknown - 1960s? (7) TC (a-e) derelict with 3 and a half sails (f-g) ditto, middle distance (8) Turpin (a) as preserved (9) Essex Mills Group Newsletter August 1992 (a) as preserved (10) ERO (FC) (a) new roof framing under construction on ground (b) windshaft and brakewheel in course of assembly (c) new sail under construction (d) view of old framing showing decay (e) old roof in course of dismantling; windshaft and brakewheel still on (f) derelict, no sails: scaffolding being erected around mill prior to dismantling (g) new crowntree standing against roundhouse walls; part of trestle visible (h) almost complete: body of mill reboarded, roundhouse roof still missing, scaffolding taken down (i) ditto, except scaffolding still up (j) before dismantling, body surrounded by scaffolding (k) new body on and boarded but roof not yet fitted: windshaft, brakewheel and tailwheel exposed (l) old body still on but weatherboarding stripped off and roof nearly all dismantled (m) new framing on ground prior to fitting (n-o) exposed brakewheel and tailwheel (p) w/o (poor view, retouched) (q) early to mid-C20: disused with one sail broken off short and shutters in disarray (r-s) derelict with no sails, just prior to dismantling for rebuilding, late 1950s (t+) various other photographs too numerous to list, all showing restoration and rebuilding of mill in 1959-61

KELVEDON HATCH, smock mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o, c1910 (2) NMR (a) w/o (3) ERO (a-c) w/o (4) TC (a-b) w/o (c-e) derelict with sails (5) ERO (FC) (a-g) w/o

LINDSELL, smock mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) cap on ground, 1936 (2) UOK (MC) (a) cap on ground, May 1936 (3) ERO (FC) cap on ground: detail of decayed boarding, 1971

LITTLE BARDFIELD, Hawkspur Green smock mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) w/o (2) Turpin (WIE) (a) derelict with 2 sails (3) Farries 3 (a) wreckage after mill blown down, 1929 (4) ERO (a) as Turpin (5) ERO (FC) (a) w/o, as Farries 1 (b-c) derelict, as Turpin (d) derelict with stocks and fragments of sails (e) ditto, middle-distance (f) ruined base with wreckage inside, 1929 (g) wreckage and machinery on ground, 1929 (6) TC (a) derelict, as Turpin

LITTLE BENTLEY, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) disused with sails (2) ERO (FC) (a) disused with sails

LITTLE CANFIELD, post mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) w/o (2) TC (a) derelict with no sails (b-c) derelict with no sails, 8th October 1919 (3) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o (c) derelict with no sails and body leaning sideways

LITTLE DUNMOW, Throws' Mill, post mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) the converted roundhouse, April 1933 (b) ditto, June 1939
(3) Moore (a) converted roundhouse (4) ERO (FC) (a-d) w/o (e) converted roundhouse, August 1933 (f) converted roundhouse, April 1971

LITTLE LAVER, composite mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) w/o, 1922 (2) Farries 4 (a) disused with sails (b) w/o (c) windshaft, brake and tail wheels and other wreckage, and part of tower mill base during demolition in 1963 (3) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (4) D W Smith (a) w/o (5) Wailes (EW) (a) w/o (6) NMR (a-c) derelict with 4 sails (d-h) derelict with 4 sails, April 1933 (i) derelict with 4 sails, March 1932 (h) derelict with 4 sails, August 1947 (7) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, May 1950 (b-d) derelict with 4 sails, July 1961 (e) detail of rear of buck, July 1961 (8) ERO (a-g) derelict with 4 sails (h) w/o, 1922 (9) TC (a-b) w/o, middle distance, 29th May 1919 (c) w/o (10) SWM (a) w/o (11) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o (12) TIMS Transactions 3rd Symposium 1973 (a) w/o (13) Turpin (WIE) (a) disused with 4 sails (14) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, May 1919 (d-ce w/o, 1922 (f) w/o, 1924 (g) w/o apart from damaged fantail, 1929 (h) w/o apart from damaged fantail, c1930 (i-k) derelict with 4 sails (l-n) derelict with 4 sails, August 1955 (o) derelict with 4 sails, 1941 (p-q) derelict with 4 sails, July 1940 (r) derelict with 4 sails, mid-C20; scaffolding erected against one side of body to prop mill up (s-t) derelict with no sails, 1960 (u) derelict with no sails, April 1960 (o) demolition, December 1963: ruined walls of tower with heap of timbers and machinery at base (p-r) wreckage, December 1963: windshaft, brakewheel, tailwheel and heap of iron gearing (s) demolition, December 1963: rubble, ruined tower, millstone and bits of machinery (t-u) wreckage etc at base of tower, December 1963 (v-w) brakewheel or tailwheel on ground, December 1963 (x) ruined half-demolished tower with wreckage at bottom, December 1963 (y) wreckage, December 1963: timber with unidentified metal fitting on it

LITTLE TOTHAM, Barrow Hill Mill, smock mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o with 2 sails (2) P Lacey, Maldon And Heybridge (Archive Photographs Series), Chalford Publishing 1996 (a) w/o with 2 sails (in section on Beeleigh/Heybridge district) (3) ERO (FC) (a) w/o with 2 sails (b) with at least two sails, top of cap cut off (c) family group with 2 horse-and-carts in front of mill (d) part of smock tower with one sail visible; family group with women and children in cart with horse in front of mill

MANUDEN, smock mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) derelict with sails (b) upright shaft with machine drive and cow-pop gear (2) Wailes (EW)
(a) disused with 4 sails (same as Farries 4) (3) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with cap, September 1934 (b) ditto, June 1935 (c-f) derelict with cap, February 1941 (g) view of cow-pop gear, February 1941 (4) NMR (a) derelict with cap, March 1934 (5) ERO (a) derelict with cap (b) derelict with cap, 1923 (6) TC (a) derelict with cap, 19th August 1921 (7) ERO (FC) (a) wreckage on ground, 1947

MARGARET RODING, Waples Mead Farm, post mill; (1) Major & Watts
(a) derelict, 1896, with 2 sails (in upside-down V shape) visible (2) Farries 4 (a) as Major and Watts (same view) (3) ERO (FC) (a) as Major and Watts

MASHBURY, smock mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) surviving base, 1972 (2) ERO (FC) (a-c) surviving base, March 1972

MAYLAND, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) w/o (3) ERO (a) w/o, as Farries (4) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o

MORETON, post mill; (1) Farries 2 (a) w/o (b) view of post with inscription, 1940 (c) the three crosstrees, 1960 (d) view of spout floor, 1960 (e) view looking up from spout floor and showing post, sprattle beam, bridgetree, spur gearing and stone nuts, 1956 (f) the clasp-arm tailwheel, 1960 (g) belt-driven centrifugal governor, 1940 (2) Farries 1 (a) brake wheel, wallower and stones, 1960 (b) w/o (rear view of roundhouse and lower body) (3) Farries 4 (a) disused with sails (4) D W Smith (a) close-up view of ladder and tailpole (b) governor (c) mill in w/o (5) Wailes (EW) (a) trestle, showing 3 crosstrees and 6 quarterbars (b) tail wheel (6) UOK (MC)
(a) derelict with 2 sails, 1961 (7) NMR (a) w/o (b-c) becoming derelict, post-1932 (d) brakewheel and remains of sails after mill's demolition, taken from Essex Countryside March 1964 (e) derelict with 2 sails, post-1932, taken from EC March 1964 (f-i) derelict with 2 sails, 1956 (j-m) derelict with 2 sails, 1958 (n-o) w/o, March 1932 (p) as preserved, June 1937 (q-r) w/o, April 1933
(s-aq) internal views (8) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, Aug 1932 (c) w/o, Aug 1933 (d) view of tailpole, Aug 1933 (e) as preserved, July 1940 (f-g) detail of sweeps, July 1940 (h) detail of post and quarterbars, July 1940 (i) base of post, July 1940 (j) date on post, July 1940 (k) governors, July 1940 (l) detail of tailwheel, July 1940 (m) stones, brakewheel and wallower, July 1940 (n-o) as preserved, May 1950 (p-r) derelict with 2 sails, July 1961 (s) date on post, July 1961 (9) ERO (a-b) preserved with sail frames (c-e) w/o (f) w/o, as Turpin (g) w/o, with man standing in doorway, as Farries (h) derelict with 2 sails, 1960 (10) SWM (a) w/o (11) S Pewsey, "Epping and Ongar: A Pictorial History", Phillimore 1997 (a) w/o (wrongly captioned as Moreton) (12) TIMS Transactions 4th Symposium 1977 (a) disused with sails (13) Turpin (WIE) (a) w/o (14) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, mid-distance (d) w/o, c1930 (e) 1927 (f) w/o, 1922 (g) w/o, August 1922 (h) w/o with man in doorway (i) preserved: part of mill body and two sails visible, May 1948 (j) preserved, c1930 (k) preserved but with one damaged sail, 1924 (l-n) preserved, mid-C20 (o) preserved with one damaged sail, looking up at poll end, May 1948 (p) stock, canister and brakewheel on ground after demolition, May 1964 (q) preserved, looking up at poll end, July 1940 (r) date on post, July 1940 (s) bin floor with sack hoist (t) date on post, April 1924 (u) crosstrees and horns of post (v) main post, tenter-ing gear and spur gearing (w) looking up at great spur wheel and spur gearing, 1956 (x) tailwheel (y) brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft and two pairs of stones, April 1960 (z) part of brakewheel with stone behind it, July 1940 (aa) crowntree on ground after demolition, May 1964 (ab) ladder and tailpole (ac) brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft and two pairs of stones, July 1940 (ad) wreckage on ground after demolition (ae) windshaft, brakewheel, tailwheel and post on ground after demolition, May 1964 (ab) post, brakewheel and canister on ground after demolition, May 1964 (ac) quarterbars and top of main post, 1956 (ad) junction of post and crosstrees, July 1940 (ae) demolition: mill derelict with two sails, roundhouse roof off, body leaning as cable starts to pull it over and pieces falling off, May 1964 (af) brakewheel, canister and other wreckage on ground, trestle still standing, April 1964 (ag) demolition: cable being attached to mill, April 1964 (ag) derelict with two sails just prior to demolition, April 1964 (ah) after demolition, April 1964: trestle and crowntree still standing with some pieces of framing still attached (ai-aj) wreckage on ground: stock still attached to poll end with pieces of sail frame attached (ak+) there is another small envelope of photos within the third one which the compiler has not yet consulted

MOUNT BURES, Newman's Mill, post mill; (1) Farries 3 (a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, mid-distance

MOUNT BURES, Doe's Mill, post mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1936 (2) Farries 3 (a) w/o (b) tail wheel on ground, 1960 (3) NMR (a) windshaft and tailwheel, 1960 (b-d) derelict with 4 sails, April 1933 (4) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, April 1936 (b) ditto, 1936 (c) view of roundhouse, April 1936 (5) ERO (a) derelict with 4 sails, as Farries (b-c) derelict with 4 sails (d) derelict but complete apart from damaged sail (6) TC (a) w/o except for one damaged sail, 21st June 1920 (7) Col.l (a-b) becoming derelict with 4 sails (8) Turpin (WIE) (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1930s (9) ERO (FC) (a) w/o (b) derelict with 4 sails, June 1920 (c-d) derelict with 4 sails, April 1936 (e) derelict with 4 sails, July 1932 (f) roundhouse, lower breast and part of sail, April 1936 (g) windshaft and tailwheel on ground, 1960 (h) derelict with 4 sails, c1930? (i) derelict with 4 sails (j-k) derelict with 4 sails, c1935 (l) derelict with 4 sails, c1938 (m-n) rear of body, ladder and tailpole, c1938

MOUNTNESSING, post mill; (1) Farries 2 (a) view of collar on post, 1972 (2) Farries 4 (a) w/o, 1905, with thatched roundhouse roof (b) new roof in course of fitting, August 1980 (c) Vincent Pargeter, Essex County Millwright, standing beside brakewheel, April 1981 (d) mill during course of repair, Autumn 1980, showing side of body stripped of boards and new tail frame and lower side girt in position (e) w/o, 1984 (3) D W Smith (a) w/o (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) disused with sails, July 1932 (b) derelict with 3 sails, May 1935 (c-b) as preserved, Aug 1938 (5) NMR (a) derelict, pre-1960 (b) as preserved (c) as preserved, 1957 (d-f) as preserved, 1960 (g-h) derelict with 3 sails, June 1936 (i) derelict with 3 sails, May 1935 (j-k) w/o (l-n) disused, June 1932 (o) disused, August 1932 (6) ERO (a) w/o (b) w/o, 1923 (c) w/o, 1929 (d-e) w/o, 1930 (7) TC (a) w/o, with 2 sails removed and awaiting replacement, September 1914 (8) Col.l (a) w/o (9) Essex Countryside magazine, November 1967 (a) as preserved (10) Vince 1993 (a) w/o, 1990s (11) ECC (DEW) (a) w/o, 1990s (b) miller at work inside mill, 1990s (12) Turpin (WIE) (a-b) as preserved, late 1970s (13) Mountnessing Windmill, Its History And Restoration And How It Works, Essex County Council (a) w/o, c1905 (b) view of stone floor (14) Vince 1968 (a) as preserved (15) SPAB, Mills Open 2000 (a) w/o, c2000 (16) Vince 1977 (a) as preserved (17) ERO (FC) (a) derelict with three sails, from 1937 restoration appeal leaflet (b-c) derelict with three sails (d) post, quarterbars and crosstrees, autumn 1935 (e) side framing during restoration, 1980 (f-i) w/o (j) w/o, distant view (k) w/o, 1925 (l-q) w/o, 13th November 1983 (r) w/o, September 1914, just after fitting of two new sails, and with thatched roundhouse (s-t) derelict with three sails, 1935 (u) derelict with four sails (v) new roof on ground, summer 1980 (w) as preserved, February 1953 (x-y) as preserved, August 1959 (z) as preserved, September 1953 (aa) as preserved, August 1960 (ab) as preserved, 1970 (ac-ad) as preserved, March 1970 (ae) disused, 1950s, with one sail broken off short and stripped of framing (af) new roof being lifted into place, August 1980 (ag-ah) top of main post, quarterbars, sheers and collar, October 1972 (ai) tail beam and tail bearing of windshaft, October 1972 (aj) w/o, November 1983: the late Hervey Benham and others gathered at foot of steps. HB is speaking through a microphone and there is a man in mayoral robes and a woman who is presumably the mayoress (ak) tail frame being removed or fitted, 1980s (al-an) brakewheel and sack hoist, October 1972 (ao-ap) brakewheel, wallower and upright shaft, October 1972 (aq) brakewheel, October 1972 (ar) rear end of left side girt, October 1972 (as) sag iron on left hand side of buck, October 1972 (at) spout floor with main post, October 1972 (au) view of bin floor showing tail beam and tail bearing of windshaft, October 1972 (av) windshaft and tail beam, October 1972 (aw) wallower, October 1972 (ax) brakewheel and upright shaft (ay) as preserved, 1960 (az) foot of upright shaft and great spur wheel, October 1972 (ba) view of trestle, October 1972 (bb-bc) intersection of post, crosstrees and horns, October 1972 (bd) upper part of post and quarterbars, Octob-er 1972 (be) derelict with four sails, July 1932 (bf) tailpole, roundhouse roof and underside of buck, October 1972 (bg) stepped brick pier, October 1972 (bh) stone nut and tentering gear, October 1972 (bi) sag iron on right hand side of buck, October 1972

ORSETT, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) surviving roundhouse (2) NMR (a) surviving roundhouse, June 1936 (3) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse, Oct 1936 (b) ditto, June 1954 (4) ERO (FC) (a) surviving roundhouse, October 1936 (b) surviving roundhouse, February 1971

ORSETT, Baker Street smock mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) derelict, 1936
(2) Farries 2 (a) derelict, 1936 (b) compass arm great spur wheel and stone nuts, 1959 (3) Farries 4 (a) w/o (4) D W Smith (a) w/o (5) Turpin (WIE) (a) w/o (b) derelict, c1976 (6) Blythman (a) derelict, 1970 (b) derelict, 1980 (c) under restoration/house conversion, with cap frame and sail remains removed, smock surrounded by scaffolding, and steam mill and chimney renovated, August 1987 (d) as restored, April 2000 (7) Wailes & Clark (a) sack hoist drive (8) NMR (a) w/o (b) derelict, 1930s (c) derelict, June 1932 (d) derelict, August 1932 (e) derelict, June 1939 (9) NMR (WC) (a) derelict with most of cap roof gone, but windshaft and one sail plus half of adjacent stock, probably 1960s (10) SPAB Mills Section (a) derelict, 1981 (11) ECC (DEW) (a) the repaired smock tower, 1990s (12) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict, August 1932 (c-e) derelict, October 1936 (f-g) derelict, April 1940 ((h-m) derelict with one sail, half of adjacent stock and collapsing cap, June 1954 (13) in 1983 there was a photo of the mill in w/o, taken from the front, in the bar of the nearby public house (along with a rather fine painting of the derelict mill and steam mill c1970). The compiler is not sure whether they are still there. Photo probably early C20 (14) ERO (a) view of derelict windmill, steam mill and chimney, c1970, seen from front across fields (b) w/o, as Farries, Smith and Turpin (c) derelict with damaged sails, 1924 (d-e) derelict with damaged sails, 1930 (f-g) derelict with 2 adjacent sails, 1930s (15) Essex Countryside magazine August 1967 (a) derelict with one sail etc (16) ERO (FC) (a) w/o, early C20, appears same as that in the pub (caption says "bought at Orsett Post Office 1.4.1982, copied from photo in possession of an old villager" (b) bolter, September 1967 (c) spout floor showing part of internal hurst frame structure, September 1967 (d) great spur wheel and stone nut, September 1967 (e) derelict with one sail and collapsing cap (f) derelict showing cap frame, winding gear, chainwheel and one sail, September 1967 (g) derelict showing windshaft, brakewheel and one sail, May 1964 (h) derelict, rear view showing extent of decay of structure and distortion of main timbers, with cap frame, winding gear and chainwheel visible, September 1967 (i) derelict showing windshaft, brakewheel, one sail etc, September 1967 (j-m) derelict with cap and one sail, 1930s (n-o) w/o (p) derelict with two adjacent sails, early C20 (q) derelict with one sail, October 1936 (r) derelict with one sail, 1935 (s-t) derelict with one sail, c1938 (u) derelict with one sail, probably 1930s (v) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and one sail, August 1959 (w) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and one sail, middle distance, c1970 (x) derelict, August 1959, looking up at poll end (y) pulley and belt drive on bin floor, August 1959 (z-aa) great spur wheel, August 1959 (ab-ac) wallower, August 1959 (ad) brakewheel and windshaft, August 1959 (ae) windshaft and neck bearing, August 1959 (af) sack hoist, August 1959 (ag) neck bearing of windshaft and section of curb, August 1959 (ah) tentering gear and machine drive, August 1959 (ai) framing on north-west face of stone floor, August 1959 (aj) belt pulley positioned between bin and dust floor levels, August 1959 (ak) framing on bin floor with part of tentering gear, August 1959 (al) striking gear and worm gear, August 1959 (am) looking to east from top of mill, showing part of winding gear, August 1959 (an) section of curb with centring wheel, August 1959 (ao-ap) striking gear, August 1959 (aq-ar) tailbeam with sack hoist bollard, August 1959 (as) great spur wheel and sprattle beam, August 1959 (at) wallower and sack hoist bollard, August 1959 (au) windshaft, wallower and spindle beam, August 1959 (av) part of smock tower, base and remains of stage with weights hanging down, 1938 (aw) great spur wheel, stone nut and quant, August 1959 (ax) wallower, c1938 (ay) brakewheel, August 1959 (az) section of curb, August 1959 (ba) brakewheel, wallower and brake, August 1959 (bb) bin floor showing upright shaft, machine drive and bin section, August 1959 (17) TC (a) w/o, 1914, as Gifford (b-c) derelict with two and a half sails (18) TM (a) derelict with two complete and two broken sails, 1920s?

PELDON, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o (2) ERO (a) w/o (3) ERO (FC) (a-c) w/o (roundhouse and lower part of body obscured by tree) (d) w/o, mid-distance (e) w/o, retouched (f) w/o (4) WMM (a) w/o

PURLEIGH, Raven's Mill, smock mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) derelict with cap, pre-1920 (2) TC (a) derelict with cap, 24th August 1919 (b-c) derelict with cap, March 1921 (3) ERO (FC) (a-e) derelict with cap (f-i) wreckage after demolition

PURLEIGH, composite mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) disused with 2 broken and 2 complete sails, probably pre-1890 (2) ERO (FC) (a-b) disused as Farries

RADWINTER, smock mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) becoming derelict, with 4 sails (b) derelict with 4 sails (3) ERO (a) very derelict with 3 sails visible (4) SWM (a) derelict with 4 sails (5) ERO (FC) (a) w/o (b-g) derelict with four sails (h-i) derelict with four sails, partly obscured by buildings (different views) (j) derelict with four sails, middle distance (6) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

RAMSEY, post mill; (1) Wailes (TEW) (a) w/o (2) Farries 2 (a) w/o
(b) worm gear on post from fantail, 1968 (c) spout floor with bridge tree and brayer (d) spur wheel, stone nut and governor, 1974
(e) brake wheel and sack hoist, 1974 (f) bolter, 1974 (g) under restoration, 1974 (h) under restoration 1974: man working on sails (3) Farries 4 (a) w/o (4) D W Smith (a) w/o (5) NMR (a-b) w/o, pre-1939 (c) w/o, June 1933 (d) derelict, 1964 (6) UOK (MC) (a-c) w/o, April 1936 (7) ERO (a-h) w/o (i) w/o (from Country Life 9.9.1954) (j) disused with 4 sail frames and fan supports (8) Essex Countryside Magazine, 1960s (exact date of issue not noted) (a-b) derelict with 4 sails (9) TC (a) w/o (10) Col.l (a-b) w/o (11) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) w/o (12) Wailes (WIE) (a) w/o (13) ECC (DEW) (a) as preserved, late C20 (14) Turpin (a-b) under repair with body reboarded and painted, sails still on, 1970s (15) ERO (FC) (a-e) w/o (f) w/o, lower half hidden by building, from Scotts advertisement (g) w/o, c1904 (h-j) w/o, April 1936 (k) w/o, September 1936 (l) derelict with four sails, middle distance, c1970 (m) w/o, poor view (n-p) derelict with four sails, August 1953 (q-t) derelict with four sails, June 1968 (u) Mr Lungley, miller, standing on steps April 1936 (v) great spur wheel, stone nut and governor, February 1975 (w) bridge trees, February 1975 (x-y) iron proof staff leaning against roundhouse wall, February 1975 (z) millstone on ground outside mill, February 1975 (aa) forward right hand bridge tree, February 1975 (ab) tailwheel, February 1975 (ac) gear on top of post, September 1974 (ad) left hand side of stone floor with one pair of stones, September 1974 (ae) brakewheel with two cog rings and sack hoist (af) great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and governor (ag) tentering gear, 1975 (ah-ai) gear on top of post and drive from fan (aj) foot of ladder and roundhouse walls, August 1953 (ak) brakewheel, wallower and great spur wheel, June 1968 (al) foot of ladder, June 1968 (am) great spur wheel, brakewheel, wallower, upright shaft, quants, stone nuts and one pair of stones, June 1968 (an) brakewheel and sack hoist, June 1968 (ao-ap) top of post and crowntree, June 1968 (aq) striking wheel and tailbeam, June 1968 (ar) framing with twist peg, June 1968 (as) governor, bridge tree, great spur wheel and stone nut, June 1968 (at) right front of spout floor, June 1968 (au) left hand rear side of spout floor, June 1968 (av) brakewheel, June 1968 (aw) pair of stones in iron casing, June 1968 (ax) rear of body and ladder, June 1968 (ay) bricked-in pier on first floor of roundhouse, June 1968 (az) derelict but with ladder leaning against roundhouse wall and windows sheeted with polythene (ba) view of roof boarding and remains of fan support timbers, August 1974 (bb) bracket transferring the weight of the corner post to the bottom side rail, new tie to bottom side rail and old sag iron, September 1974 (bc) spout floor framing with RSJ, September 1974 (bd) Chris Hullcoop, Brian Flint and another talking inside mill, September 1974 (be) Chris Hullcoop on roof dismantling fan support timbers (bf) Chris Hullcoop and others on roof reboarding it, September 1974 (bg-bi) mill surrounded by scaffolding, September 1974 (bj) mill surrounded by scaffolding with men working on it, September 1974 (bk) view of roof boarding and fan support timbers, September 1974 (bl-bm) man working on roof, September 1974 (bn) with scaffolding and ladders up, front view, September 1974 (bo) men working on striking gear, September 1974 (bp) left side of body in course of boarding, new roof already boarded, September 1975 (bq) scaffolding up and men working on mill, September 1975 (br) new weatherboards being painted, September 1975 (bs-bt) man working on roundhouse roof, September 1975 (bu-cb) scaffolding up and men working on mill, September 1975 (cc-cd) men working inside mill, September 1975 (ce) view of rotten timbers, September 1975 (cf) man working on timber of mill with boarding around it dismantled, September 1975 (cg) side of mill partly weatherboarded, September 1975 (ch) view of rotten framing on side of mill seen through scaffolding, with new weatherboards above it, September 1975 (ci) men working on new side framing, September 1975 (16) NCL (RW) (a) w/o

RAYLEIGH, tower mill; (1) Farries 2 (a) fitting of new cap, June 1974 (2) Farries 1 (a) w/o (3) Farries 4 (a) w/o (4) Wailes (EW)
(a) sails being removed as part of dismantling of mill, 1909 (5) Bennett & Elton (a) w/o (6) NMR (a-e) as preserved, post-1974 (f) w/o, 1907 (g) w/o, distant view (h) castellated tower, June 1933 (7) UOK (MC) (a) castellated tower, Aug 1932 (b) ditto, Oct 1936 (8) ERO (a) new sails being fitted (b) w/o, as Farries and Turpin (9) Southend Museum (a) w/o (caption says "from Geoff Dawson Collection") (10) TC (a) w/o, middle distance (b-d) castellated tower (11) Vince 1993 (a) as restored (stage not yet fitted) (12) ECC (DEW) (a) as restored: cap, sails, fantail and upper part of tower showing above houses (b) as restored, 1990s, with stage (13) TIMS Transactions 5th Symposium 1977 (a) w/o (14) Turpin (WIE) (a) as restored (b) w/o (15) ERO (FC) (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, 1907 (e) w/o, August 1900 (f) w/o, middle distance, 1901 (g) w/o (middle dis-tance, poor view) (h) w/o, middle distance (taken from roof of church tower) (i) w/o, middle distance, taken from roof of church tower, poor view (j-l) castellated tower, March 1970 (m-o) meeting of Rayleigh and District Antiquarian and Natural History Society outside mill, March 1970 (p-q) castellated tower, seen from church (r) castellated tower, August 1971 (s) castellated tower with stage, early C20 (t) new cap being fitted by crane (u) new sails just fitted, summer 1974 (v) restoration: stocks just fitted, with men working on them (w+) numerous photographs detailing the construction of the new cap

RAYLEIGH, post mill, one of two standing at Picton House, Eastwood Road; (1) Ernest Lane and Edward Fitzgerald, "Rayleigh: A Pictorial History" (Phillimore 1991) (a) apparently disused (shutters appear to be falling out), date unknown but probably late C19
NOTE: this mill is possibly Horndon-On-The-Hill

RIDGEWELL, Drury Lane Mill, post mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a) w/o (b) as in SW Library, with body of mill partly obscured by trees (c) as (b) but middle distance

ROMFORD, Collier's Mill, post mill (evidently the mill listed by Farries as standing at TQ517893); (1) Brian Evans, "Britain In Old Photographs: Romford", Sutton Publishing 1992 (a) w/o, c1865
(2) RL (a) photocopy of Evans picture

SAFFRON WALDEN, Seward's End, post mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o
(b) disused with 2 sails (2) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o (b-c) disused with two sails

SAFFRON WALDEN, Ruse's Mill, smock mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) disused with cap but no sails or windshaft, 1934 (2) NMR (a) as Farries 1, April 1933 (3) UOK (MC) (a-b) disused with cap but no sails or windshaft, May 1934 (c) ditto, April 1936 (4) SWL (a) under demolition, 1955: cap roof removed along with about half the boarding of the smock and much of the intermediary framing, some timbers and machinery on ground (b) under demolition, 1955: close-up of timbers and machinery, including solid wooden stone nut, on ground (5) ERO (FC) (a) with no sails or windshaft (b-c) with no sails or windshaft, September 1934 (d-e) with no sails or windshaft, 1937 (f) with no sails or windshaft, c1937 (g) under demolition, 1955, as SWL photo (h) under demolition, 1955: machinery on ground

SAFFRON WALDEN, Middleditch's Mill, smock mill; (1) Farries 5
(a) w/o, in or pre-1896 (2) H C Stacey, "Saffron Walden In Old Photos", C W Daniel Company Ltd 1980 (a) w/o (3) ERO (FC) (a-e) w/o

SIBLE HEDINGHAM, Cutmaple Mill, post mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) derelict with 2 sails, 1934 (b) gearing on stone floor, 1952 (2) Farries 4 (a) w/o (3) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails, June 1932 (b-d) derelict with 2 sails, Sept 1935 (e) derelict with 2 sails, roof gone, June 1948 (4) UOK (MC) (a-c) derelict with 2 sails, August 1933 (d-e) derelict with 2 sails, Sept 1934 (f) derelict with 2 sails, roof gone, March 1941 (g-h) ditto, December 1942 (5) ERO (a) derelict, with one complete sail and part of another visible (b-d) derelict with part of one sail visible (c-e) derelict with 2 damaged sails visible, as Farries (f) disused with one complete sail and part of another visible, 1923 (6) SWM (a) w/o, c1915 (7) TC (a) derelict with 2 adjacent sails and a fragment of a third (b) in same condition as (a), 28.6.1920 (8) Col.l (a) derelict with three-quarters of one stock with fragments of the sails (9) Adrian Corder-Birch, "A Pictorial History of Sible Hedingham," Halstead and District Local History Society 1998 (a) w/o (b) w/o, as Farries (10) ERO (FC) (a-d) derelict with two sails (e) derelict with two sails (only one visible) (f) derelict with three sails, June 1920 (g) derelict with three sails (h-i) derelict with two sails, September 1934 (j) close-up of body, September 1934 (k-l) derelict, c1956, with windshaft, brakewheel and two sails still on but most of body gone behind crowntree (m) derelict, 1956 (n-o) wallower, great spur wheel and stone nuts, 1952 (p) w/o (q) disused with two sails (r) close-up of windshaft and brakewheel, 1952

SIBLE HEDINGHAM, Lamb Lane, tower mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o (2) Col.l (a) w/o (3) TC (a) w/o (b) w/o, 28th June 1920 (4) Corder-Birch, as Cutmaple (a) w/o (b) derelict, with three-quarters of one stock with sail fragments (5) ERO (FC) (a-e) w/o

SOUTHMINSTER, West Mill, smock mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a) w/o

SOUTHMINSTER, East Mill, Cripplegate Mill, smock mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (2) NMR (a-b) w/o (c) disused with cap (d) (3) TC (a-b) w/o c1916, as Gifford (c) disused with cap, 22nd February 1921 (4) ERO (FC) (a-l) w/o (m) derelict with cap, May 1923 (n) w/o (re-touched, with cap and sails just visible above roof of house)

SOUTH OCKENDON, smock mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) w/o, c1920 (2) Farries 2 (a) w/o (b) view of winding worm, 1970 (c) brakewheel, 1975 (d) detail of spider, triangles etc, 1970 (e) dismantling of wreckage after mill's collapse, November 1977 (3) Farries 4 (a) w/o
(4) Gifford (a) w/o, same view as Farries 4 (5) This England Magazine (1980s: exact date unknown) (a) w/o (b) derelict, 1976 (6) D W Smith (a) w/o (7) Blythman (a) derelict, 1970 (8) Essex Countryside 1977 (exact date of issue not recorded) (a) derelict (b) w/o (9) SPAB Mills Section (a) derelict with remains of 4 sails, 1976? (10) NMR (a-e) derelict, 1962 (b) w/o (c-d) derelict, June 1932 (11) UOK (MC) (a) derelict, August 1932 (b-e) derelict, April 1940 (f-i) derelict, June 1954 (12) ERO (a-b) derelict with 4 sails, 1931 (c-e) derelict with 4 sails (f) w/o, as EC 1977 (g) derelict as EC 1977 (h) derelict, mid-distance (13) ERO (FC) (a-g) 7 negatives of machinery from mill in store at South Woodham Ferrers, April 1978 (h) brakewheel and windshaft (i) worm gear, 1964 (j) looking up through openings in floors to top of mill, May 1964 (k) great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and underside of millstone (l) great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and bevel wheel, May 1964 (m-p) wreckage, November 1977 (q) upright shaft and auxiliary drive gear (r) great spur wheel, upright shaft and auxiliary drive gear, June 1964 (s-t) windshaft and arms of brakewheel, June 1964 (u) striking rod and rack, June 1964 (v) winding gear and worm, May 1970 (w) detail of winding gear, June 1964 (x) worm gear, June 1964 (y) curb, rack and underside of cap frame with truck wheel, June 1964 (z) unidentified detail of machinery, June 1964 (aa) auxiliary drive bollard, June 1964 (ab) looking out onto fanstage with fan drive shaft and gearing, June 1964 (ac-ad) detail of sails, spider and triangles, April 1951 (ae-al) w/o (am) derelict with four sails, April 1940 (an) derelict with four sails, August 1959 (ao-ap) derelict with four sails, September 1967 (aq) looking up at spider and triangles, August 1971 (ar) looking up at spider and triangles, May 1964 (as) foot of upright shaft with auxiliary drive gearing, August 1959 (at) great spur wheel, stone nut and quant, August 1959 (au) view of internal timberwork, August 1959 (av) rack, curb, winding worm and fan gear (aw-ax) rack, curb, winding worm and fan gear, May 1970 (ay) detail of part of sail frame, May 1964 (az-ba) internal machinery as in the Essex Countryside photo, May 1964 (bb) bollard, belt, spindle and part of tentering gear, May 1964 (bc) stone nut and part of tentering gear, May 1964 (bd) wreckage, showing winding worm and part of curb, November 1977 (bc) foot of upright shaft and auxiliary drive gear, May 1970 (bd) winding worm and other gear, May 1970 (bc) brakewheel and windshaft, 1975 (bd) part of sail lying on ground, May 1964 (bc) foot of upright shaft, May 1964
(14) Col.l (a) w/o, distant view (15) TC (a) w/o (b) w/o, March 1919 (c-f) w/o, middle distance, seen across pond (16) Essex Countryside September 1967 (a) derelict (b) view of internal machinery (17) Wailes (ASBOWAW) (a) bolter (18) Turpin (a) derelict and leaning with stocks and remains of two sails, c1977 (19) Essex Mills Group Newsletter March 1992 (a) wreckage after collapse, November 1977 (20) TM (a) w/o

SOUTH WEALD, Bentley mill, tower mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a) w/o

SOUTH WEALD, Brook Street post mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) disused with 4 sails (2) ERO (a) as Farries (3) TC (a) as Farries (captioned "Mill near Brentwood") (4) ERO (FC) (a-b) derelict with four sails (c) disused with sails, middle distance

SPRINGFIELD, Pease Hall Mill, smock mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) disused with sails (2) ERO (a-d) derelict with brakewheel and 2 sails, 1928
(e-g) derelict with brakewheel and 2 sails, late 1920s (h) man sitting between two of the clasp arms of brakewheel of derelict mill, late 1920s (3) TC (a-b) derelict with cap and 2 sails, 25th April 1919 (4) Col.l (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, windshaft and brakewheel (5) ERO (FC) (a-b) derelict with cap and 2 sails, 25th April 1919 (from Turner) (c) derelict with 4 sails, as Farries 5 (d) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 2 sails (e) brakewheel and wallower (f) view of exposed machinery

SPRINGFIELD, post mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) disused with 2 sails

STAMBOURNE, Mill Road post mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) w/o (3) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o as Farries 5

STANFORD RIVERS, Toothill, post mill; (1) D W Smith (a) derelict with 2 sails (2) Farries 5 (a) w/o (3) NMR (a) derelict with 2 sails, April 1933 (b) view of tailpole, April 1933 (4) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with 2 sails, Aug 1932 (c) derelict with 2 sails, April 1933 (5) ERO (a-g) derelict with part of one stock (6) Col.l (a) disused with 4 sails (7) TC (a-b) w/o (c) w/o, middle distance (d) derelict, 29th May 1919, with sails broken (8) S Pewsey, Epping and Ongar: A Pictorial History, Phillimore 1997 (a) w/o (9) ERO (FC) (a-c) w/o (d) w/o, mid-distance (e) w/o apart from two damaged sails, May 1919 (f-g) derelict with two damaged sails

STANSTED MOUNTFITCHET, tower mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) as preserved, August 1940 (b) tail bearing of windshaft, 1972 (2) Farries 2 (a) as preserved (b) tentering gear, 1972 (3) Blythman (a) the curved ladder (4) Farries 1 (a) as preserved (5) D W Smith (a) disused with sails (6) NMR (a-b) disused, Sept 1934 (c) under repair, post-1934 (showing the curved ladder being used to carry out the work) (d) disused, pre-1934 (e) as preserved, post-1934 (7) UOK (MC) (a-b) as preserved, Aug 1933 (c-d) ditto, August 1940 (e-j) internal views, April 1940 (8) ERO (a-d) as preserved, mid-C20 (with proper sails) (e) as preserved (?) 1922 (f) as preserved, c1970, with dummy sails (9) SWM (a) disused with sail frames and no fan, mid-distance (10) Vince 1993 (a) as preserved, 1980s/90s (11) guide to mill (4th edition 1987) (a-b) w/o, c1870 (c) stocks being replaced and mill surrounded by scaffolding during restoration, 1966 (d) as preserved, 1987, with proper single-sided sails (12) ECC (DEW) (a) as preserved, 1990s, with proper single-sided sails (13) Turpin (WIE) (a-b) as preserved, 1970s, with dummy sails (14) Vince 1973 (a) pre-served with dummy sails, 1966 (15) NCL (RW) (a) disused with sails (16) ERO (FC) (a) preserved, 1930s (b) preserved, with repairs being carried out to the cap using the curved ladder, 1950s (c) derelict with four sails, 1924 (d) as preserved, mid-C20, with proper sails (e) preserved, 1931, with fan and proper sails (f-g) detail of millstone, December 1972 (h) sack hoist bollard, September 1972 (i) weatherbeam and pillow blocks, December 1972 (j) part of cap frame with centring wheels, December 1972 (k) part of cap frame, brakewheel and wallower (l) rollers and centring wheel, December 1972 (m-n) front of windshaft with neck bearing, December 1972 (o-p) wallower and sackhoist drive, December 1972 (q-r) prior to repairs, with sails down to one stock and fan and fanstage gone, August 1953 (s) old wooden winding worm on display inside mill, December 1972 (t) w/o, mid-distance, lower part obscured by houses, late C19/early C20 (u) as preserved with fan and proper sails, and white cap, mid-C20 (v) one pair of stones (w) one pair of stones, December 1972 (x) tentering gear (y) sack hoist gear and chain, December 1972 (z) old wooden winding worm lying on ground at base of tower together with another item of machinery, October 1960 (aa) windshaft, brakewheel and wallower, December 1972 (ab) windshaft and brakewheel, December 1972 (ac) great spur wheel viewed from below, December 1972 (ad) preserved, mid-C20

STAPLEFORD ABBOTS, post mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) derelict with stocks and remains of sails, early C20 (2) ERO (a) derelict with stocks and remains of sails, 1922 (3) TC (a-c) derelict with stocks and remains of sails (d) derelict with stocks and remains of sails, middle distance (4) ERO (FC) (a-d) derelict with stocks and remains of sails

STOCK, tower mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) great spur wheel, stone nut and bevel gear for engine drive; (2) Farries 2 (a) w/o, 1935 (b) brakewheel (c) stone-raising drum (3) D W Smith (a) brakewheel
(b) mill in w/o (4) Wailes (EW) (a) sack hoist (b) great spur wheel, stone nuts and engine drive (5) NMR (a-b) w/o, June 1932 (c) w/o, pre-1930s? (d) disused, 1954 (e) disused, 1958 (f) disused, 1952 (6) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, July 1932 (b) w/o, Sept 1934 (c-d) derelict with 4 sails, April 1940 (e-f) internal views, April 1940 (7) ERO (a-b) w/o, 1930 (c) w/o, distant view (d-f) view of stone furniture (g) view of stone floor (h) derelict with 2 sails, 1959 (i) preser-ved with one damaged sail, 1958 (j) as preserved, c1970 (8) TC (a-b) w/o, 1st June 1919 (9) Col.l (a) w/o (10) Essex Countryside June 1967 (a) as preserved (11) ECC (DEW) (a) preserved with 2 sails (12) Essex Mills Group Newsletter March 1992 (a) preserved with 2 sails (13) Turpin (a) as preserved, 1970s (b) w/o (14) ERO (FC) (a-d) w/o (e) w/o (retouched) (f) w/o, 1934 (g-h) w/o, 1935 (i) w/o, July 1932 (j) derelict with four sails, September 1948 (k) derelict with two sails, September 1956 (l) windshaft and brakewheel, 1935 (m) great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and bevel wheel, 1935 (n) winding gear, April 1940 (o) great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and bevel gear, April 1940 (p) bin floor beams, February 1976 (q) bedstone, March 1975 (r) great spur wheel, stone nut, bevel gear and quant, March 1975 (s) cap circle, March 1975 (t) wallower seen through brakewheel, March 1975 (u) housing in bin floor beam, February 1976 (v) view of shot curb, February 1976 (w) possible stone bearers and housing for hanger between bin floor beams, February 1976 (x) detail of brakewheel, March 1975 (y) detail of brakewheel, February 1976 (z) bearings in ceiling of bin floor, February 1976

TAKELEY, Old Mill, post mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a) w/o

TENDRING, tower mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a-c) w/o (d) disused without sails, mid-distance (3) TC (a) derelict without
sails, mid-distance (b-d) w/o

TERLING, smock mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (2) Farries 2 (a) w/o, 1960 (b) view of spout floor, 1969 (3) Farries 1 (a) w/o, 1960
(4) Turpin (WIE) (a) w/o (b-c) house-converted (5) Hopkins (a) w/o (6) Blythman (a) prior to house conversion, 1971, with sail frames gone but cap, stocks and fan cradle in place (7) Beedell (a) w/o (8) D W Smith (a) w/o (9) UOK (MC) (a-b) w/o, Aug 1932 (c-d) w/o, Aug 1938 (e-f) w/o, March 1942 (10) ERO (a-ab) w/o (ac-ah) w/o but shutters missing (ai-al) derelict with cap and stocks, c1970 (am) derelict with cap and stocks, mid-distance, c1970 (11) Col.l (a) w/o (cap, sails and fan seen above hedge) (b) w/o (lower part of smock hidden by trees) (c-f) w/o (12) TC (a) w/o, middle distance, 20th August 1921 (13) ECC (DEW) (a) house-converted without sails (14) Vince 1968 (a) close-up of cap, sails and fan when mill in w/o (15) Vince 1973 (a) close-up of cap, sails and fan when mill in w/o (16) ERO (FC) (a) w/o, September 1948 (b) w/o, detail of cap, sails and fan, September 1948 (c) w/o, 1935 (d) w/o, distant view (e-f) w/o, March 1942 (g) w/o, August 1938 (h-k) w/o, 1960 (l) as house-converted, January 1985, but surrounded by scaffolding (m) conversion not quite finished, with cap and smock repaired but original stocks and fanstage apparently still on, September 1972 (n-p) derelict with stocks, October 1968 (q-s) derelict with stocks, March 1969 (t) close-up of cap and stocks, March 1969 (u) part of brakewheel and cap roof framing, March 1969 (v) gearing on bin floor, March 1969 (w) part of fan gearing, October 1968 (x) wallower and spindle beam, October 1968 (y) interior of cap with brake lever, October 1968 (z) machine drive on dust floor, October 1968 (aa) wallower and sack hoist bollard, October 1968 (ab) wallower and sack hoist bollard, March 1969 (ac) great spur wheel, stone nut and quant, October 1968 (ad-af) framing on spout floor, March 1969 (ag) view of stone floor, October 1968 (ah) brakewheel and wallower, October 1968 (ai) belt drive and gearing on ground floor, March 1969 (aj) framing and gearing on spout floor, March 1969 (ak) curb and rollers, March 1969 (al) framing on dust floor, October 1968 (am) brakewheel, October 1968 (an) framing and tentering gear on dust floor, March 1969 (ao) curb and cant post, October 1968 (ap) brakewheel, March 1969 (aq) framing and tentering gear on spout floor, March 1969 (ar) footing of upright shaft, March 1969 (as) flooring of spout floor, March 1969 (at) tail bearing of windshaft, May 1969 (au) view of framing, May 1969 (av) internal ironwork, January 1970 (aw) tentering gear (ax) brakewheel and wallower, September 1972 (ay) brakewheel and wallower, January 1972 (az) looking up at rear of cap with winding gear and fan drive, January 1970 (17) NCL (RW) (a) w/o (18) NMR (a) as house-converted, 1985 (photocopy of estate agent's brochure)

THAXTED, tower mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o, probably early 1900s
(2) Farries 2 (a) w/o (b) view from dust floor showing centring wheels, brakewheel and wallower, 1969 (c) great spur wheel, 1969
(3) Wailes (EW) (a) w/o (4) D W Smith (a) derelict with 4 sails; stage mostly gone (5) NMR (a) undergoing repairs, with cap roof dismantled but remains of sails still on, n.d. (b) disused with stocks, 1964 (c-e) derelict with sails and remains of stage, pre-1932 (f-g) derelict with remains of sails, March 1932 (h) ditto, August 1932 (i) ditto, September 1934 (6) Hills (a) view of fantail and associated gearing, May 1990 (7) Blythman (a) w/o June 1996 (8) UOK (MC) (a-b) derelict with stocks and 3 sails, Aug 1933 (c) ditto, Sept 1934 (d-g) after repairs with stocks and cap tidied up, April 1941 (9) ERO (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1931 (10) SWM (a) w/o, 1913, some shutters missing (11) TC (a) derelict with four sails, 20th August 1921 (b) derelict with 4 sails, middle distance, 3rd May 1919 (c-d) w/o, middle distance, retouched (12) Vince 1981 (a) preserved with 4 sail frames and no gallery (13) ECC (DEW) (a-b) restored, 1990s, with shutters not yet fitted to sails (14) M Arman, John Webb's Windmill, Thaxted, guide book (a) w/o, c1895 (b) view of inside of cap with brake wheel: volunteers cleaning out bird droppings and rubbish (c) windshaft, brakewheel and wallower (d) derelict with cap and stocks, 1972 (15) Vince 1984 (a) preser-ved with sail frames, cap and fantail but no sails (16) NCL (RW) (a) w/o (17) ERO (FC) (a) derelict with four sails, 1936 (b) close-up of cap, stocks, fanstage, gallery and chainwheel, 1969 (c-e) w/o (f) distant view with cap and stocks, August 1955 (g) mid-distance, with stocks, mid-C20 (h) disused with stocks, August 1959 (i) great spur wheel and various auxiliary drive gears (j) ditto, June 1969 (k) derelict with four sails, c1930 (l) brakewheel, wallower, cap frame and curb, June 1969 (m) derelict with four sails, c1936 (n) great spur wheel, June 1969 (o) restored with cap, sail frames and fan but no stage yet, 1980s (p) brakewheel and wallower, June 1969 (q) great spur wheel and stone nut, June 1969 (r) brakewheel, wallower, cap frame and curb (s) disused with stocks (t) derelict, September 1934: only two sails visible, others hidden by tower apart from half of stock (u) derelict with four sails, 1929 (v-w) w/o with almshouses nearby (x) close-up of brickwork of tower with notice warning people to keep out, March 1973 (y) cam shaft driven off great spur wheel, June 1969 (z) great spur wheel viewed from below, June 1969 (aa) view of stone floor, June 1969 (ab-ac) interior cap roof framing and tail of windshaft (ad) church seen through door in rear of cap (ad-ae) derelict with four sails (af-ag) disused with stocks, August 1959 (ah) derelict with four sails, August 1921 (ai) disused with stocks, 1960s/early 1970s (aj) sack hoist, June 1969

THAXTED, Fox and Hounds post mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a-d) w/o

THORPE-LE-SOKEN, post mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) w/o (2) NMR (a) surviving roundhouse, June 1933 (3) UOK (MC) (a-c) surviving roundhouse, April 1936 (4) TC (a) disused with 4 sail frames and fan (b) surviving roundhouse (5) ERO (FC) (a) w/o, as Farries 2 (b) disused with sail frames (c-e) surviving roundhouse

TIPTREE, tower mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (2) Farries 2 (a) w/o (3) Wailes (EW) (a) great spur wheel (b) disused with sail frames (4) Turpin (WIE) (a) house-converted with stocks removed (5) NMR (a) house-converted with stocks, June 1933 (b) house-converted with sail frames (c) house-converted with stocks, 1952 (6) UOK (MC) (a) disused with stocks, June 1938 (b) ditto, May 1942 (7) TC (a) becoming derelict, with four sails and some remains of fan (b-c) ditto, 16th May 1919 (d) ditto, 23rd January 1919 (8) Col.l (a) disused with sails (9) ERO (FC) (a-d) disused with stocks, March 1959 (e) disused with stocks (f-h) w/o, partly retouched, postmark-ed December 1905 (i-j) windshaft and brakewheel, April 1962 (k-l) disused with sail frames (m) disused with sail frames, 1919 (n) disused with stocks, 1936 (o-p) disused with stocks, April 1962 (q) view of internal gearing, April 1962 (r) parts of brakewheel, cap frame, and part of curb with centring wheels, April 1962 (s) looking up at spider, April 1962 (t) looking up at rear of cap, April 1962 (u) cap frame and tail bearing of windshaft, April 1962 (v) part of windshaft and cap frame, April 1962 (w-y) rear overhang of cap with winding gear (10) ECC (DEW) (a) house-converted with cap (12) Turpin (WIE) (a) house-converted with cap

TOLLESBURY, smock windpump; (1) Farries 5 (a) derelict with 2 sails (2) ERO (FC) (a-c) derelict with 2 sails

TOLLESHUNT D'ARCY, post mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (2) P Gifford (a) w/o (3) NMR (a) w/o (4) TC (a) derelict with 4 sails and body leaning (b) derelict with 4 sails, lean of body more pronounced (5) ERO (FC) (a-c) derelict with 4 sails, as Farries and Gifford (d) derelict with 4 sails, as Turner

TOLLESHUNT MAJOR, smock mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a-b) derelict with cap (c-d) w/o, as Farries 2

TOPPESFIELD, Gainsford End tower mill; (1) Hopkins (a) derelict with sails (2) Farries 5 (a) derelict with sails (b) stone nut and bridge tree (3) P Gifford (a) derelict with sails, same view as Farries 5 (4) ECC (DEW) (a-b) derelict with cap frame, late C20 (5) East Anglian Magazine, 1950s (date not noted) (a) derelict with sails, possibly c1930 (6) NMR (a-b) derelict with sails, April 1933 (c) derelict with sails, September 1935 (d) derelict with sails, n.d. (e) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and 4 sails, September 1947 (f) fan hub and gearing, plus fragments of blades, lying at base of tower, with steam engine in background, April 1933 (7) Turpin (WIE) (a) derelict with cap frame (8) UOK (MC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, Sept 1935 (b) derelict with 4 sails, April 1941 (9) ERO (a) derelict with 4 sails, 1924 (earlier than other surviving photos of mill as the sail which is usually seen broken is intact) (b) derelict with cap frame, as Turpin (c) derelict with 3 and a half sails, early-mid C20 (10) TC (a) w/o, middle distance, 28th June 1920 (11) ERO (FC) (a) w/o, but one sail stripped of shutters and man working on cap gallery, with curved ladder like the one at Stansted placed against dome of cap; mill evidently under repair (b-c) derelict with windshaft, brakewheel and four sails (d) internal view looking up through openings in floors, showing part of great spur wheel, May 1971 (e) part of floor beam, May 1971 (f) part of tentering gear with governors, layshaft and bevel wheel, May 1971 (g) great spur wheel, stone nut, quant and underside of stone, May 1971 (h) the derelict capless tower, May 1971 (i) ladder and flooring, May 1971 (j) w/o, middle distance, June 1920 (k) part of millstone showing the lead filling for balancing it, June 1971 (l) great spur wheel and bevel wheel, May 1971 (m) great spur wheel, stone nut and auxiliary drive gear, May 1971 (n) upright shaft and two pairs of stones, May 1964 (o) two pairs of stones, May 1964 (p) upright shaft and three pairs of stones, May 1971 (q) upright shaft, wallower and remains of cap frame with centring wheels, May 1971 (r) upright shaft, cap frame and centring wheels, May 1971 (s-u) derelict with 4 sails (v) derelict with 4 sails, 1935 (w) section of upright shaft, June 1971

UPMINSTER, smock mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (2) Farries 2
(a) w/o, 1936 (b) view of fantail, c1951, with molinologist Denis Sanders standing beneath it (c) as preserved, 1972 (with 2 sails missing) (d) close-up of sails, 1951 (3) Butler (a-c) w/o (d) Alfred Abraham, last miller, adjusting one of the sails in 1930 (e) derelict with four sails, shortly after Second World War (f) under restoration, 1962 (g) as restored, 1968 (h) brakewheel and windshaft (i) brakewheel and wallower (j) fantail gearing (k) governors (l) great spur wheel (m) the author demonstrating the operation of the sack hoist (n) looking up at spider from stage (o) universal joint (p) bolter (q) view of stone floor showing one pair of stones, upright shaft, crown wheel, one pair of stones, wire machine, oat crusher and various belts and pulleys (r) stone nut and base of bedstone (4) D W Smith (a) w/o (b) brake catch (5) Freese (a) bolter (b) dresser (6) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, March 1932 (b-d) w/o, Oct 1936 (e) detail of base and stage, Oct 1936 (7) ERO (a-d) w/o (e) w/o, 1930 (8) RL (a) as preserved but with one damaged sail - 1960s? (b) w/o, early C20?, very poor postcard (c-f) as preserved, with some shutters in sails, 1970s? (g) as preserved, but most of stage missing and site rather overgrown - probably taken in 1950s/60s, between first and second restorations (h) governors (i) great spur wheel (j) burr stone on ground (k) postcard of stone floor showing 2 pairs of stones in their vats with hoppers etc (l) view from ground, looking up at sails, spider and cap (m-n) as preserved, probably 1960s - looks like cutting from magazine (o) as preserved, 1968, middle distance (p) after first restoration, with one damaged sail and most of stage gone; derelict outbuilding adjacent to base (q+) some 30 or so views, all in mini-form on a single negative sheet, but developed, depicting visitors being shown round mill, the internal machinery, an external view of the restored mill, party standing on stage (9) CL (a-b) w/o (10) Col.l (a) w/o (11) TC (a) w/o (12) Essex Countryside magazine October 1967 (a) as preserved (13) Wailes (WIE) (a-b) w/o (14) ECC (DEW) (a) as preserved, 1990s (15) Turpin (a-c) restored, late 1970s, with some shutters in sails (16) A C Smith (WISAGL) (a) preserved but with two sails missing, November 1971 (b) preserved with all four sails, September 1973 (17) Wailes (BWAW) (a) brake catch (18) NCL (RW) (a) w/o: close-up of cap, sails and fan (19) ERO (FC) (a-c) as preserved, May 1968 (d) preserved with two sails, October 1971 (e) w/o, December 1931 (f) w/o, partly retouched, early C20 (g) preser-ved with two sails (on Open Day September 1972) (h-i) w/o, but scaffolding up; looking up at sails and striking gear, April 1951 (j) silhouette of preserved mill (no shutters) at night (k-m) w/o (n) w/o, October 1936 (o) w/o, 1935 (p-q) w/o, 1938 (r) surrounded by scaffolding, August 1953 (s-t) surrounded by scaffolding, August 1954 (u) w/o, 1937 (v) w/o, 1924 (w) w/o, 1904 (x-z) w/o, c1948; men working on mill from ladders (ab-ad) as preserved, 1950s/1960s (ae) men working on mill from ladders, August 1949 (af) ditto (artificially coloured postcard) (ag) as preserved but with one damaged sail, 1950s or 60s (ah) brakewheel and windshaft, May 1968 (ai) belt drive for lineshaft on south side of upright shaft, May 1968 (aj) view of stone floor with oat crusher, wire machine and various shafts, belts and pulleys, May 1968 (ak) two pairs of stones, May 1968 (al) great spur wheel, May 1968 (am) brakewheel and windshaft, May 1968 (an) fan gear and worm drive, May 1968 (am) part of brakewheel, May 1968 (ao) bin floor with framing for support of joint in upright shaft, May 1968 (ap) curb, tailbeam and wallower, May 1968 (aq) spout floor with wire machine, May 1968 (ar) wallower with iron guard, May 1968 (as) miller Hector Stone at base of mill, April 1951 (at) close-up of striking gear, c1950 (au) close-up of cap, sails and striking gear, 1949 (av) sail lying on ground, October 1971 (aw) coupling for striking gear on ground, October 1971 (ax) bolter, April 1951 (ay) rack, c1951 (az) part of brakewheel, October 1971 (ba) worm for hand winding, October 1971 (bb) view of spout floor with sack cradle and partition below great spur wheel, May 1968 (bc) stone nut and panelled section below great spur wheel, May 1968 (bd) spout floor with door to stage, May 1968 (bc) removing damaged stock using cable from lorry, October 1971 (bd-bf) Lennard and Pargeter removing stock, October 1971 (bg) Philip Lennard with windshaft neck bearing, October 1971 (bh) lower part of smock with base and stage, October 1936 (bi) August 1949, when under repair, but ladders hidden by mill body (bj) wallower (bk) new stock lying on ground at base of mill beneath gallery, July 1972 (bl) roller neck bearing, April 1950 (bm-bn) gearwheel removed and leaning against wall of base, April 1951 (bo) miller Hector Stone on gallery, May 1949 (20) NMR (in London file) (a) w/o (b) as preserved with two sails missing, c1971 (c) w/o (but some shutters missing), early to mid-C20

WALTHAM HOLY CROSS, post mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) wreckage after collapse, August 1911 (2) Farries 1 (a) w/o, c1886 (3) ERO (FC) (a-d) w/o (f) disused with stocks

WALTON-ON-THE-NAZE, post mill; (1) Major & Watts (a) w/o (2) Farries 5 (a) disused with 4 sails (3) Farries 1 (a) w/o (4) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, distant view, early C20 (b-d) derelict with 4 sails, early C20 (5) Gifford (a) disused with 4 sails (6) ERO (a) derelict with 4 sails (magazine cutting) (7) ERO (FC) (a-d) w/o (e-g) derelict with 4 sails (h) derelict with 4 sails, c1920 (8) MOTHOS (UC) (a) w/o (artificially coloured postcard)

WEELEY, post mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (2) P Gifford (a) w/o, same view as Farries (3) NMR (a) surviving roundhouse, June 1933 (4) ERO (FC) (a-e) w/o (f) derelict with 3 sails and fragment of fourth, May 1922 (5) TC (a) w/o

WENDEN LOFTS, post mill; (1) Farries (a) w/o, c1896 (2) ERO (FC) (a-b) w/o (3) SWM (a) mid-distance, no sails

WEST MERSEA, post mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) fitting of new windshaft, c1892 (b) w/o (2) Farries 4 (a) w/o (3) Essex Countryside, 1960s (exact date of issue not noted) (a) w/o, middle distance (4) Wailes (EW) (a) dismantling or fitting of windshaft (5) UOK (MC) (a) surviving roundhouse, May 1942 (6) ERO (a) fitting of new wind-shaft, as Farries (7) TC (a) fitting of new windshaft, as elsewhere (8) WMM (a) w/o (9) ERO (FC) (a-i) w/o (j) w/o (retouched and blurred, mid-distance) (k-l) windshaft being removed or fitted (m) with fan still on but timber (one of the stocks?) leaning against front of mill with ropes and cables going from it; is this during the removal/fitting of windshaft? (n) surviving roundhouse, May 1942 (o) surviving roundhouse, April 1969 (p) surviving roundhouse, March 1970

WEST TILBURY, smock mill; (1) TM (a) disused with cap, c1909 (2) ERO (FC) (a) disused with cap, as TM (date is April 1922) (b) surviving base, June 1971

WETHERSFIELD, Blackmore End, smock mill; (1) TC (a) derelict with 4 sails, distant view (2) Farries 5 implies existence of at least one other photo, in which lower part of mill is obscured (3) ERO (FC) (a) derelict with 4 sails, distant view

WETHERSFIELD, The Green, tower or smock mill; (1) ERO (FC) (a-b) cap, sails and fan visible above trees in mid-distance

WHITE RODING, tower mill; (1) Farries 4 (a) w/o (b) windshaft and neck bearing, 1971 (c) brake wheel, 1971 (2) D W Smith (a) w/o (3) NMR (a) derelict with 4 sails, June 1933 (b) derelict with 4 sails, March 1932 (c) derelict with 4 sails, April 1933 (4) UOK (MC) (a) w/o, July 1932 (b) derelict with 4 sails, May 1942 (c) ditto, July 1940 (d) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel, July 1961 (5) Beedell (a-d) fitting of new cap in 1970 (6) ERO (a-i) derelict with 4 sails (j) derelict with 4 sails, 1949 (k-l) derelict with windshaft and brakewheel (7) TC (a-b) w/o (8) ECC (DEW) (a) preserved with new cap (9) Turpin (WIE) (a) preserved with new cap (10) ERO (FC) (a) w/o (b) w/o, mid-distance (c) w/o, c1930 (d) w/o, May 1925 (d) derelict with four sails (e-g) derelict with four sails, c1935 (h) derelict with four sails, May 1942 (i-k) view of brakewheel, part of cap frame and truck wheels, September 1969 (l) view of brakewheel, windshaft, part of cap frame and truck wheels, September 1969 (m) view inside tower showing part of dust floor, September 1969 (n) replaced left sheer with part of brakewheel, May 1971 (o) windshaft, neck bearing and drive from fan to curb, May 1971 (p) hub, spokes and part of rim of brakewheel, May 1971 (q) part of brakewheel, May 1971

WICKEN BONHUNT, smock mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) disused with 2 sails, c1910? (2) TC (a) derelict with cap, 19th August 1921 (3) ERO (FC) (a) derelict with 2 sails, as Farries 5 (b) derelict with cap, as Turner

WIDDINGTON, post mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) disused with sails, 1907 (2) NMR (a) disused with sails (3) ERO (FC) (a) disused with 4 sails (b) disused with sails, as Farries 5

WIMBISH, Tye Green Mill, smock mill; (1) Farries 5 (a) w/o (2) ERO (FC) (a) w/o, as Farries 5 (b) derelict with stocks and 2 sail frames (c-e) surviving base as store

WIMBISH, Lower Green Mill, smock mill; (1) Farries 1 (a) disused, with cap and 1 stock (2) ERO (FC) (a-c) as Farries 5 (d-f) surviving base

WRITTLE, post mill; (1) ERO (FC) (a) surviving roundhouse, winter 1968